Francis Galton

1822 - 1911

20M+ Downloads
5/5

#1 in Magazines & Newspapers

Speechify is the #1 audio reader in the world. Get through books, docs, articles, PDFs, email – anything

you read – faster.

Sir Richard Branson

Speechify is absolutely brilliant. Growing up with dyslexia this would have made a big difference. I’m so glad to have it today.

Sir Richard Branson

Other Authors You Might Like

Popular Bookshelves

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Premium Audiobooks

  • When Fish Got Feet, Sharks Got Teeth, and Bugs Began to Swarm If you think dinosaurs are cool, wait till you learn what covered Earth 430 million years ago. That’s long before dinos even existed. There wasn’t much on land-some really tiny plants and even smaller animals like millipedes and mites. But offshore life was another story. Six-foot-long ... Read Book
  • Hurt You With echoes of Marijke Nijkamp and Jason Reynolds, acclaimed author Marie Myung-ok Lee’s stunning YA homage to Steinbeck’s Of Mice and Men tells the tragic story of a Korean-American teen who fights to protect herself and her neurodivergent older brother from a hostile community. Inspired ... Read Book
  • An Impartial Witness Tending to the soldiers in the trenches of France during the First World War, battlefield nurse Bess Crawford can’t help but notice the photo of a young pilot’s wife every time she tends to him. But then at the railway station, in a mob of troops leaving for the front, Bess glimpses a familiar ... Read Book
  • Open House A columnist who regularly contributes to The Nation and The Village Voice, Patricia J. Williams is also a professor of law at Columbia University and the recipient of a MacArthur “genius” award. In Open House, she shares her unique views on modern American culture and tells stories of her ... Read Book
  • Mem Mem is a rare novel, a small book carrying very big ideas, the kind of story that stays with you long after you’ve finished reading it.Set in the glittering art deco world of a century ago, Mem makes one slight alteration to history: a scientist in Montreal discovers a method allowing people to ... Read Book
  • Frontier Fighters! Bring history back to life through Jim Hodges’ historically accurate, exciting, and edifying audio recordings. This radio drama, originally broadcast in the 1930s, tells epic narratives of those fearless wanderers and adventurers who first broke the trails of the Old West! Frontier Fighters is ... Read Book
  • Inner Sanctum Mysteries, Vol. 3 Every week, Inner Sanctum Mysteries told a story of ghosts, murderers, and lunatics. Taking its name from a popular series of mystery novels, Inner Sanctum Mysteries debuted over NBC radio’s Blue Network in January 1941 and featured one of the most memorable and atmospheric openings in radio ... Read Book
  • Beneath the Stairs “An enthralling debut by a gifted storyteller!” —Wendy Walker, author of Don’t Look for Me In this spine-tingling, atmospheric debut for fans of Jennifer McMahon, Simone St. James, and Chris Bohjalian, a woman returns to her hometown after her childhood friend attempts ... Read Book
  • The Frandidate In this seventh madcap entry from Jim Benton’s New York Times best-selling series, pint-sized Franny K. Stein has the perfect solution for getting elected class president the mad science way. In the privacy of her laboratory, Franny combines the DNA of a dog, a chameleon and a parrot to create ... Read Book

More free audiobooks

  • London River Pete Grant is a probationary policeman in the London Metropolitan Police Department, striving for a permanent posting. The night before his execution, a violent beheading takes place in front of St. Paul’s Cathedral. He and his colleague Lesley May are assigned to watch the murder site late ... Read Book
  • Moby Multiple Language Lists of Common Words Moby Dick famously begins with the narratorial invocation “Call me Ishmael.” The narrator, like his biblical counterpart, is an outcast. Ishmael, who turns to the sea for meaning, relays to the audience the final voyage of the Pequod, a whaling vessel. Amid a story of tribulation, beauty, and ... Read Book
  • Far from the Madding Crowd Bathsheba Everdene is a lovely young lady without a wealth at the start of the tale. One evening, she encounters Gabriel Oak, a young farmer, and saves his life. He proposes marriage to her, but she declines since she does not love him. She relocates to Weatherbury after inheriting her ... Read Book
  • Sister Carrie: A Novel Carrie Meeber, an average girl who climbs from a low-paid wage employee to a high-paid actress, and George Hurstwood, a member of the upper middle class who falls from his cushy existence to a life on the streets, are the main characters in Sister Carrie. Carrie and Hurstwood’s futures are ... Read Book
  • Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Seas: An Underwater Tour of the World Part I of the novel, consisting of twenty-three chapters, begins in the summer of 1866 when something enormous and mysterious is sighted at various locations on the ocean. This “sea monster” is treated as a tall tale at first, but when shipwrecks start to occur, Admiral Farragut of the U.S. ... Read Book
  • The Satyricon — Complete Satyricon is spoken by an educated man named Encorpius in the first person. Encorpius travels to different parts of the Mediterranean, adventures and meets different characters. Plots are not always developed linearly or consistently because the text is stored in pieces. The surviving fragments ... Read Book
  • The Ethics of Aristotle

    Every human activity aims at some end that we consider good. The highest ends are ends in themselves, while subordinate ends may only be means to higher ends. Those highest ends, which we pursue for their own sake, must be the supreme Good.

    Read Book
  • Relativity : the Special and General Theory Relativity: The Special and General Theory began as a short paper and was later published as a book by Albert Einstein with the goal of providing “an exact insight into the theory of relativity to those readers who, from a general scientific and philosophical point of view, are interested in ... Read Book
  • The Communist Manifesto The Communist Manifesto reflects an attempt to explain the goals of Communism, as well as the theory underlying this movement. It argues that class struggles, or the exploitation of one class by another, are the motivating force behind all historical developments. Class relationships are defined by ... Read Book
  • Phaedo

    In Plato’s Republic, Echecrates meets Phaedo of Elis, one of the men present during Socrates’ final hours. The philosopher argues that there is a perpetual cycle of life and death, so that when we die we come back to life after a period of time.

    Read Book

Choose Language :