Try for free

Lois Leveen

Award-winning author Lois Leveen’s work has appeared in the New York Times, on NPR, and in literary journals and anthologies. A former faculty member at UCLA and Reed College, she lives in Portland, Oregon.
20M+ Downloads
5/5

#1 in Magazines & Newspapers

Speechify is the #1 audio reader in the world. Get through books, docs, articles, PDFs, email – anything

you read – faster.

Sir Richard Branson

Speechify is absolutely brilliant. Growing up with dyslexia this would have made a big difference. I’m so glad to have it today.

Sir Richard Branson

Other Authors You Might Like

Popular Bookshelves

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Premium Audiobooks

  • Bear Says Thanks Karma Wilson’s charming Bear books delight young listeners with their heartwarming characters, clever word play, and gentle humor. Bears Says Thanks finds Bear planning a gigantic feast to say thank you to his many woodland friends. But as they show up, each with a different plate of delicious ... Read Book
  • The System Has Failed Terrell wasn’t raised in the corrupt streets of Detroit. After being abused and left for dead by his violent, psychotic father, he was raised by his aunt and uncle in a loving home in the suburbs. But he never lost touch with his mother, whose selfish scheming sparked the fire that led to that ... Read Book
  • Sarah, Plain and Tall Collection This audio collection, read by Glenn Close, includes the first three books in the classic series: the Newbery Medal-winning Sarah, Plain and Tall; Skylark; and Caleb’s Story. Patricia MacLachlan’s stories about Sarah, Papa, Anna, and the rest of the Witting family gently explore timeless ... Read Book
  • Come, Tell Me How You Live Agatha Christie’s personal memoirs about her travels to Syria and Iraq in the 1930s with her archaeologist husband Max Mallowan, where she worked on the digs and wrote some of her most evocative novels.Think you know Agatha Christie? Think again!To the world she was Agatha Christie, legendary ... Read Book
  • He’s Got the Whole World in His Hands In this Piano by Ear lesson you will learn an Intermediate level arrangement of this gospel standard without any music, print, or video! The lesson begins with a full demonstration of the song and then teaches it in two- to four-measure sections completely “by ear.” Read Book
  • The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book I The first book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place—the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Trenton Lee Stewart—has a brand-new look. Discovered in the forest of Ashton Place, the Incorrigibles are no ordinary ... Read Book
  • Widows-in-Law After the sudden death of her ex-husband, Brian, Lauren helps Brian’s much-younger widow, Jessica, arrange the funeral and settle his affairs. Although they were once adversaries in the battle for Brian’s heart, Lauren agrees to pitch in for the sake of their troubled sixteen-year-old daughter, ... Read Book
  • The Wounded Shadow The final battle over the Darkwater has begun. Will anything be able to stop the evil sweeping across the north? The kings and queens of the northern continent lay siege to the Darkwater Forest, frantic to contain its evil. But rumors of gold and aurium have lured deserters and the reckless into ... Read Book
  • Cancerland A doctor’s riveting story of loss and hope in the world of cancer.What is it like to encounter cancer? How does it feel to face the unknown, to enter a world of hope, loss, and dread?From the diagnosis of his childhood friend’s mother to his poignant memories in the lab, David Scadden’s seen ... Read Book
  • In the Sweet By and By In this lesson you will learn this traditional hymn in two keys with three different left hand accompaniment styles. The style is explained so that you can use the techniques for other songs as well. The song is fully demonstrated and then taught completely “by ear” without music, print, or ... Read Book

More free audiobooks

  • Japanese Fairy Tales A compilation of classic fables and folktales published in 1908. Yei Theodora Ozaki selected and translated twenty-two charming Japanese Fairy Tales, including “My Lord Bag of Rice,” “The Tongue-Cut Sparrow,” “The Story of Urashima Taro, the Fisher Lad,” ... Read Book
  • The Canterville Ghost Ginny Otis, played by Neve Campbell, is a young girl whose family uproots their lives and goes to England, where they take up residence at the creaking old Canterville Hall. She tries to convince her father to send her back to her family, and she becomes even more adamant about this when she sees a ... Read Book
  • The Great God Pan

    Pan, the Great God “Arthur Machen wrote the story. The tale was first published in the journal Whirlwind in 1890, then Machen updated and expanded it for publication in book form (together with another story, “The Inmost Light”) in 1894.

    Read Book
  • Lyrical Ballads, With a Few Other Poems (1798)

    William Wordsworth and Samuel Taylor Coleridge’s collection of poems, Lyrical Ballads, with a Few Other Poems, was originally published in 1798 and is generally regarded as the start of the English Romantic literary movement.

    Read Book
  • The Angel in the House

    The poem “Angel in the House” is written in two sections, although it was published in four separate portions during the course of its lifetime. The initial version was released with.

    Read Book
  • The Danish History, Books I-IX In the early 13th century, Danish writer Saxo Grammaticus provided people with Danish history, telling a glorious past from legendary Danish kings and heroes to the historic present. Its use is limited by its complex Latin style and a wide range of sources gathered from a variety of sources, but it ... Read Book
  • The Monk: A Romance Critics were surprised and angered when The Monk first appeared in 1796. It was unfathomable and unusual for a Member of Parliament to publish a novel including blasphemy, rape, murder, incest, rotting corpses, and devil worship. Despite efforts to suppress the book, people embraced it, and it ... Read Book
  • What Is Man? and Other Essays

    Mark Twain’s 1906 novel “What Is Man?” is a conversation between a young man and an elderly man who has seen too much of the world. It incorporates notions of fate and free choice, as well as psychological egoism.

    Read Book
  • The Confessions of St. Augustine

    In “Confessions,” a religious life is described, together with human prayer and thanksgiving. Augustine invokes God at the start of the piece, asking him to support him as he writes about his own life.

    Read Book
  • Orthodoxy

    G.K. Chesterton’s book Orthodoxy discusses why Christianity has been present for so long and why it is still important in today’s culture. It explains human nature and the advantages of living a virtuous life using common sense and daily observations

    Read Book

Choose Language :