Try for free

Earl Swift

Journalist Earl Swift has written seven books and hundreds of major features for newspapers and magazines, all distinguished by evocative language and deeply immersive reporting. Since 2012, he has been a fellow of Virginia Humanities at the University of Virginia. Swift has a 26-year-old daughter, Saylor, who is his neighbor in the Blue Ridge mountains west of Charlottesville.
20M+ Downloads
5/5

#1 in Magazines & Newspapers

Speechify is the #1 audio reader in the world. Get through books, docs, articles, PDFs, email – anything

you read – faster.

Sir Richard Branson

Speechify is absolutely brilliant. Growing up with dyslexia this would have made a big difference. I’m so glad to have it today.

Sir Richard Branson

Other Authors You Might Like

Popular Bookshelves

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Premium Audiobooks

  • Dreams Lie Beneath From Rebecca Ross, acclaimed author of The Queen’s Rising duology, comes a story about magic, vengeance, and the captivating power of dreams. A must-read for fans of The Hazel Wood and The Night Circus. The realm of Azenor has spent years plagued by a curse. Every new moon, magic flows from the ... Read Book
  • Live Free The bestselling author returns with his biggest book yet in which he teaches us the secret to living a happier life: get rid of as many expectations as possible—of ourselves, our future, our relationships, our career and our family. Expectations are the secret software, running on the hardware of ... Read Book
  • Mother Noise A poignant, “raw[,] and tender” (The New York Times Book Review) memoir told in essays and graphic shorts about what life looks like twenty years after recovery from addiction—and how to live with the past as a parent, writer, and sober person—from a regular opener for David Sedaris.In the ... Read Book
  • Fall After learning that her life’s purpose is to fulfill a prophecy to save our world, Roam finds that she is pregnant—and missing the love of her life with all of her heart. Logan, her best friend, stands by her, helping her to find a way back to West … despite his own love for her. On a journey ... Read Book
  • Graveminder Three sips to mind the dead . . . Rebekkah Barrow never forgot the attention her grandmother Maylene bestowed upon the dead of Claysville, the small town where Bek spent her adolescence. There wasn’t a funeral that Maylene didn’t attend, and at each one Rebekkah watched as Maylene performed the ... Read Book
  • Dreaming of You When shy and secluded author Sara Fielding ventures from her country cottage to research a novel, she inadvertently witnesses a crime in progress—and manages to save the life of the most dangerous man in London. Derek Craven is a powerful and near-legendary gambling club owner who was born a ... Read Book
  • Resiliencia (Resilience) “¿Cómo hacen algunas personas para superar con entereza las adversidades de la vida, las crisis profesionales o, incluso, graves traumas personales? Este libro revela los rasgos sobresalientes de aquellos que salen fortalecidos de los desafíos, ayuda a entrenar el cerebro para soportar las ... Read Book
  • Bless the Broken Road In this lesson you will learn an intermediate level piano solo of the Rascal Flatts hit “Bless the Broken Road” completely “by ear.” This lesson starts with a complete demonstration of the piano solo followed by a detailed lesson in two- to four-measure increments of the arrangement. At the ... Read Book

More free audiobooks

  • Antiquities of the Jews Flavius Josephus was born of an aristocratic priestly family in Jerusalem. According to his own account, he was a precocious youth who by the age of 14 was consulted by high priests in matters of Jewish law. At age 16 he undertook a three-year sojourn in the wilderness with the hermit Bannus, a ... Read Book
  • The Works of Edgar Allan Poe — Volume 3 Edgar Allan Poe (1809-1849) is regarded as one of America’s best, darkest, and most mysterious authors. The circumstances behind his premature death, as well as what made him tick, remain unclear. Poe is most renowned for his stories of mystery and the macabre, and he was one of the first ... Read Book
  • The Secret Sharer In “The Secret Sharer,” a captain encounters a nude guy in the rigging of his ship’s ladder. Leggatt, the guy, reveals that he inadvertently murdered an arrogant fellow crewmember seven weeks earlier. He submerged his garments to give the Sephora crew the impression that he had ... Read Book
  • Man and Superman: A Comedy and a Philosophy

    On stage, Roebuck Ramsden, an old man of money and affairs, emerges. The maid, dressed in a beautiful mourning suit, announces Octavius Robinson, a young poet. Ramsden cautions the young poet about his companion, John Tanner.

    Read Book
  • Hedda Gabler The entire play takes place in the Tesman’s living room and in a smaller room to its side. Jürgen Tesman and Hedda Tesman (nee Hedda Gabler) are newlyweds. They have just returned from a six-month honeymoon. Hedda is aristocratic and hard to please. Throughout the play, it becomes apparent ... Read Book
  • Black Beauty Black Beauty is a young horse who is adored and content. However, his life abruptly changes when his owner is forced to sell him. He has a lot of new owners, some of whom are kind and some of whom are vicious. He only needs someone to love him once more. Black Beauty makes an effort to live as well ... Read Book
  • The Marvelous Land of Oz Not long after the events in _The Wonderful Wizard of Oz_, a young boy named Tip is the unhappy servant Old Mombi, a wicked Sorceress in the Land of the Gillikans (in the north of Oz). One day Tip escapes, after creating a walking stick figure with a jack-o-lantern head named Jack Pumpkinhead with ... Read Book
  • The Vampyre; a Tale His vampire is a classic vampire story. For some reason, this is a very interesting and important task. First, it’s probably the first written English vampire story. It influenced many writers of vampire stories, especially Bram Stoker, who has some similarities to his novel Dracula’s ... Read Book
  • The Middle-Class Gentleman

    Two dance and music instructors, together with their pupils, were waiting for the master of the house to emerge. Monsieur Jourdain resolved to become an aristocrat, to emulate aristocratic gentlemen. His madness generated much disruption and excitement in the home

    Read Book
  • Life on the Mississippi Life in Mississippi is a powerful story of the past, present and future of Mississippi, including cities, people and lifestyles. The story was written by Mark Twain, whose real name is Samuel Langhorn Clemens. Twain explains in the story that he “stolen” his nickname from the captain of ... Read Book

Choose Language :