William Carew Hazlitt

1834 - 1913

20M+ Downloads
5/5

#1 in Magazines & Newspapers

Speechify is the #1 audio reader in the world. Get through books, docs, articles, PDFs, email – anything

you read – faster.

Sir Richard Branson

Speechify is absolutely brilliant. Growing up with dyslexia this would have made a big difference. I’m so glad to have it today.

Sir Richard Branson

Other Authors You Might Like

Popular Bookshelves

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Premium Audiobooks

  • Roberto & Me Best-selling author Dan Gutman delights young readers with the what-if appeal and gentle humor of his Baseball Card Adventures, featuring a time-travelling boy who loves baseball. When Stosh travels into the past to meet Roberto Clemente, a legendary ballplayer and a beloved humanitarian, he’s ... Read Book
  • The Book of Mirrors An elegant, page-turning thriller in the vein of Night Film and Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter, this tautly crafted novel is about stories: the ones we tell, the ones we keep hidden, and the ones that we’ll do anything to ensure they stay buried.When literary agent Peter Katz receives a ... Read Book
  • The Inbetween People ”I am writing this for you Saleem. I am writing about us, about how I loved you, and how I killed you.”As Avi Goldberg, the son of a Jewish pioneer, sits at a desk in a dark cell of a military prison in the Negev desert, he fills the long nights writing about his friend Saleem, an Israeli Arab ... Read Book
  • A New Year’s Bite Nathan gets a visit from his friend, Terra, a detective with the Atlanta police, and is worried by her appearance. She tells him she’s frustrated that she hasn’t caught the Slasher, a serial killer plaguing the city. As they talk, Nathan uncovers other problems in Terra’s life: her new ... Read Book
  • The Bachelor The Chandler Brothers from New York Times bestselling author Carly Phillips are back!He’s got wanderlust and no intention of settling down.She’s home to stay and has put her bad-boy ex in her rearview mirror.After spending his life abroad, embracing his freedom at every turn as a foreign ... Read Book
  • Ghost Songs Regina McBride, author of The Nature of Water and Air and The Land of Women, delivers a powerful and affecting debut memoir, Ghost Songs.Ghost Songs charts McBride’s teenage struggle to separate madness from imagination and sorrow from devastation in the wake of the shocking deaths of both her ... Read Book
  • Cold Earth From Ann Cleeves, winner of the CWA Diamond Dagger Award, comes Cold Earth. In the dark days of a Shetland winter, torrential rain triggers a landslide that crosses the main road and sweeps down to the sea.At the burial of his old friend Magnus Tait, Jimmy Perez watches the flood of mud and water ... Read Book
  • The Black Widow Clique Best friends and blood sisters for life, Melonee Reid and Fiona White have one goal in life—to get rich and live comfortably—but growing up in the inner city of Los Angeles isn’t helping them obtain that goal. That is, until Fiona comes up with a plan to marry for money and murder for even ... Read Book
  • Paris, 7 A.M. “A marvel of lost innocence” (O, The Oprah Magazine) that reimagines three life-changing weeks poet Elizabeth Bishop spent in Paris amidst the imminent threat of World War II. June 1937. Elizabeth Bishop, still only a young woman and not yet one of the most influential poets of the 20th ... Read Book
  • Virginia Woolf in 90 Minutes A highly sensitive and intelligent child, Virginia Woolf grew up in a large family prone to psychological instability. Throughout her life, she was subject to periods of mental breakdown, yet when she was lucid she was capable of a uniquely perceptive and frank introspection. Under the influence of ... Read Book

More free audiobooks

  • The Awakening, and Selected Short Stories The Awakening opens on an island in Grand Isle, Louisiana, where 28-year-old Edna Pontellier is vacationing with her Creole husband, Léonce, and their two children, Etienne and Raoul. Léonce works during the week, leaving Edna to look after the children. Edna, however, spends most of her time ... Read Book
  • Home Geography for Primary Grades For many generations, this has been a favorite homeschooling resource. Geography is separated into two categories: domestic geography and global geography. Knowledge of one’s own house must be gained by direct observation; knowledge of the rest of the world must be gained through imagination ... Read Book
  • The Adventures of Pinocchio Geppetto, a poor guy, wishes to carve himself a marionette in order to make a living as a puppeteer. He is given a piece of enchanted wood, and the puppet, which he names Pinocchio, begins torturing the old man as soon as Geppetto carves it. Pinocchio flees once its feet are built, and Geppetto is ... Read Book
  • Pamela, or Virtue Rewarded Samuel Richardson’s “Pamela; or Virtue Rewarded” is an epistolary book of manners. The tale chronicles Pamela’s hardships when her employer, Mr. B, tries to undermine her virtue and even kidnaps her. “Pamela; or, Virtue Rewarded” depicts the difficulty and ... Read Book
  • The Imaginary Invalid Argan’s previous marriage produced a wife and two children. He believes he is terminally sick and wants to marry a doctor’s son who is studying medicine. Toinette, Angelique’s maid, appears to be on her side in order for her to escape marrying Thomas Diafoirus. Toinette and Berald ... Read Book
  • The Canterbury Tales, and Other Poems Chaucer begins the Prologue by describing spring. On a spring evening, he and other pilgrimages met at the Tabard Inn in Southwark, the point of departure and arrival for pilgrimages to the shrine of St. Thomas Becket in Canterbury. He leads a group of pilgrims who reflect the whole of ... Read Book
  • Poems by Emily Dickinson, Three Series, Complete Emily Dickinson wrote almost 1800 poems in her lifetime. Her poetry was surprisingly original and ignored or opposed many of her traditions and customs of the time. Almost all of her poems are short, using traditional hymn stanzas of four-line renku, with line lengths of four to three beats and ... Read Book
  • The Germany and the Agricola of Tacitus Cornelius Tacitus’ Agricola and Germania fulfills two historical goals. First, the book honors one of Roman Britain’s best commanders, Agricola. Tacitus relates the account of Agricola’s ascent to dominance over Britain using both his own experiences and Agricola’s own ... Read Book
  • Phaedo

    In Plato’s Republic, Echecrates meets Phaedo of Elis, one of the men present during Socrates’ final hours. The philosopher argues that there is a perpetual cycle of life and death, so that when we die we come back to life after a period of time.

    Read Book
  • The Works of Edgar Allan Poe — Volume 4 Edgar Allan Poe (1809-1849) is regarded as one of America’s best, darkest, and most mysterious authors. The circumstances behind his premature death, as well as what made him tick, remain unclear. Poe is most renowned for his stories of mystery and the macabre, and he was one of the first ... Read Book

Choose Language :