Marie Belloc Lowndes

1868 - 1947

20M+ Downloads
5/5

#1 in Magazines & Newspapers

Speechify is the #1 audio reader in the world. Get through books, docs, articles, PDFs, email – anything

you read – faster.

Sir Richard Branson

Speechify is absolutely brilliant. Growing up with dyslexia this would have made a big difference. I’m so glad to have it today.

Sir Richard Branson

Other Authors You Might Like

Popular Bookshelves

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Premium Audiobooks

  • Forest Mage A luminary in SF literature, Robin Hobb continues her marvelous Soldier Son trilogy with part two, Forest Mage. Nevare Burvelle has survived major combat and is making a quick recovery from a disease plaguing his fellows in the King’s army. He also believes he is free from the Speck magic that ... Read Book
  • In the Beginning, Vol. 1 In the Beginning ­is an audio drama series featuring stories from the Holy Bible. Performed in the style of the old time radio plays from yesteryear, each fully dramatized story is professionally performed by some of Hollywood’s best voice talent, including Joe Estevez, Daniel Roebuck, Nancy ... Read Book
  • The Royal Abduls Ramiza Shamoun Koya reveals the devastating cost of anti-Muslim sentiment in The Royal Abduls, her debut novel about an Indian America family.Evolutionary biologist Amina Abdul accepts a post-doc in Washington, DC, choosing her career studying hybrid zones over a faltering West Coast romance. Her ... Read Book
  • The Leper of Saint Giles The nearing December-May marriage between a wealthy merchant and a resigned bride has one of the lepers at Saint Giles nursing bitter plans for revenge. Read Book
  • 84, Charing Cross Road This charming classic love story, first published in 1970, brings together twenty years of correspondence between Helene Hanff, at the time, a freelance writer living in New York City, and a used-book dealer in London at 84, Charing Cross Road. Through the years, though never meeting and separated ... Read Book
  • Weave a Circle Round Discover your inner child once again in this debut fantasy adventure for fans of Madeleine L’Engle, Diana Wynne Jones, and E. L. Konigsburg.Freddy doesn’t want people to think she’s weird. Her family makes that difficult, though: her deaf stepbrother Roland’s a major geek, and her genius ... Read Book
  • Lie Still Nursing the faded scars of a long-held trauma, Emily Page and her husband, awaiting the arrival of their first child, move from New York City to the uber-wealthy Clairmont, Texas. There, Emily is swept into a world of opulent privilege and shifting loyalties. But the secrets she keeps follow her ... Read Book
  • The Moon Over Star Acclaimed author Dianna Hutts Aston delights young readers with books about real-life topics written in language they can understand. In The Moon Over Star, a young girl remembers how in 1969 she watched enthralled as astronauts took the first steps on the moon. She looked into the sky and dreamed ... Read Book
  • Impact In Douglas Preston’s Impact, Wyman Ford is tapped for a secret expedition to Cambodia… to locate the source of strangely beautiful gemstones that do not appear to be of this world.A brilliant meteor lights up the Maine coast… and two young women borrow a boat and set out for a distant island ... Read Book
  • Understanding Autism Autism is one of three diagnoses that the DSM-5 includes in autism spectrum disorder (ASD). While our understanding of this condition has grown exponentially, research has been fraught with controversy. Autism appears to be on the rise, depending on how you define it, and its causes more complex ... Read Book

More free audiobooks

  • The History of Herodotus — Volume 1 Herodotus begins by wanting to record past acts and show how the war between the Greeks and Persians began. He states that some mythical explanations for the origin of the conflict have been given by the Persians and Phoenicians. These reports claim that the conflict began as a result of a series ... Read Book
  • American Notes

    Charles Dickens’ American Notes for General Circulation details his 1842 tour to North America. He functioned as a critical observer of North American society, reporting on their advancement. Four years later, in Pictures from Italy, he wrote like a traveler.

    Read Book
  • Plutarch’s Lives, Volume 1 (of 4) Plutarch’s Lives, published around the start of the second century A.D., is a remarkable social history of the ancient world written by one of history’s greatest biographers and moralists. Plutarch describes the character and personality of his subjects and how they eventually lead to ... Read Book
  • Pygmalion Two old gentlemen meet in the rain one night at Covent Garden. Professor Higgins is a scientist of phonetics, and Colonel Pickering is a linguist of Indian dialects. The first bets the other that he can, with his knowledge of phonetics, convince high London society that, in a matter of months, he ... Read Book
  • Reflections; or Sentences and Moral Maxims François VI, Duke of La Rochefoucauld, French writer (born September 15, 1613, Paris, France—died March 16/17, 1680, Paris). He entered the army at a young age, despite being from a noble family, and was wounded multiple times. He later played a key role in the Fronde, but ultimately regained ... Read Book
  • Anabasis The Anabasis is his account of the march to Persia to aid Cyrus, who solicited Greek assistance to attempt and defeat him. He was expelled from Athens after marching with the Spartans. Sparta granted him land and property at Scillus, where he lived for many years before being forced to relocate to ... Read Book
  • The Critique of Pure Reason The Critique of Pure Reason was a critique of the pretensions of pure theoretical reason to attain metaphysical truths beyond the ken of applied theoretical reason. Its conclusion was that pure theoretical reason must be restrained, because it produces confused arguments when applied outside its ... Read Book
  • The Practice of the Presence of God

    This timeless devotional classic is comprised of the letters and recorded conversations of a modest lay brother who lived in the seventeenth century. He was able to reach a great relationship with God via the most basic of activities, such as praying and reading the Bible.

    Read Book
  • An Ideal Husband It all begins with a large, high-culture party. The wine is flowing, the lights are lovely, and the jewels sparkle. Sir Robert and Lady Gertrude Chiltern, a rising political star couple, welcome the Who’s Who of 1890s London as they mill around dispensing bon mots. Mrs. Cheveley’s ... Read Book
  • The Sorrows of Young Werther Werther is a young, educated, middle-class gentleman setting out to earn a living and make his mark on the world. His family expects him to get a job, and his friend, Wilhelm, networks with his contacts to find opportunities in government service. Werther nurtures a desire to be an artist, a ... Read Book

Choose Language :