John Hugh Bowers

1875 - 1923

20M+ Downloads
5/5

#1 in Magazines & Newspapers

Speechify is the #1 audio reader in the world. Get through books, docs, articles, PDFs, email – anything

you read – faster.

Sir Richard Branson

Speechify is absolutely brilliant. Growing up with dyslexia this would have made a big difference. I’m so glad to have it today.

Sir Richard Branson

All Books By John Bowers

Other Authors You Might Like

Popular Bookshelves

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Premium Audiobooks

  • The Trusted He’s a husband, a killer, and the only man who can save the world …Sam Noor keeps his double lives separate with expert precision. But when the MI6 agent’s wife discovers the lie, he fears that both his worlds may shatter. Distraught and conflicted, Noor concentrates on his latest mission and ... Read Book
  • Listen to This One of The Telegraph’s Best Music Books 2011 Alex Ross’s award-winning international bestseller, The Rest Is Noise: Listening to the Twentieth Century, has become a contemporary classic, establishing Ross as one of our most popular and acclaimed cultural historians. Listen to This, which takes ... Read Book
  • A Blackjack Bargainer O. Henry was a prolific American short-story writer—a master of surprise endings—who wrote about the life of ordinary people in New York City. Here is “A Blackjack Bargainer,” the story of the drunken Yancey Goree, a washed-up lawyer who has lost his money, possessions, property, and ... Read Book
  • Chinese Cinderella An ALA Best Book for Young Adults and a Publishers Weekly Best Book, Chinese Cinderella is the story of author Adeline Yen Mah’s childhood. Adeline is just three days old when her mother dies. She is blamed for the death and considered bad luck. For years, she tries to please her family, wanting ... Read Book
  • Tiger Hills A Suitable Boy meets Gone with the Wind in this sweeping, romantic debut novel set on a coffee plantation in southern India at the turn of the twentieth century. As the first girl born to the Nachimanda family in over sixty years, the beautiful Devi is adored by her entire family. Strong-willed and ... Read Book
  • Amish Celebrations From bestselling author Beth Wiseman come four sweet stories centered around celebrations in the Amish community: rumschpringe, baptism, weddings, and Christmas.The Gift of SistersHannah and Rachel are fraternal twins approaching their sixteenth birthday—a time when they will be allowed to ... Read Book
  • An Untimely Frost Solving crimes is not a dress rehearsal.Chicago, 1881. The idea of a female detective is virtually unheard of. But when famed crime buster Allan Pinkerton opens his agency’s doors to a handful of women, one intrepid actress with her own troubled past is driven to defy convention and take on a new ... Read Book
  • What Beauty There Is What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson’s stunning YA novel about brutality and beauty, and about broken people trying to survive—perfect for fans of Patrick Ness, Laura Ruby, and Meg Rosoff.To understand the truth, you have to start at the beginning.Winter in Idaho. The sky is dark. It is cold ... Read Book
  • Hunting Hour Deputy Mattie Cobb is in a dark place and has withdrawn from Cole Walker and his family to work on issues from her past. When she and her K-9 partner, Robo, get called to track a missing junior high student, they find the girl dead on Smoker’s Hill behind the high school, and Mattie must head to ... Read Book
  • Don Quixote de la Mancha With a wealth of fancy and an irrepressible high spirit, this beloved adventure story pokes fun at the exaggerated social and literary conventions of Cervantes’ day. Driven mad by reading too many chivalric romances, Don Quixote decks himself out in rusty armor and a cardboard helmet, ... Read Book

More free audiobooks

  • Euthyphro Socrates meets Euthyphro outside the Athens court. Meletus summoned Socrates to court on allegations of impiety, while Euthyphro has come to punish his own father for accidently killing a homicidal hired hand. Socrates flatters Euthyphro, implying that if he is prepared to pursue his own father on ... Read Book
  • Essays of Michel de Montaigne — Complete It is therefore not surprising that the point of departure of the Essays is situated in negativity: the negativity of Montaigne’s recognition of the rule of appearances and of the loss of connection with the truth of being. Montaigne saw his age as one of dissimulation, corruption, violence, ... Read Book
  • Reflections; or Sentences and Moral Maxims François VI, Duke of La Rochefoucauld, French writer (born September 15, 1613, Paris, France—died March 16/17, 1680, Paris). He entered the army at a young age, despite being from a noble family, and was wounded multiple times. He later played a key role in the Fronde, but ultimately regained ... Read Book
  • The Canterbury Tales, and Other Poems Chaucer begins the Prologue by describing spring. On a spring evening, he and other pilgrimages met at the Tabard Inn in Southwark, the point of departure and arrival for pilgrimages to the shrine of St. Thomas Becket in Canterbury. He leads a group of pilgrims who reflect the whole of ... Read Book
  • The Man Who Was Thursday: A Nightmare London is in the early twentieth century. Two poets meet at a party. One, Lucian Gregory, advocates anarchy, while the other, Gabriel Syme, advocates order. They debate, and Syme accuses Gregory of being a charlatan rather than a true anarchist. Gregory tells Syme after the party that his remarks ... Read Book
  • On Heroes, Hero-Worship, and the Heroic in History Thomas Carlyle’s On Heroes, Hero-Worship, and the Heroic in History, based on a series of lectures delivered in 1840, examines the creation of heroes and the ways they exercise heroic leadership. Carlyle analyzes the hidden traits that raise persons to cultural significance, from the divine ... Read Book
  • The School for Scandal

    Lady Sneerwell’s scheme to prevent Charles Surface, whom she loves, from marrying the heiress Maria kicks off The School for Scandal. The next scene introduces Sir Peter Teazle and his confidante Mr. Rowley, who believes Charles is a wild child who would grow up to be a decent man.

    Read Book
  • On the Sublime

    Longinus discusses the elements of excellent writing with his companion Postumius Terentianus. The most important principle of excellent writing is that it “takes the reader out of himself” (4), leaving an impression of force and passion on the reader.

    Read Book
  • Home Geography for Primary Grades For many generations, this has been a favorite homeschooling resource. Geography is separated into two categories: domestic geography and global geography. Knowledge of one’s own house must be gained by direct observation; knowledge of the rest of the world must be gained through imagination ... Read Book
  • Hamlet, Prince of Denmark Elsinore, a Danish town and harbor on the northeastern coast, is the setting for this tragedy’s tale. At midnight, two guards, Francis and Bernard, were changing when the event started. Francisco tells Bernard that his shift ended peacefully and departs, but Horace and Marcel suddenly show ... Read Book

Choose Language :