Try for free

Alexandre Dumas

Alexandre Dumas (1802–1870), French novelist and playwright, was one of the most famous and prolific French writers of the nineteenth century, producing some 250 books. He is best known for his historical novels The Three Musketeers and The Count of Monte Cristo, and he was among the first authors to fully exploit the possibilities of the serial novel. He is credited with revitalizing the historical novel in France. His works are riveting, fast-paced adventure tales that blend history and fiction.
20M+ Downloads
5/5

#1 in Magazines & Newspapers

Speechify is the #1 audio reader in the world. Get through books, docs, articles, PDFs, email – anything

you read – faster.

Sir Richard Branson

Speechify is absolutely brilliant. Growing up with dyslexia this would have made a big difference. I’m so glad to have it today.

Sir Richard Branson

Other Authors You Might Like

Popular Bookshelves

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Premium Audiobooks

  • Yvonne Goes to York A former employer’s legacy of £5,000 has allowed spinster Hannah Pym to resign from housekeeping and enjoy traveling the English countryside by coach. But adventure soon finds Miss Pym in the form of runaway brides, spirited heiresses, and international refugees, who continue to test her expert ... Read Book
  • Wild Lands War is coming to the Wild Lands … One month after the defeat of a rogue group of terrorists, the United States struggles to maintain control over the New Frontier. The untamed sector of America simmers as opportunists, criminals, and marauders wait to fill the void left behind. An extremist ... Read Book
  • Supernova Era “Feodor Chin is the perfect narrator to deliver this story… His voice is clear and precise, even when providing stellar accented inflections for the Chinese dialogue. Overall, a perfect balance of appropriately didactic storytelling and an engaging narration is geared to fascinate ... Read Book
  • The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book IV For fans of Lemony Snicket’s Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart’s Mysterious Benedict Society comes the fourth book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood. In The Interrupted Tale, Miss Penelope ... Read Book
  • Lost Women of the Bible You know the women of the Bible, but you don’t know them like this…It’s easy for Christian women—young and old—to get lost between the opportunities and demands of the present and the biblical teachings of the past. They live in a confusing world, caught in the crossfire between church ... Read Book
  • The Plea ”This guys is the real deal. Trust me.” — Lee ChildFrom crime writer Steve Cavanagh comes another gripping audiobook featuring lawyer Eddie Flynn. This is the legal thriller listeners have been waiting for. An innocent client. A wife in jeopardy. A locked room mystery. Who will take The ... Read Book
  • Led Astray Jenny Fletcher had selflessly put her needs and dreams behind those of her fiancé, Hal, a man more committed to a cause than to her. On the eve of his departure for Central America, he gave Jenny what she wanted more than anythingŠone passionate night. It was his final gift. Cage Hendren was the ... Read Book
  • The Brethren A recipient of numerous Gold Book and Silver Angel awards, Beverly Lewis provides an insider’s view of Amish life that resonates with millions. In The Brethren-the New York Times best-selling sequel to The Englisher -Ben Martin and Annie Zook, sweethearts from two different worlds, try to cope ... Read Book
  • Maids A Milking (short story) Eighth story in a collection of interlinked tales of crime and retribution laced with dark humour, set around the festive seasonBrian’s about to discover that life as a drug dealer can have hidden benefits. But he might come to wish he’d never taken advantage of them… Read Book
  • Cakewalk Lee Smith, one of today’s finest writers in the Southern literary tradition, has been compared to Eudora Welty and Flannery O’Connor. This collection of nine stories, ranging from poignant ballads to delightfully inventive forms, showcases Smith’s celebrated talent. The stories will make you ... Read Book

More free audiobooks

  • The Poetics of Aristotle Aristotle’s Poetics seeks to address the different kinds of poetry, the structure of a good poem, and the division of a poem into its component parts. He defines poetry as a ‘medium of imitation’ that seeks to represent or duplicate life through character, emotion, or action. ... Read Book
  • The Sea-Gull A slice-of-life drama written by Anton Chekhov, The Seagull is set in the Russian countryside at the close of the 19th century. The main characters are unhappy with their lives. Those that want love. Some want to succeed. Some want a genius for the arts. But nobody ever seems to find happiness. ... Read Book
  • Symposium Apollodorus tells an unidentified friend about a symposia, or dinner party, thrown in honor of the tragedian Agathon that he learnt from Aristodemus. Socrates came late to the party because he was engaged in meditation on the next-door porch. After they have done eating, Eryximachus takes up on ... Read Book
  • The Man Who Was Thursday: A Nightmare London is in the early twentieth century. Two poets meet at a party. One, Lucian Gregory, advocates anarchy, while the other, Gabriel Syme, advocates order. They debate, and Syme accuses Gregory of being a charlatan rather than a true anarchist. Gregory tells Syme after the party that his remarks ... Read Book
  • The Tale of Benjamin Bunny

    Mr. and Mrs. McGregor drive away in a gig, as seen by little Benjamin Bunny. He hops along toward his aunt’s house, where she is a widow with four small children named Flopsy, Mopsy, Cotton-tail, and Peter.

    Read Book
  • Arms and the Man

    Set in Bulgaria, the play was set during a short war between Bulgaria and Serbia in the 1880s. It begins with a young romantic Reina Petkov and her mother, Catherine, excitedly discussing the successful assault of a cavalry led by the handsome and heroic Sergius that Reina is engaged in.

    Read Book
  • Lyrical Ballads, With a Few Other Poems (1798)

    William Wordsworth and Samuel Taylor Coleridge’s collection of poems, Lyrical Ballads, with a Few Other Poems, was originally published in 1798 and is generally regarded as the start of the English Romantic literary movement.

    Read Book
  • The Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam

    Omar Khayyam’s Rubiyat is a poem with deep heavenly and spiritual meaning. This poem’s beauty and simplicity are so perfect that people of all religions, as well as those who have no faith at all, may find heavenly peace in it.

    Read Book
  • The Gilded Age: A Tale of Today

    The Gilded Age, first published in 1873, is a caustic satire as well as a fascinating depiction of post-Civil War America—a corrupt era in which greedy land speculators, cutthroat bankers, and dishonest politicians voraciously exploited the country’s postwar optimism.

    Read Book
  • Lamia Hermes (Mercury), who has fallen deeply in love with a nymph who has disguised herself from him, hears a voice moaning about being imprisoned in the form of a snake. The speaker is a lovely serpent. She informs Hermes that she is aware that he is looking for a nymph and offers to make the nymph, to ... Read Book

Choose Language :