Try for free

Grant Allen

1848 - 1899

20M+ Downloads
5/5

#1 in Magazines & Newspapers

Speechify is the #1 audio reader in the world. Get through books, docs, articles, PDFs, email – anything

you read – faster.

Sir Richard Branson

Speechify is absolutely brilliant. Growing up with dyslexia this would have made a big difference. I’m so glad to have it today.

Sir Richard Branson

Other Authors You Might Like

Popular Bookshelves

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Premium Audiobooks

  • Masked Desire A PERFECT DISGUISE As security chief of the supernaturals’ ruling council, Michaela Chui has seen more than her fair share of disaster. For centuries, she’s survived through caution and strategy. But when the only human councilor is viciously murdered, Michaela knows the coincidences that keep ... Read Book
  • Aristotle Few philosophers have so extensively influenced thought and language as Aristotle. His conception of the universe pervades Christian theology. Knowledge of his thought is necessary to understand Bacon, Galileo, and the modern scientific view of nature, as well as Dante and many passages from ... Read Book
  • The Jamie Lee Curtis Audio Collection New York Times bestselling author Jamie Lee Curtis perfectly captures a little girl’s simple, joyous celebration of herself, as she looks back on her childhood from the lofty height of four and a half years. This spirited view of growing up is perfect to share at home or in a classroom, as kids ... Read Book
  • The Bond King This program is read by the author. From the host of NPR’s Planet Money, the deeply-investigated story of how one visionary, ruthless investor changed American finance forever. Before Bill Gross was known among investors as the Bond King, he was a gambler. In 1966, a fresh college grad, he went ... Read Book
  • Marvel’s Phase One Box Set Relive the excitement of Captain America: The First Avenger! Steve Rogers was once just a scrawny kid. But after a top-secret government experiment, he became Captain America. Join the action when this Super Hero protects the free world against the Red Skull and Hydra in this complete origin story ... Read Book
  • Bulls Island “Dottie Frank’s books are sexy and hilarious. She has staked out the lowcountry of South Carolina as her personal literary property.” —Pat Conroy, author of The Prince of Tides Bulls Island is a supremely satisfying tale of honor, chance, and star-crossed love, infused with Southern wit, ... Read Book
  • A Night In With Marilyn Monroe Laugh-out-loud, feel-good romcom for fans of Emily Henry and Josie Silver’Fresh, witty and thoroughly enjoyable.’ The SunAfter dating the hottest man on the planet, Dillon O’Hara, Libby Lomax has come back down to earth with a bump. Now she’s throwing herself into a new relationship and is ... Read Book
  • Enduring Love Ian McEwan has earned international acclaim for his writing and is considered one of England’s best contemporary novelists. In Enduring Love, he sets a tale of obsession and desperation spinning amidst one man’s comfortable British world. On a sunny afternoon, the middle-aged writer Joe Rose ... Read Book
  • Ugly Girls With Ugly Girls, Lindsay Hunter delivers a powerful, voice-driven novel with the breakneck pace that people have come to expect from her.The Chicago Tribune called her stories “Mesmerizing…visceral…exquisite.” The Boston Globe called them “incredibly urgent.” And now we have the great ... Read Book
  • Top Ten The newest stunning and unforgettable contemporary realistic romance from the New York Times bestselling author of 99 Days, Fireworks, and How to Love. Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Morgan Matson. Ryan McCullough and Gabby Hart are the unlikeliest of best friends. Prickly, ... Read Book

More free audiobooks

  • Hamlet, Prince of Denmark Elsinore, a Danish town and harbor on the northeastern coast, is the setting for this tragedy’s tale. At midnight, two guards, Francis and Bernard, were changing when the event started. Francisco tells Bernard that his shift ended peacefully and departs, but Horace and Marcel suddenly show ... Read Book
  • Myths and Legends of China E. T. C. Werner drew on data readily available to him as a member of the Chinese government’s Historiographical Bureau in Peking for this fascinating and extensive collection of Chinese myths and tales. Werner, a former barrister and British consul in Foochow, provides a wealth of material ... Read Book
  • The Conjure Woman Conjure Women is a sprawling novel that vividly depicts the civilization of the South before and after the Civil War. It relates the stories of three unique women: Miss May Belle, a wise healing woman; her clever and observant daughter Rue, who is hesitant to follow in her mother’s footsteps ... Read Book
  • The Argonautica Scholars chose this work as culturally significant, and it is now part of the knowledge base of civilisation as we know it. This work was copied from the original item and is as accurate as possible to the original. Since a result, the original copyright references, library stamps (as most of these ... Read Book
  • The Consolation of Philosophy Boethius wrote a sad poem about recent misfortunes when he noticed a tall and elegant woman standing over her shoulder. She wears a rich robe embroidered with Greek letters and carries books, scepters and royal staff. It soon becomes clear that this is an anthropomorphic of the philosophy that ... Read Book
  • Poems by Emily Dickinson, Three Series, Complete Emily Dickinson wrote almost 1800 poems in her lifetime. Her poetry was surprisingly original and ignored or opposed many of her traditions and customs of the time. Almost all of her poems are short, using traditional hymn stanzas of four-line renku, with line lengths of four to three beats and ... Read Book
  • What Men Live By, and Other Tales

    Simon, a shoemaker without a home or land, lived in a peasant’s hut with his wife and children, earning his livelihood through his labor. Work was cheap, but bread was expensive, and he spent his earnings on food.

    Read Book
  • The Post Office The story revolves around Amal, a young boy whose incurable illness has forced him to live with his adopted uncle. The drama “continues to hold a distinctive position in [Tagore’s] reputation, both inside Bengal and in the broader world,” according to W. Andrew Robinson and ... Read Book
  • Gorgias Plato’s conversation The playwright Gorgias discusses rhetoric, or the art of speech. In an argument with the well-known rhetorician Gorgias, his pupil Polus, and the rhetorician Callicles, Socrates makes an effort to defend his view of the proper course of action and to establish philosophy ... Read Book
  • Plutarch’s Lives, Volume 1 (of 4) Plutarch’s Lives, published around the start of the second century A.D., is a remarkable social history of the ancient world written by one of history’s greatest biographers and moralists. Plutarch describes the character and personality of his subjects and how they eventually lead to ... Read Book

Choose Language :