Try for free

Mindy McGinnis

Mindy McGinnis is the author of Not a Drop to Drink and its companion, In a Handful of Dust, as well as This Darkness Mine, The Female of the Species, Given to the Sea, Heroine, and the Edgar Award–winning novel A Madness So Discreet. A graduate of Otterbein University with a BA in English literature and religion, Mindy lives in Ohio. You can visit her online at www.mindymcginnis.com.
20M+ Downloads
5/5

#1 in Magazines & Newspapers

Speechify is the #1 audio reader in the world. Get through books, docs, articles, PDFs, email – anything

you read – faster.

Sir Richard Branson

Speechify is absolutely brilliant. Growing up with dyslexia this would have made a big difference. I’m so glad to have it today.

Sir Richard Branson

Other Authors You Might Like

Popular Bookshelves

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Premium Audiobooks

  • American Gods [TV Tie-In] Now a STARZ® Original Series produced by FremantleMedia North America starring Ricky Whittle, Ian McShane, Emily Browning, and Pablo Schreiber. Locked behind bars for three years, Shadow did his time, quietly waiting for the day when he could return to Eagle Point, Indiana. A man no longer scared ... Read Book
  • Free Lunch A distinctive new voice: Rex Ogle’s story of starting middle school on the free lunch program is timely, heartbreaking, and true. Free Lunch is the story of Rex Ogle’s first semester in sixth grade. Rex and his baby brother often went hungry, wore secondhand clothes, and were short of school ... Read Book
  • Nouns & Verbs A major new collection from one of our best loved, most celebrated, and most original poets. Deeply personal but also expansive in its imaginative scope, Nouns & Verbs brings together thirty-five years of writing from Campbell McGrath, one of America’s most highly lauded poets. Offering a hint of ... Read Book
  • 24/6 Just as the Hebrews were slaves in Egypt, we have become slaves to technology. Our technological tools allow twenty-four-hour productivity and connectivity, give us more control, and subtly enslave us to busyness itself. The Sabbath is about restraint, about intentionally not doing everything all ... Read Book
  • Homeless Life is definitely not meant to be this hard. His mother tragically dies of cancer, his once perfect world is turned upside down, and the cold-hearted streets of Detroit couldn’t care less. Now Lonnie McKay, homeless and alone, is caught up in the system at the mercy of others. Faced with women ... Read Book
  • Framed in Lace When the historic Hopkins ferry was raised from the bottom of the lake, who would have thought they were literally raising the dead? But there it was—a skeleton—right before their eyes. Unfortunately, the evidence is slim and soggy: the boat sank in 1949, the victim on board was a woman, and ... Read Book
  • Slick 2 Several years have passed, but Sylvia McMillan still can’t run and hide from the truth that continues to tear at her soul. Her love for Jonathan Taylor, her ex-friend’s husband, remains. Jonathan has moved on, though. In less than six months, he plans to watch his new bride cascade down the ... Read Book
  • The Lost Chapter A timeless tale of female friendship and past secrets, set in modern-day small-town England and a 1950s finishing school in France—for readers of Joanna Goodman and Santa Montefiore.England, present day. At eighty years old, Florence Carter is content with her life. A widow in her twilight ... Read Book
  • Barbed Wire Baseball Barbed Wire Baseball tells the awe-inspiring tale of Kenichi “Zeni” Zenimura, who never gave up hope or let go of a dream. As a young boy in Hawaii, Zeni knew that he wanted to be a baseball player, even though most people thought he was too small to play. As he grew older, his parents ... Read Book
  • The Red Diary The Red Diary, an erotic tale from rising romance star Toni Blake, takes readers on a sensual adventure in a story of seductive retribution. Lauren Ash keeps a private journal filled with her deepest, most intimate sexual fantasies… When house painter Nick Armstrong finds it, he plans to use the ... Read Book

More free audiobooks

  • The Adventures of Pinocchio Geppetto, a poor guy, wishes to carve himself a marionette in order to make a living as a puppeteer. He is given a piece of enchanted wood, and the puppet, which he names Pinocchio, begins torturing the old man as soon as Geppetto carves it. Pinocchio flees once its feet are built, and Geppetto is ... Read Book
  • An Enquiry Concerning Human Understanding Hume begins by distinguishing between impressions and ideas. Impressions are sensory impressions, emotions, and other vivid mental phenomena, while ideas are thoughts or beliefs or memories related to these impressions. We build up all our ideas from simple impressions by means of three laws of ... Read Book
  • The Works of Edgar Allan Poe — Volume 4 Edgar Allan Poe (1809-1849) is regarded as one of America’s best, darkest, and most mysterious authors. The circumstances behind his premature death, as well as what made him tick, remain unclear. Poe is most renowned for his stories of mystery and the macabre, and he was one of the first ... Read Book
  • The History of Herodotus — Volume 1 Herodotus begins by wanting to record past acts and show how the war between the Greeks and Persians began. He states that some mythical explanations for the origin of the conflict have been given by the Persians and Phoenicians. These reports claim that the conflict began as a result of a series ... Read Book
  • Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Seas: An Underwater Tour of the World Part I of the novel, consisting of twenty-three chapters, begins in the summer of 1866 when something enormous and mysterious is sighted at various locations on the ocean. This “sea monster” is treated as a tall tale at first, but when shipwrecks start to occur, Admiral Farragut of the U.S. ... Read Book
  • The Sorrows of Young Werther Werther is a young, educated, middle-class gentleman setting out to earn a living and make his mark on the world. His family expects him to get a job, and his friend, Wilhelm, networks with his contacts to find opportunities in government service. Werther nurtures a desire to be an artist, a ... Read Book
  • A Doll’s House : a play It’s Christmas Eve and Nora Helmer has just returned home from a Christmas shopping spree. Her husband Torvald teases her for her largesse, calling her “little squirrel.” The Helmers’ financial situation changed in the past year; Torvald is now up for a promotion, and for this reason, ... Read Book
  • Le Morte d’Arthur: Volume 1 Chap. 1 The narrator starts off in England during the time of King Uther Pendragon. The Duke of Cornwall, with whom Uther has been at war, and his wife Igraine are sent by Uther. Igraine rejects Uther’s advances and informs the Duke of his actions when he proposes to her out of love. They ... Read Book
  • The Life and Adventures of Robinson Crusoe Robinson Crusoe is an Englishman from the town of York in the seventeenth century, the youngest son of a merchant of German origin. Encouraged by his father to study law, Crusoe expresses his wish to go to sea instead. His family is against Crusoe going out to sea, and his father explains that it ... Read Book
  • The Danish History, Books I-IX In the early 13th century, Danish writer Saxo Grammaticus provided people with Danish history, telling a glorious past from legendary Danish kings and heroes to the historic present. Its use is limited by its complex Latin style and a wide range of sources gathered from a variety of sources, but it ... Read Book

Choose Language :