Try for free

Michael Ghiselin

Dr. Michael Ghiselin is an evolutionary biologist, Darwin scholar, and former zoology professor at the University of California, Berkeley. Ghiselin received his doctorate from Stanford University and helped to found the International Society for Bioeconomics. 
20M+ Downloads
5/5

#1 in Magazines & Newspapers

Speechify is the #1 audio reader in the world. Get through books, docs, articles, PDFs, email – anything

you read – faster.

Sir Richard Branson

Speechify is absolutely brilliant. Growing up with dyslexia this would have made a big difference. I’m so glad to have it today.

Sir Richard Branson

All Books By Michael Ghiselin

Other Authors You Might Like

Popular Bookshelves

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Premium Audiobooks

  • How Many Camels Are There in Holland? The charming, funny successor to the hugely popular ‘Notes to my Mother-in-Law’, from the inimitable Phyllida Law.Following Phyllida Law’s wonderful and acclaimed ‘Notes to my Mother-in-Law’ – which comically and tenderly documented the author’s relationship with her husband’s ... Read Book
  • The Write Hook Midlife is full of surprises. Not all of them are working for me. At forty-two I’ve had my share of ups and downs. Relatively normal, except when the definition of normal changes … drastically. New York Times bestselling romance author: CheckAmazing besties: CheckLovely home: CheckPet cat named ... Read Book
  • Just One Night She’s the woman he can’t live without.The one he can’t risk screwing up their relationship by sleeping with her.Linc Kingston doesn’t accept anything less than perfection. Not in his billion-dollar business or in his personal life. He has it all, except one thing: his personal assistant and ... Read Book
  • Restless Souls The gruesome murders of the beautiful and talented actress Sharon Tate, her unborn child and four others that same night at the hands of the notorious “Manson family” rocked the nation. As one of the most horrific crimes in modern history, these atrocities, the trial and the subsequent ... Read Book
  • Relentless Success When pursuing major-league achievements, you are going to face extreme pressure. With a system in place to combat these pressures head-on, success is inevitable.Pave the way to your success through this nine-part system influenced by peak performance coaches for elite athletes. By adopting this ... Read Book
  • The Winner’s Curse Winner of the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences While the rationale behind economics always seems to be at the forefront of political and institutional life, many economic theories in relation to consumer behavior have not been studied in detail. Here, in The Winner’s Curse, Richard ... Read Book
  • Beloved A most unwelcome guest surprises Diana at her engagement party—the husband she thought was dead! Diana Brennan came west on the orphan train and was given a home with a loving couple who cherished and spoiled her. At 17, she fell hard for Tyson Applegate, the son of a wealthy mine owner. After a ... Read Book
  • The Wounded Shadow The final battle over the Darkwater has begun. Will anything be able to stop the evil sweeping across the north? The kings and queens of the northern continent lay siege to the Darkwater Forest, frantic to contain its evil. But rumors of gold and aurium have lured deserters and the reckless into ... Read Book
  • Die, Snow White! Die, Damn You! With the premiere of two new film versions of the Snow White tale, Blackstone enters the fray with its own adult, edgy, and not altogether serious full-cast exposé of fairy-taledom. At last it can be told! Was Snow White really as pure as the driven snow? Did her allegedly wicked stepmother ... Read Book
  • As Good As It Gets? A big-hearted, hilarious book for fans of Gill Sims and Jill Mansell – from the Sunday Times bestseller“Midlife crisis? WHAT midlife crisis?!”Charlotte Bristow is worried about her husband Will. With her 16-year-old daughter Rosie newly signed to a top modelling agency, and Will recently out ... Read Book

More free audiobooks

  • Southern Horrors: Lynch Law in All Its Phases Following the lynchings of three of her friends in Memphis, Tennessee, Ida B. Wells launched a campaign. A lynching is a form of unprosecuted public murder committed by a mob, usually by hanging the victim. Frequently, the person is tortured either before or after being hanged. Black business ... Read Book
  • An Ideal Husband It all begins with a large, high-culture party. The wine is flowing, the lights are lovely, and the jewels sparkle. Sir Robert and Lady Gertrude Chiltern, a rising political star couple, welcome the Who’s Who of 1890s London as they mill around dispensing bon mots. Mrs. Cheveley’s ... Read Book
  • The Pivot of Civilization This contentious treatise, initially published in 1922 by pioneering birth-control advocate Margaret Sanger, tried to spread the still-radical concept of birth control beyond its socialist and feminist origins. Sanger argued that birth control was critical to a rational approach to dealing with the ... Read Book
  • Phaedrus

    Phaedrus, a young rhetoric student, has just returned from hearing Lysias, a great orator. Lysias contends that having a sexual connection with someone who is not in love with you is preferable than having one with someone who is.

    Read Book
  • A Child’s Garden of Verses A Child’s Garden of Verses is a poetry collection for children. Stevenson dedicated the poems to Cummy (Alison Cunningham), his nurse who looked after him throughout his numerous childhood illnesses. Some of Stevenson’s most renowned poems are included in the anthology, including ... Read Book
  • Thus Spake Zarathustra: A Book for All and None The novel opens with Zarathustra descending from his cave in the mountains after ten years of solitude. He is brimming with wisdom and love, and wants to teach humanity about the overman. He arrives in the town of the Motley Cow, and announces that the overman must be the meaning of the earth. ... Read Book
  • The Works of Edgar Allan Poe — Volume 3 Edgar Allan Poe (1809-1849) is regarded as one of America’s best, darkest, and most mysterious authors. The circumstances behind his premature death, as well as what made him tick, remain unclear. Poe is most renowned for his stories of mystery and the macabre, and he was one of the first ... Read Book
  • Essays of Michel de Montaigne — Complete It is therefore not surprising that the point of departure of the Essays is situated in negativity: the negativity of Montaigne’s recognition of the rule of appearances and of the loss of connection with the truth of being. Montaigne saw his age as one of dissimulation, corruption, violence, ... Read Book
  • Thought-Forms

    It was first published in London in 1905. According to Theosophy, thoughts and emotions produce specific patterns of color and shape in the human aura, which are apparent only to those who have a high level of clairvoyance and can see beyond our regular senses.

    Read Book
  • Life on the Mississippi Life in Mississippi is a powerful story of the past, present and future of Mississippi, including cities, people and lifestyles. The story was written by Mark Twain, whose real name is Samuel Langhorn Clemens. Twain explains in the story that he “stolen” his nickname from the captain of ... Read Book

Choose Language :