Try for free

Larry Millett

Larry Millett is the author of numerous historical mystery novels and nonfiction books and has also written for several historical and architectural magazines in the Midwestern United States. A native of Minneapolis, he earned a BA degree from St. John’s University, Collegeville, Minnesota, and an MA from the University of Chicago. He spent much of his career as a writer, reporter, and editor for the St. Paul Pioneer Press. In 1984, he won a Knight Fellowship to the University of Michigan to study architectural history and theory.
20M+ Downloads
5/5

#1 in Magazines & Newspapers

Speechify is the #1 audio reader in the world. Get through books, docs, articles, PDFs, email – anything

you read – faster.

Sir Richard Branson

Speechify is absolutely brilliant. Growing up with dyslexia this would have made a big difference. I’m so glad to have it today.

Sir Richard Branson

Other Authors You Might Like

Popular Bookshelves

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Premium Audiobooks

  • A Salty Piece of Land It’s not on any chart, but the tropical island of Cayo Loco is the perfect place to run away from all your problems. Waking from a ganja buzz on the beach in Tulum, Tully can’t believe his eyes when a 142-foot schooner emerges out of the ocean mist. At its helm is Cleopatra Highbourne, the ... Read Book
  • Soulswift A dark, epic fantasy about a girl who must rethink everything she believes after she is betrayed and hunted by the religion that raised her—from Megan Bannen, author of The Bird and the Blade. Perfect for fans of The Winner’s Curse and The Girl of Fire and Thorns. Gelya is a Vessel, a girl who ... Read Book
  • Kagen the Damned Kagen the Damned marks the first installment of an exciting new series of dark epic fantasy novels from bestselling author Jonathan Maberry. Sworn by OathKagen Vale is the trusted and feared captain of the palace guard, charged with protection of the royal children of the Silver Empire. But one ... Read Book
  • The Ravenmaster “[Christopher Skaife’s] natural storyteller’s charm results in a performance that is conversational, funny, and self-deprecating…Ravenmaster is a joyful listening experience.” — AudioFile Magazine This program is read by the author. The first behind-the-scenes account of life with the ... Read Book
  • One Summer in Italy ‘I love all of Sue Moorcroft’s books!’Katie FfordeWhen Sofia Bianchi’s father Aldo dies, it makes her stop and look at things afresh. Having been his carer for so many years, she knows it’s time for her to live her own life – and to fulfil some promises she made to Aldo in his final ... Read Book
  • The Golden State A gorgeous, raw debut novel about a young woman braving the ups and downs of motherhood in a fractured AmericaIn Lydia Kiesling’s razor-sharp debut novel, The Golden State, we accompany Daphne, a young mother on the edge of a breakdown, as she flees her sensible but strained life in San Francisco ... Read Book
  • It’s Not Rocket Science The Top Ten Bestseller Black holes. DNA. The Large Hadron Collider. Ever had that sneaking feeling that you are missing out on some truly spectacular science? You do? Well, fear not, for help is at hand. Ben Miller was working on his Physics PhD at Cambridge when he accidentally became a comedian. ... Read Book
  • Love Her Well Now an ECPA Best Seller—Kari Kampakis’s Love Her Well gives moms ten practical tips for how to build strong and lasting relationships with their daughters. For many women, having a baby girl is a dream come true. But as girls grow up, the narrative of innocence and joy changes to one of ... Read Book
  • Our Final Warning This book must not be ignored. It really is our final warning.Mark Lynas delivers a vital account of the future of our earth, and our civilisation, if current rates of global warming persist. And it’s only looking worse.We are living in a climate emergency. But how much worse could it get? Will ... Read Book
  • Five Presidents The #1 New York Times bestselling author of Mrs. Kennedy and Me and Five Days in November reflects on his seventeen years on the Secret Service for presidents Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, and Ford.The assassination of one president, the resignation of another, and the swearing-in of the two ... Read Book

More free audiobooks

  • Democracy in America — Volume 1 Chapter 1: Physical Configuration of North America Tocqueville begins within almost poetic description of the geographical layout of North America. There are two regions, bordered on the north by the pole and on the south by the equator, and separated in the middle by the Great Lakes. The region ... Read Book
  • Plutarch’s Lives, Volume 1 (of 4) Plutarch’s Lives, published around the start of the second century A.D., is a remarkable social history of the ancient world written by one of history’s greatest biographers and moralists. Plutarch describes the character and personality of his subjects and how they eventually lead to ... Read Book
  • An Index of The Divine Comedy by Dante

    The poem is consisted of 14233 lines which rime. It is divided into three parts: Hell, Purgatory and Heaven. Hell has nine circles, Purgatory is divided into nine parts and Heaven into nine skies.

    Read Book
  • The Fall of the House of Usher An unnamed narrator approaches Asher’s house on a “dull, dark, quiet day.” The home of my childhood friend Roderick Asher, this house is dark and mysterious. The narrator states that the house seems to have an evil and morbid atmosphere from the rotten trees and the muddy ponds ... Read Book
  • Troilus and Criseyde

    Troilus and Criseyde, Geoffrey Chaucer’s tragic poetry romance written in the 1380s and regarded by some experts to be his best work. The narrative of this 8,239-line poem was heavily influenced by Giovanni Boccaccio’s Il filostrato.V

    Read Book
  • Phaedo

    In Plato’s Republic, Echecrates meets Phaedo of Elis, one of the men present during Socrates’ final hours. The philosopher argues that there is a perpetual cycle of life and death, so that when we die we come back to life after a period of time.

    Read Book
  • Relativity : the Special and General Theory Relativity: The Special and General Theory began as a short paper and was later published as a book by Albert Einstein with the goal of providing “an exact insight into the theory of relativity to those readers who, from a general scientific and philosophical point of view, are interested in ... Read Book
  • The Practice and Science of Drawing Understanding the fundamentals is important for both learning to create and appreciate art. One of these elements is what Harold Speed refers to as “dither,” the latitude that enables realism and the aesthetic vision to compete with one another. This characteristic, which distinguishes ... Read Book
  • The Post Office The story revolves around Amal, a young boy whose incurable illness has forced him to live with his adopted uncle. The drama “continues to hold a distinctive position in [Tagore’s] reputation, both inside Bengal and in the broader world,” according to W. Andrew Robinson and ... Read Book
  • Up from Slavery: An Autobiography Washington chronicles his transformation from slave to instructor in Up from Slavery. He directly attributes his success as a man of action in his community and country to his education in the early sections of the book, which also detail his childhood as a slave and his attempts to get a higher ... Read Book

Choose Language :