Try for free

Mary Stewart

Mary Stewart (1916–2014) was a popular, award-winning author of romantic mystery, suspense, and historical fiction. The author of twenty novels, a volume of poetry, and three books for young readers, she is admired for both her enchanting prose and detailed exotic settings. Eleven of her books reached the New York Times bestsellers list, and two made the #1 New York Times bestseller list. Born in England, she lived for many years in Scotland.
20M+ Downloads
5/5

#1 in Magazines & Newspapers

Speechify is the #1 audio reader in the world. Get through books, docs, articles, PDFs, email – anything

you read – faster.

Sir Richard Branson

Speechify is absolutely brilliant. Growing up with dyslexia this would have made a big difference. I’m so glad to have it today.

Sir Richard Branson

Other Authors You Might Like

Popular Bookshelves

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Premium Audiobooks

  • Botticelli’s Secret A true historical “detective story” full of insight about how we look at art―and the artists and eras that produced it Some five hundred years ago, Sandro Botticelli, a painter of humble origin, created work of unearthly beauty. An intimate associate of Florence’s unofficial rulers, the ... Read Book
  • Los cinco nudos (The Five Knots) Cinco personas. Un ascensor suspendido durante horas. Estan atrapados. No hay espacio suficiente. El calor es sofocante. La ansiedad puede transformarse en panico. Las menores preocupaciones pueden hacerse problemas sin solucion. El pensamiento vaga por los pasillos del recuerdo. A la vez que ... Read Book
  • Powersat Two hundred thousand feet up, things go horribly wrong. An experimental low-orbit spaceplane breaks up on reentry, falling to earth over a trail hundreds of miles long. And in its wake is the beginning of the most important mission in the history of space.America needs energy, and Dan Randolph is ... Read Book
  • Reinhardt’s Garden Dark satire and skewed history converge in this debut novel as Jacov Reinhardt and his scribe cross continents in search of a legendary prophet of melancholic philosophy. Read Book
  • Star Trek 5: the Final Frontier On the planet Nimbus III, a harsh world deep in the neutral zone, the three major powers — Federation, Klingon, and Romulan — attempt a revolutionary cooperative program, jointly developing the planet as an experiment in peace. But that makes Nimbus III an irresistible target for terrorists, ... Read Book
  • Curse of the Night Witch A fast-paced series starter perfect for fans of Aru Shah and the End of Time and filled with adventure, mythology, and an unforgettable trio of friends. On Emblem Island all are born knowing their fate. Their lifelines show the course of their life and an emblem dictates how they will spend ... Read Book
  • The English Girl Daniel Silva delivers another spectacular thriller starring Gabriel Allon, The English Girl. When a beautiful young British woman vanishes on the island of Corsica, a prime minister’s career is threatened with destruction. Allon, the wayward son of Israeli intelligence, is thrust into a game of ... Read Book
  • Round Robin Popular author Jennifer Chiaverini fashions a touching story from her beloved Elm Creek Quilts series. Deciding to surprise master quilter Sylvia Compson, the quilters pass a work-in-progress from one to another. As the ladies add their personal touches, the finished piece forms a mirror of their ... Read Book
  • Where I Found You A touching and emotional novel from the author of Richard and Judy pick YESTERDAY’S SUN.Maggie Carter knows Victoria Park like the back of her hand. She knows which routes around the park are easiest to navigate; she knows what time of year the most beautiful flowers bloom; and she knows which ... Read Book
  • Wicked Fix For ex-Wall Streeter Jacobia “Jake” Tiptree and her teenage son, Sam, September promises tranquil days winter-proofing their rambling handyman’s special of a home in Eastport, Maine. But there’s nothing idyllic about this Down East autumn. For starters, the return of truly vicious native ... Read Book

More free audiobooks

  • The Rape of the Lock, and Other Poems Belinda arises to prepare for the day’s social activities after sleeping late. Her guardian sylph, Ariel, warned her in a dream that some disaster will befall her, and promises to protect her to the best of his abilities. Belinda takes little notice of this oracle, however. After an elaborate ... Read Book
  • An Index of The Divine Comedy by Dante

    The poem is consisted of 14233 lines which rime. It is divided into three parts: Hell, Purgatory and Heaven. Hell has nine circles, Purgatory is divided into nine parts and Heaven into nine skies.

    Read Book
  • The Piazza Tales

    Herman Melville’s The Piazza Tales is a collection of tales. It was released in 1856. Five of the six pieces in the book had previously appeared in Putnam’s Monthly magazine; only the title story, “The Piazza,” was new to the collection.

    Read Book
  • Arms and the Man

    Set in Bulgaria, the play was set during a short war between Bulgaria and Serbia in the 1880s. It begins with a young romantic Reina Petkov and her mother, Catherine, excitedly discussing the successful assault of a cavalry led by the handsome and heroic Sergius that Reina is engaged in.

    Read Book
  • The Danish History, Books I-IX In the early 13th century, Danish writer Saxo Grammaticus provided people with Danish history, telling a glorious past from legendary Danish kings and heroes to the historic present. Its use is limited by its complex Latin style and a wide range of sources gathered from a variety of sources, but it ... Read Book
  • The Sketch-Book of Geoffrey Crayon collection of short stories compiled by Washington Irving and first released in 1819–20 in seven distinct sections. Six of the book’s chapters are dedicated to topics pertaining to the United States, while the majority of the book’s thirty or so pieces focus on Irving’s ... Read Book
  • Phaedrus

    Phaedrus, a young rhetoric student, has just returned from hearing Lysias, a great orator. Lysias contends that having a sexual connection with someone who is not in love with you is preferable than having one with someone who is.

    Read Book
  • Spirits in Bondage: A Cycle of Lyrics So pitifully does man’s lonely soul shudder in the face of this cosmic purpose, so awful is the weight and anguish, The lengthy, material chain weights heavily. From one cause to the next, too brutal for hatred, The ceaseless march of destiny, -from “Dungeon Grates” Because his ... Read Book
  • Sonnets from the Portuguese

    Sonnets from the Portuguese is comprised of forty-four sonnets. Robert Browning used to call his wife “the Portuguese,” which is why she chose this title. She spent much of her life ill and frail, and she never expected to find love.

    Read Book
  • The Secret Sharer In “The Secret Sharer,” a captain encounters a nude guy in the rigging of his ship’s ladder. Leggatt, the guy, reveals that he inadvertently murdered an arrogant fellow crewmember seven weeks earlier. He submerged his garments to give the Sephora crew the impression that he had ... Read Book

Choose Language :