Try for free

Christopher Bollen

CHRISTOPHER BOLLEN is the author of the critically acclaimed novels A Beautiful Crime, The Destroyers, Orient, and Lightning People. He is frequent contributor to a number of publications, including Vanity Fair, The New York Times, and Interview. He lives in New York City.
20M+ Downloads
5/5

#1 in Magazines & Newspapers

Speechify is the #1 audio reader in the world. Get through books, docs, articles, PDFs, email – anything

you read – faster.

Sir Richard Branson

Speechify is absolutely brilliant. Growing up with dyslexia this would have made a big difference. I’m so glad to have it today.

Sir Richard Branson

All Books By Christopher Bollen

Other Authors You Might Like

Popular Bookshelves

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Premium Audiobooks

  • Gladiator Clash Join Tom on an incredible treasure hunt through time and battle history’s mightiest warriors. The first book in a new time-travelling series – perfect for fans of Beast Quest.When ten-year-old Tom accidentally smashes a statue in a museum he releases Isis, a young Egyptian mummy who has been ... Read Book
  • Who’s on First It’s 1956, and the Cold War is hot. Hungary has just fallen, and Blackford Oakes is back from Budapest, puzzling over a betrayal and mourning a tragedy he couldn’t prevent. But in Washington, as in the Kremlin, all attention is focused on the race to put the first satellite in space. ... Read Book
  • The Full Cupboard of Life New York Times best-selling author Alexander McCall Smith’s critically acclaimed No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series continues in this engaging book that won the first ever Saga Award for Wit, given to the wittiest British book of the year. Mma Ramotswe has been engaged to Mr. J.L.B. Matekoni ... Read Book
  • The Magnificent Elmer Written by his wife of twenty years, The Magnificent Elmer is the first book about Elmer Bernstein, a seminal figure of movie music.Born in New York City in 1922, Elmer Bernstein was one of America’s most celebrated composers, best known for the award-winning musical scores he developed for film, ... Read Book
  • Passerby A stranded Rammer who finds himself transported from the depths of space to humanity’s cradle on Earth tells his harrowing tale to a peoplewatcher.This short story was first printed in Galaxy in September 1969. Read Book
  • The War on Small Business For years, government bureaucrats have been looking for ways to destroy small businesses. With coronavirus, they finally had their chance.  In 2020, the American economy suffered the biggest financial collapse in history. But while Main Street suffered like never before, the stock market continued ... Read Book
  • If Beale Street Could Talk In this honest and stunning novel, James Baldwin has given America a moving story of love in the face of injustice. Told through the eyes of Tish, a nineteen-year-old girl in love with Fonny, a young sculptor who is the father of her child, Baldwin’s story mixes the sweet and the sad.Tish and ... Read Book
  • Mexico In 1540, Mexico was declared to be New Spain. With a diverse culture and great natural resources, it should have prospered like its northern neighbor. But Mexico’s history includes political corruption, war, revolution, and grinding poverty. Why has the fate of Mexico been so different than that ... Read Book
  • Penguin Pandemonium An unforgettably funny animal adventure story about a little bird with big dreams, from award-winning author Jeanne Willis. One of the fantastic titles in the brand new Awesome Animals series – the funniest fiction, starring the wildest wildlife, from prize winning authors.Rory the rockhopper ... Read Book
  • The Last Days of Sylvia Plath A new, vivid account of the final months of the esteemed writer’s lifeIn her last days, Sylvia Plath struggled to break out from the control of the towering figure of her husband Ted Hughes. In the antique mythology of his retinue, she had become the gorgon threatening to bring down the House of ... Read Book

More free audiobooks

  • Tremendous Trifles Tremendous Trifles is one of numerous collections of essays released during Chesterton’s lifetime that contributed to his public appeal and literary repute. Over the course of many decades, he would grow to become a massive figure in the English literary world, both metaphorically and ... Read Book
  • Cyrano de Bergerac In Paris, in the year 1640, a brilliant poet and swordsman named Cyrano de Bergerac finds himself deeply in love with his beautiful, intellectual cousin Roxane. Despite Cyrano’s brilliance and charisma, a shockingly large nose afflicts his appearance, and he considers himself too ugly even to ... Read Book
  • The Marvelous Land of Oz Not long after the events in _The Wonderful Wizard of Oz_, a young boy named Tip is the unhappy servant Old Mombi, a wicked Sorceress in the Land of the Gillikans (in the north of Oz). One day Tip escapes, after creating a walking stick figure with a jack-o-lantern head named Jack Pumpkinhead with ... Read Book
  • His Last Bow: An Epilogue of Sherlock Holmes

    “His Last Bow” by Arthur Conan Doyle is an espionage thriller, not a detective mystery. The narrative might have been written to bolster public morale during World War I. It is recounted in the third person, rather in the first person like in a Sherlock Holmes tale.

    Read Book
  • A Simple Soul A Simple Soul is the ideal Gustave Flaubert short story: a narrative conveyed in minimal, clear language that is rich in detail. Felicite, the outstanding servant of the strict Madame Aubin, is the “soul.” Felicite, orphaned and uneducated, devoted her life to her mistress and ... Read Book
  • Hesiod, the Homeric Hymns, and Homerica

    Hesiod and Homer. Hesiod, the Homeric Hymns, and Homerica. Trans. Hugh G. Evelyn-White. Ed. Douglas B. Killings and David Widger. 1914. Gutenberg.org. 4 Feb 2013. Kindle E-book.

    Read Book
  • A Doll’s House : a play It’s Christmas Eve and Nora Helmer has just returned home from a Christmas shopping spree. Her husband Torvald teases her for her largesse, calling her “little squirrel.” The Helmers’ financial situation changed in the past year; Torvald is now up for a promotion, and for this reason, ... Read Book
  • Thought-Forms

    It was first published in London in 1905. According to Theosophy, thoughts and emotions produce specific patterns of color and shape in the human aura, which are apparent only to those who have a high level of clairvoyance and can see beyond our regular senses.

    Read Book
  • Autobiography of a Yogi Autobiography of a Yogi (1946) by Paramahansa Yogananda is one of the most admired and well-respected memoirs in the genre. The book has been translated into more than thirty languages and has never been out of print. It tells the epic life story told with the insight, humor, and wisdom that embody ... Read Book
  • Japanese Fairy Tales A compilation of classic fables and folktales published in 1908. Yei Theodora Ozaki selected and translated twenty-two charming Japanese Fairy Tales, including “My Lord Bag of Rice,” “The Tongue-Cut Sparrow,” “The Story of Urashima Taro, the Fisher Lad,” ... Read Book

Choose Language :