Try for free

Helen Kendrick Johnson

1844 - 1917

20M+ Downloads
5/5

#1 in Magazines & Newspapers

Speechify is the #1 audio reader in the world. Get through books, docs, articles, PDFs, email – anything

you read – faster.

Sir Richard Branson

Speechify is absolutely brilliant. Growing up with dyslexia this would have made a big difference. I’m so glad to have it today.

Sir Richard Branson

All Books By Helen Johnson

Other Authors You Might Like

Popular Bookshelves

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Premium Audiobooks

  • No Defense Lara and Vinny Jessup had a lovely May-December marriage. It renewed his lease on life after a battle with cancer, and it rescued her from a bad first marriage. And thenVinny was found dead. Initially, the sheriff in Loomis County thinks that Vinny died when his car rolled over on a bad curve on ... Read Book
  • Into Goblyn Wood Fairies are real, but their power is waning . . . Embark on the adventure of a lifetime and discover the magic of Goblyn Wood, with the first book in a major new fantasy series for fans of Nevermoor and Podkin One-Ear!Are you ready to enter Goblyn Wood . . . ?Hazel has always known she was ... Read Book
  • Brainstorm The crime The motives The cover-up The 1981 drowning death of award-winning actress Natalie Wood off the coast of Catalina Island, California, has become one of Hollywood’s most controversial unsolved mysteries. After an in-depth five-year investigation, Sam Perroni has completed the most ... Read Book
  • The Recent East “Angela Dawe is an outstanding narrator for this expansive audiobook…Dawe’s voice is strong, and her pace is excellent. As a good narrator will do, she lets the story shine with patient grace and confident kindness. This audiobook is definitely worth a listen.” — AudioFile Magazine An ... Read Book
  • Alexander, Who Used to Be Rich Last Sunday Alexander’s two brothers have money in their pockets. All he has are bus tokens. It isn’t fair. He had money last Sunday when his grandparents gave them each a dollar. Now it’s all gone. At first he was saving the money for a walkie-talkie. But saving money is hard. He bought gum with some of ... Read Book
  • The Quilt Best-selling author T. Davis Bunn is a master at weaving moving tales that refresh the spirit and warm the heart. In The Quilt an elderly woman with arthritic hands is struck by the powerful feeling that something in her life remains undone. Deciding that her final task will be to make one last ... Read Book
  • The Book of Rosy El libro de Rosy (Spanish edition) «Una autobiografía perturbadora e inolvidable […] Esta desgarradora historia narra la lucha a la que se enfrentan muchas familias que son separadas en la frontera entre Estados Unidos y México». —Publisher’s Weekly  «La inquietante y elocuente historia de una guatemalteca en búsqueda ... Read Book
  • Wife for Hire Hank Mallone knows he’s in trouble when Maggie Toone agrees to pretend to be his wife in order to improve his rogue’s reputation. Will his harebrained scheme to get a bank loan for his business backfire once Maggie arrives in his small Vermont town and lets the gossips take a look? Maggie never ... Read Book
  • Fugitive’s Vow Rule-breaking, unconventional assassins Joel “Ridge” Breckenridge and Garrett “Rett” Kennar are back, and the stakes have never been higher. The Witch Lord remains at large, orchestrating his plot against Landria’s throne from the shadows. Then tragedy strikes, the kingdom is in jeopardy, ... Read Book
  • Damnation Spring NATIONAL BESTSELLER Named a Best Book of 2021 by Newsweek, the San Francisco Chronicle, The Washington Post, and the Los Angeles Times “A glorious book—an assured novel that’s gorgeously told.” —The New York Times Book Review “An incredibly moving epic about an unforgettable family.” ... Read Book

More free audiobooks

  • The Rime of the Ancient Mariner

    The poem describes the narrative of an Ancient Mariner who uses his crossbow to kill an albatross. After the bird is killed, a strong gale sweeps the ship farther and deeper into the Pacific Ocean.

    Read Book
  • Master and Man

    Leo Tolstoy wrote “Master and Man” in 1895. Post-reform Russia, when serfdom was abolished and capitalism redefined social life. Realist depiction and psychological narrative convey themes of death, exploitation, societal division, and religious salvation.

    Read Book
  • The Post Office The story revolves around Amal, a young boy whose incurable illness has forced him to live with his adopted uncle. The drama “continues to hold a distinctive position in [Tagore’s] reputation, both inside Bengal and in the broader world,” according to W. Andrew Robinson and ... Read Book
  • The Gilded Age: A Tale of Today

    The Gilded Age, first published in 1873, is a caustic satire as well as a fascinating depiction of post-Civil War America—a corrupt era in which greedy land speculators, cutthroat bankers, and dishonest politicians voraciously exploited the country’s postwar optimism.

    Read Book
  • The Analysis of Mind This work is absolutely necessary for gaining a grasp of Russell’s philosophy. He argues for a new conception of the mind, which is provided by his eclectic fusion of William James’s ‘neutral monism,’ the emerging theory of behaviorism, to which Russell was strongly drawn, ... Read Book
  • The Critique of Pure Reason The Critique of Pure Reason was a critique of the pretensions of pure theoretical reason to attain metaphysical truths beyond the ken of applied theoretical reason. Its conclusion was that pure theoretical reason must be restrained, because it produces confused arguments when applied outside its ... Read Book
  • Lyrical Ballads, With a Few Other Poems (1798)

    William Wordsworth and Samuel Taylor Coleridge’s collection of poems, Lyrical Ballads, with a Few Other Poems, was originally published in 1798 and is generally regarded as the start of the English Romantic literary movement.

    Read Book
  • An Enquiry Concerning Human Understanding Hume begins by distinguishing between impressions and ideas. Impressions are sensory impressions, emotions, and other vivid mental phenomena, while ideas are thoughts or beliefs or memories related to these impressions. We build up all our ideas from simple impressions by means of three laws of ... Read Book
  • Ethics

    Every human activity aims at some end that we consider good. The highest ends are ends in themselves, while subordinate ends may only be means to higher ends. Those highest ends, which we pursue for their own sake, must be the supreme Good.

    Read Book
  • Grimm’s Fairy Stories

    The stories aren’t ordered, so feel free to skip around. Keep in mind that many of the best stories are at the beginning. In most stories, the heroes prevail and the villains are punished. It sounds stale until you consider who’s excellent and why.

    Read Book

Choose Language :