Try for free

Bill McKibben

Bill McKibben is the author of more than a dozen books, including the best sellers Falter, Deep Economy, and The End of Nature, which was the first book to warn the general public about the climate crisis.He is the Schumann Distinguished Scholar in Environmental Studies at Middlebury College and the winner of the Gandhi Prize, the Thomas Merton Prize, and the Right Livelihood Prize, sometimes called “the alternate Nobel.” He lives in Vermont with his wife, the writer Sue Halpern. He founded the global grassroots climate campaign 350.org; his new project, organizing people over sixty for progressive change, is called Third Act.
20M+ Downloads
5/5

#1 in Magazines & Newspapers

Speechify is the #1 audio reader in the world. Get through books, docs, articles, PDFs, email – anything

you read – faster.

Sir Richard Branson

Speechify is absolutely brilliant. Growing up with dyslexia this would have made a big difference. I’m so glad to have it today.

Sir Richard Branson

Other Authors You Might Like

Popular Bookshelves

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Premium Audiobooks

  • What’s Your Zip Code Story? Shedding light on class division, this audiobook offers solutions to class bias in the workplace by analyzing real experiences, social norms, education, wealth, and more.The renewed focus on class, race, and equality in the workplace and beyond is making an indelible mark on society. This clarion ... Read Book
  • Ask Arizona Collection Listen and relive the exciting tales from Highlights, now on audio! Learn what happens when Arizona and Ollie bake cookies to welcome their new neighbor and about the time that Arizona had to overcome stage fright, along with other stories. Stories include: Ask Arizona: A Cat Named Charlie, Ask ... Read Book
  • March in Eb This arrangement is from the famous “Notebook for Anna Magdalena” which was a volume of songs J.S. Bach presented to his second wife full of minuets, marches, sonatinas, etc. This notebook has become very popular through the years because it contains pieces of an intermediate level that help to ... Read Book
  • Wired for Love From the world’s foremost neuroscientist of romantic love comes a personal story of connection and heartbreak that brings new understanding to an old truth: better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all. “This highly accessible audiobook is not only a love story, but also an ... Read Book
  • Dark Invasion Combining the pulsating drive of Showtime’s Homeland with the fascinating historical detail of such of narrative nonfiction bestsellers as Double Cross and In the Garden of Beasts, Dark Invasion is Howard Blum’s gritty, high-energy true-life tale of German espionage and terror on American soil ... Read Book
  • Fake Plastic Girl Celebrity-studded parties that last long into the night. Camera flashes and designer clothes. And a body found floating in the Venice Beach canals. But let’s start at the beginning. Justine Childs is your average teenage girl, until the day ex-child-star Eva Kate Kelly moves in across the way. ... Read Book
  • Defending the Free Market The Left has seized on our economic troubles as an excuse to “blame the rich guy” and paint a picture of capitalism and the free market as selfish, greedy, and cruel. Democrats in Congress and Occupy protesters across the country assert that the free market is not only unforgiving, it’s ... Read Book
  • Little Gods “Expands the future of the immigrant novel.” – Gish Jen, New York Times Book Review “Spectacular and emotionally polyphonic…That Jin has managed to craft such an intimate, emotionally complex story is an awesome achievement. That she managed to do it in her debut novel, doubly so.” ... Read Book
  • Eden in Winter Number one New York Times bestselling author Richard North Patterson—the author of more than twenty novels, including Degree of Guilt and Silent Witness—returns with the dramatic conclusion to the Blaine trilogy: Eden in Winter, the final volume that completes the story begun in Fall from ... Read Book
  • Emmy in the Key of Code In this innovative middle grade novel, coding and music take center stage as new girl Emmy tries to find her place in a new school. Perfect for fans of GIRLS WHO CODE series and THE CROSSOVER. In a new city, at a new school, twelve-year-old Emmy has never felt more out of tune. Things start to look ... Read Book

More free audiobooks

  • A Journey to the Centre of the Earth In Jules Verne’s “Journey to the Center of the Earth,” geology professor Otto Redenbrock and his nephew Axel show that the resting volcano has a secret entrance to a series of caves leading to the underground world. I found and decrypted the document. The center of the earth. ... Read Book
  • Grimm’s Fairy Stories

    The stories aren’t ordered, so feel free to skip around. Keep in mind that many of the best stories are at the beginning. In most stories, the heroes prevail and the villains are punished. It sounds stale until you consider who’s excellent and why.

    Read Book
  • An Enemy of the People The town in which the play is set has built a huge bathing complex that is crucial to the town’s economy. Dr. Stockmann has just discovered that the baths’ drainage system is seriously contaminated. He alerts several members of the community, including Hovstad and Aslaksen, and receives ... Read Book
  • Etiquette When it comes to good etiquette, over a century’s worth of time has shown that one name is more reliable than any other: Emily Post. In this completely updated 18th Edition of the classic Emily Post’s Etiquette, the mantle has been picked up by the great-great-grandchildren of the First ... Read Book
  • Phaedo

    In Plato’s Republic, Echecrates meets Phaedo of Elis, one of the men present during Socrates’ final hours. The philosopher argues that there is a perpetual cycle of life and death, so that when we die we come back to life after a period of time.

    Read Book
  • Man and Superman: A Comedy and a Philosophy

    On stage, Roebuck Ramsden, an old man of money and affairs, emerges. The maid, dressed in a beautiful mourning suit, announces Octavius Robinson, a young poet. Ramsden cautions the young poet about his companion, John Tanner.

    Read Book
  • Anabasis The Anabasis is his account of the march to Persia to aid Cyrus, who solicited Greek assistance to attempt and defeat him. He was expelled from Athens after marching with the Spartans. Sparta granted him land and property at Scillus, where he lived for many years before being forced to relocate to ... Read Book
  • The Germany and the Agricola of Tacitus Cornelius Tacitus’ Agricola and Germania fulfills two historical goals. First, the book honors one of Roman Britain’s best commanders, Agricola. Tacitus relates the account of Agricola’s ascent to dominance over Britain using both his own experiences and Agricola’s own ... Read Book
  • Moby Multiple Language Lists of Common Words Moby Dick famously begins with the narratorial invocation “Call me Ishmael.” The narrator, like his biblical counterpart, is an outcast. Ishmael, who turns to the sea for meaning, relays to the audience the final voyage of the Pequod, a whaling vessel. Amid a story of tribulation, beauty, and ... Read Book
  • On the Sublime

    Longinus discusses the elements of excellent writing with his companion Postumius Terentianus. The most important principle of excellent writing is that it “takes the reader out of himself” (4), leaving an impression of force and passion on the reader.

    Read Book

Choose Language :