Try for free

Louisa May Alcott

Louisa May Alcott (1832-88) was brought up in Pennsylvania, USA. She turned to writing in order to supplement the family income and had many short stories published in magazines and newspapers. Then, in 1862, during the height of the American Civil War, Louisa went to Georgetown to work as a nurse, but she contracted typhoid. Out of her experiences she wrote Hospital Sketches (1864) which won wide acclaim, followed by an adult novel, Moods.She was reluctant to write a children’s book but then realized that in herself and her three sisters she had the perfect models. The result was Little Women (1868) which became the earliest American children’s novel to become a classic
20M+ Downloads
5/5

#1 in Magazines & Newspapers

Speechify is the #1 audio reader in the world. Get through books, docs, articles, PDFs, email – anything

you read – faster.

Sir Richard Branson

Speechify is absolutely brilliant. Growing up with dyslexia this would have made a big difference. I’m so glad to have it today.

Sir Richard Branson

Other Authors You Might Like

Popular Bookshelves

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Premium Audiobooks

  • The Facemaker “Enthralling. Harrowing. Heartbreaking. And utterly redemptive. Lindsey Fitzharris hit this one out of the park.” —Erik Larson, author of The Splendid and the Vile Lindsey Fitzharris, the award-winning author of The Butchering Art, presents the compelling, true story of a visionary surgeon ... Read Book
  • Richard Wagamese Selected A new curated collection of Richard Wagamese’s short writings Richard Wagamese, one of Canada’s most celebrated Indigenous authors and storytellers, was a writer of breathtaking honesty and inspiration. Always striving to be a better, stronger person, Wagamese shared his journey through ... Read Book
  • Mistress of the Sun Set against the magnificent decadence of the 17th century court of the Sun King, Mistress of the Sun begins when an eccentric young Louise falls in love with a wild white stallion and uses ancient magic to tame him. This one desperate action of her youth shadows her throughout her life, changing it ... Read Book
  • Hex Appeal This spooky season curl with the perfect witchy romcom for fans of Gilmore Girls, Hocus Pocus and Charmed. An absolute must-read if you love Erin Sterling’s The Ex Hex and Lana Harper’s Payback’s a Witch!It’s just a bunch of hocus pocus…Essie Winterscale lives in a huge and ever-changing ... Read Book
  • Amaryllis Amaryllis Price is back and wreaking havoc on the lives of those around her. After witnessing Randall Loomis leave with a new wife and family, she starts a new chapter. She decides to move to Las Vegas to live with her sister, attorney at law Michelle Denise Price. Michelle is engaged to minister ... Read Book
  • Cars 3 (Spanish Edition) La Copa Pistón es la carrera más célebre y Rayo McQueen, su competidor más admirado. Rayo está listo para comenzar otra temporada de carreras, pero hay una tormenta en su camino: ¡Jackson Storm!, un corredor de última generación con cualidades de alta tecnología que lo hacen casi ... Read Book
  • Every Day I Pray “The most powerful spiritual healer, fixer, teacher on the planet.” —Oprah Winfrey From the bestselling author of Until Today! and One Day My Soul Just Opened Up comes a unique invitation to prayer—and her most deeply personal book yet.Over the years, bestselling author Iyanla Vanzant has ... Read Book
  • The Last Protector From the No.1 Sunday Times bestselling author of The Ashes of London comes the next book in the phenomenally successful series following James Marwood and Cat Lovett.A dangerous secret lies beneath Whitehall Palace… Brother against brother. Father against son. Friends turned into enemies. No one ... Read Book
  • Breakthrough Prayer A practical and visionary approach to the principles of prayer that will revolutionize our lives—and enable us to receive all God has for usMany people are missing the great things God wants to do in their lives because they don’t know how to receive answers to their prayers. This revolutionary ... Read Book
  • Desert Cut Arizona is still a wicked frontier.While scouting locations for a film documentary on Arizona’s Apache Wars, private investigator Lena Jones and Oscar-winning director Warren Quinn discover the mutilated body of a young girl. The gruesome manner of the child’s death evokes memories of Lena’s ... Read Book

More free audiobooks

  • The Jew of Malta The governor seizes all of Barabas’ property and chooses to convert his home into a convent. Abigail, his daughter, pretends to convert to Christianity in order to attend the convent. Abigail persuades Dominican friar Jacomo to let her join the convent after lying about converting once ... Read Book
  • Autobiography of a Yogi Autobiography of a Yogi (1946) by Paramahansa Yogananda is one of the most admired and well-respected memoirs in the genre. The book has been translated into more than thirty languages and has never been out of print. It tells the epic life story told with the insight, humor, and wisdom that embody ... Read Book
  • Hedda Gabler The entire play takes place in the Tesman’s living room and in a smaller room to its side. Jürgen Tesman and Hedda Tesman (nee Hedda Gabler) are newlyweds. They have just returned from a six-month honeymoon. Hedda is aristocratic and hard to please. Throughout the play, it becomes apparent ... Read Book
  • On Heroes, Hero-Worship, and the Heroic in History Thomas Carlyle’s On Heroes, Hero-Worship, and the Heroic in History, based on a series of lectures delivered in 1840, examines the creation of heroes and the ways they exercise heroic leadership. Carlyle analyzes the hidden traits that raise persons to cultural significance, from the divine ... Read Book
  • The Mysterious Stranger, and Other Stories

    The four selections in this volume span his entire writing career and are one of his most famous stories. These include: “The Infamous Leaping Frog in Calaveras County”, one of Twain’s most entertaining folk humor, first published in 1865.

    Read Book
  • Arms and the Man

    Set in Bulgaria, the play was set during a short war between Bulgaria and Serbia in the 1880s. It begins with a young romantic Reina Petkov and her mother, Catherine, excitedly discussing the successful assault of a cavalry led by the handsome and heroic Sergius that Reina is engaged in.

    Read Book
  • The Argonautica Scholars chose this work as culturally significant, and it is now part of the knowledge base of civilisation as we know it. This work was copied from the original item and is as accurate as possible to the original. Since a result, the original copyright references, library stamps (as most of these ... Read Book
  • Maggie: A Girl of the Streets At the beginning of the novel, the boy Jimmy is in a street fight with a group of young people from elsewhere in the poor Bowery district of New York City. Jimmy was saved by Pete, a teenager who looks like his casual acquaintance. They meet Jimmy’s casually brutal father and take Jimmy home. ... Read Book
  • Bushido, the Soul of Japan This seminal work was written by a Japanese educator who was curious about the ethos of his people more than a century ago, when Japan was in the process of transforming itself from an isolated feudal society into a modern nation. When combined with the numerous other writings he did in English, ... Read Book
  • Herland

    Harland is the story of the discovery of a land inhabited by women, told by Vandick Jennings. Van embarks on an expedition with his friends Terry Nicholson and Jeff Margrave. During the expedition, the three men hear about this unique country. They go home and get ready to find it.

    Read Book

Choose Language :