Try for free

Ivan Doig

Ivan Doig (1939-2015) was a third-generation Montanan and the author of sixteen books, including the classic memoir This House of Sky and most recently Last Bus to Wisdom. He was a National Book Award finalist and received the Wallace Stegner Award, among many other honors. Doig lived in Seattle with his wife, Carol. Visit IvanDoig.com.
20M+ Downloads
5/5

#1 in Magazines & Newspapers

Speechify is the #1 audio reader in the world. Get through books, docs, articles, PDFs, email – anything

you read – faster.

Sir Richard Branson

Speechify is absolutely brilliant. Growing up with dyslexia this would have made a big difference. I’m so glad to have it today.

Sir Richard Branson

Other Authors You Might Like

Popular Bookshelves

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Premium Audiobooks

  • Hemlock Grove A charismatic young writer reinvents the gothic novel, bringing a fresh energy to our darkest myths and deepest horrors in an expectation-defying tale of adolescent deception, ravenous violence, and rumors of werewolves.The body of a young girl is found mangled and murdered in the woods of Hemlock ... Read Book
  • Decision in Normandy Field Marshal Montgomery’s battle plan for Normandy, following the D-day landings on June 6, 1944, resulted in one of the most controversial campaigns of the Second World War. Carlo D’Este’s acclaimed book gives the fullest possible account of the conception and execution of Montgomery’s ... Read Book
  • The Summer of Lost and Found A timely, tender, and compassionate tale of perseverance, love, and the bonds of family in the face of tremendous and sometimes painful upheaval in this latest novel in the New York Times bestselling Beach House series. The coming of spring usually means renewal, but for Linnea Rutledge, this ... Read Book
  • Up a Road Slowly Julie would remember her happy days at Aunt Cordelia’s forever. Running through the spacious rooms, singing on rainy nights in front of the blazing fireplace. There were rides in the woods on Peter the Great, the races with Danny Trevort. Maybe best of all were the precious moments alone in her ... Read Book
  • King of the Bench: Kicking & Screaming In the third book of this highly illustrated middle grade series from the nationally syndicated cartoonist of “In the Bleachers,” Steve takes one for the benchwarmers to play his least favorite sport. Perfect for fans of Timmy Failure and Diary of a Wimpy Kid, King of the Bench is an ode to ... Read Book
  • The Quantum Magician The breathtaking debut from acclaimed short story writer Derek Kunsken. Belisarius is a quantum man, an engineered Homo quantus who fled the powerful insight of dangerously addictive quantum senses. He found a precarious balance as a con man, but when a client offers him untold wealth to move a ... Read Book
  • Rice Paddy Recon A young US Marine officer recounts his experiences of the Vietnam War over a nineteen-month period. He graphically describes what it was like to perform three distinct combat missions: long-range ground reconnaissance in the Annamite mountains of I Corps, infantry operations in the rice paddies and ... Read Book
  • Grimm’s Fairy Tales William Collins Books and Decca Records are proud to present ARGO Classics, a historic catalogue of classic fiction read by some of the world’s most renowned voices. Originally released as vinyl records, these expertly abridged and remastered stories are now available to download for the first ... Read Book
  • The Planet Thieves The Planet Thieves is the first thrilling installment of a middle-grade series by Dan Krokos.Two weeks ago, thirteen-year-old Mason Stark and seventeen of his fellow cadets from the Academy for Earth Space Command boarded the SS Egypt. The trip was supposed to be a short routine voyage to log their ... Read Book
  • Frankie and Amelia A heartfelt companion novel to the critically acclaimed Chester and Gus about inclusivity, autism, friendship, and family, perfect for fans of Sara Pennypacker and Kate DiCamillo. After being separated from his family, Franklin becomes an independent cat, until he meets a goofy dog named Chester. ... Read Book

More free audiobooks

  • The Conjure Woman Conjure Women is a sprawling novel that vividly depicts the civilization of the South before and after the Civil War. It relates the stories of three unique women: Miss May Belle, a wise healing woman; her clever and observant daughter Rue, who is hesitant to follow in her mother’s footsteps ... Read Book
  • Phaedrus

    Phaedrus, a young rhetoric student, has just returned from hearing Lysias, a great orator. Lysias contends that having a sexual connection with someone who is not in love with you is preferable than having one with someone who is.

    Read Book
  • Life in the Iron-Mills; Or, The Korl Woman Life in the Iron Mills is a book about an unknown town in the American South that predominantly manufactures iron. The story is told by an unknown narrator who lives in the town. The reader travels with the narrator into town to see Hugh Wolfe, a furnace tender at Kirby & John’s iron ... Read Book
  • The Works of Edgar Allan Poe — Volume 4 Edgar Allan Poe (1809-1849) is regarded as one of America’s best, darkest, and most mysterious authors. The circumstances behind his premature death, as well as what made him tick, remain unclear. Poe is most renowned for his stories of mystery and the macabre, and he was one of the first ... Read Book
  • The Lady of the Lake

    As he searched, James Fitz-James, a Saxon knight from Stirling Castle, became disoriented. Ellen Douglas, who resided in Loch Katerine under her cousin’s care, saved him. Roderick Dhu planned to marry Ellen and bring Clan Douglas and Clan Alpine together.

    Read Book
  • An Enemy of the People The town in which the play is set has built a huge bathing complex that is crucial to the town’s economy. Dr. Stockmann has just discovered that the baths’ drainage system is seriously contaminated. He alerts several members of the community, including Hovstad and Aslaksen, and receives ... Read Book
  • Autobiography of a Yogi Autobiography of a Yogi (1946) by Paramahansa Yogananda is one of the most admired and well-respected memoirs in the genre. The book has been translated into more than thirty languages and has never been out of print. It tells the epic life story told with the insight, humor, and wisdom that embody ... Read Book
  • London River Pete Grant is a probationary policeman in the London Metropolitan Police Department, striving for a permanent posting. The night before his execution, a violent beheading takes place in front of St. Paul’s Cathedral. He and his colleague Lesley May are assigned to watch the murder site late ... Read Book
  • Bushido, the Soul of Japan This seminal work was written by a Japanese educator who was curious about the ethos of his people more than a century ago, when Japan was in the process of transforming itself from an isolated feudal society into a modern nation. When combined with the numerous other writings he did in English, ... Read Book
  • Le Morte d’Arthur: Volume 1 Chap. 1 The narrator starts off in England during the time of King Uther Pendragon. The Duke of Cornwall, with whom Uther has been at war, and his wife Igraine are sent by Uther. Igraine rejects Uther’s advances and informs the Duke of his actions when he proposes to her out of love. They ... Read Book

Choose Language :