Try for free

Anne McCaffrey

Anne McCaffrey (1926–2011), one of the world’s most popular authors, was best known for her Dragonriders of Pern series. She was the first woman to win the two top prizes for science fiction writing, the Hugo and Nebula awards. She was inducted into the Science Fiction Hall of Fame, and was named a Science Fiction Writers of America Nebula Grand Master. Born in Cambridge, Massachusetts, in 1926, McCaffrey relocated to Ireland in the 1970s, where she lived in a house of her own design, named Dragonhold-Underhill.
20M+ Downloads
5/5

#1 in Magazines & Newspapers

Speechify is the #1 audio reader in the world. Get through books, docs, articles, PDFs, email – anything

you read – faster.

Sir Richard Branson

Speechify is absolutely brilliant. Growing up with dyslexia this would have made a big difference. I’m so glad to have it today.

Sir Richard Branson

Other Authors You Might Like

Popular Bookshelves

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Premium Audiobooks

  • The Cake Man When his father, one of Houston’s most notorious kingpins, is arrested and the money stops coming in, Chris King, not used to fending for himself, must learn how to rule the streets of Houston if he wants to survive another day. Read Book
  • Family Tree From the #1 New York Times bestselling author comes a powerful, emotionally complex story of love, loss, the pain of the past—and the promise of the future. Sometimes the greatest dream starts with the smallest element. A single cell, joining with another. And then dividing. And just like that, ... Read Book
  • Zeely This summer, young Elizabeth and her little brother are going to their uncle’s farm alone. Their parents are staying home in the city. Elizabeth can’t wait to run through the fields, sleep outside, and explore her uncle’s big farm house. One night at the farm, Elizabeth sees a tall, thin ... Read Book
  • Environmental Overkill Dixie Lee Ray exposes of the truth behind the frightening headlines of ecological disaster, illustrating how scientific honesty and our constitutional liberties based on property rights are being endangered by environmental extremists, scare-mongering journalists, and rapacious lawyers. She tells ... Read Book
  • Night of the Raven, Dawn of the Dove In Rati Mehrotra’s YA fantasy novel Night of the Raven, Dawn of the Dove, a young guardswoman struggles with her unwitting role as a major pawn in the deadly games between two kingdoms in a monster-infested alternate medieval India. Bound to the queen of Chandela by a forbidden soul bond that ... Read Book
  • Once We Were In the second novel in the Hybrid Chronicles—perfect for fans of Ally Condie, Lauren Oliver, and Scott Westerfeld—Eva and Addie struggle to share their body as they clash over romance and the fight for hybrid freedom. Addie and Eva escaped imprisonment at a horrific psychiatric hospital. Now ... Read Book
  • When God Stops What Does It Take to Grab God’s Attention? When God Stops shares the key to living a life that honors the Lord and jumpstarts your faith. Dr. Derek Grier dissects the extraordinary God-encounters of eight ordinary men and women in the Bible and reveals them as “hidden figures” of the New ... Read Book
  • The Garden of Burning Sand Lusaka, Zambia: Zoe Fleming is a young, idealistic American lawyer working with an NGO devoted to combatting the epidemic of child sexual assault in southern Africa. Zoe’s organization is called in to help when an adolescent girl is brutally assaulted. The girl’s identity is a mystery. Where ... Read Book
  • Warning Order In the second book in the explosive Search and Destroy thriller series, Mason Kane, a special ops hero with a questionable past, joins forces with the CIA to neutralize a radical off-shoot of ISIS and unravel a conspiracy emanating from the White House’s inner sanctum.After almost losing his life ... Read Book
  • March in Eb This arrangement is from the famous “Notebook for Anna Magdalena” which was a volume of songs J.S. Bach presented to his second wife full of minuets, marches, sonatinas, etc. This notebook has become very popular through the years because it contains pieces of an intermediate level that help to ... Read Book

More free audiobooks

  • The Lady of the Lake

    As he searched, James Fitz-James, a Saxon knight from Stirling Castle, became disoriented. Ellen Douglas, who resided in Loch Katerine under her cousin’s care, saved him. Roderick Dhu planned to marry Ellen and bring Clan Douglas and Clan Alpine together.

    Read Book
  • The Book of Household Management Mrs. Beeton’s Book of Household Management is a book of insight and common sense that has almost entirely fallen into obscurity despite its status as a foundational text of the identity of the Victorian middle class. The author of the book, who may be compared to a Victorian version of Martha ... Read Book
  • The Wendigo

    The Wendigo by Algernon Blackwood is a terrifying ghost story about five men who become stranded in the Canadian woods. One pair of hunters is terrorized while divided into two hunting teams. An old demon from the primal forests pays them a visit…

    Read Book
  • The Tale of Benjamin Bunny

    Mr. and Mrs. McGregor drive away in a gig, as seen by little Benjamin Bunny. He hops along toward his aunt’s house, where she is a widow with four small children named Flopsy, Mopsy, Cotton-tail, and Peter.

    Read Book
  • The Practice and Science of Drawing Understanding the fundamentals is important for both learning to create and appreciate art. One of these elements is what Harold Speed refers to as “dither,” the latitude that enables realism and the aesthetic vision to compete with one another. This characteristic, which distinguishes ... Read Book
  • De Profundis The writer personally writes a letter to someone. He begins the letter by talking about his suffering and the pain he felt when he was sent to jail. Then he begins to talk about his perception that he has ruined himself with his reckless behavior and indulgence in the terrible joy of his life. ... Read Book
  • The Tragedy of Pudd’nhead Wilson Pudd’nhead Wilson takes place around 1830 in Dawson’s Landing, Missouri. Three interconnected storylines make up the plot. The first of these storylines is about Mr. Dave Wilson, a young New York attorney. Wilson, who has just moved to Dawson’s Landing, is called a ... Read Book
  • Arsene Lupin

    The swashbuckling exploits of a dapper scoundrel—a French version of Thomas Crown Arsene Lupin is a clever confidence man and thief who was created by Maurice LeBlanc in the early 20th century. He is sometimes referred to as the “Sherlock Holmes” of the criminal world.

    Read Book
  • The Blue Fairy Book The Blue Fairy Book is the first volume in the series and is therefore the most from a variety of sources, including not only Grimm, but also the exciting adventures of Charles Perrault and Madame d’Aulova, Arabian Nights, and other stories from popular traditions. Contains some of the famous ... Read Book
  • Antiquities of the Jews Flavius Josephus was born of an aristocratic priestly family in Jerusalem. According to his own account, he was a precocious youth who by the age of 14 was consulted by high priests in matters of Jewish law. At age 16 he undertook a three-year sojourn in the wilderness with the hermit Bannus, a ... Read Book

Choose Language :