Try for free

Robertson Davies

Robertson Davies (1913–1995) was an internationally acclaimed author, actor, publisher, and, finally, professor at the University of Toronto. The author of twelve novels and several volumes of essays and plays, he was the first Canadian to be inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Letters.
20M+ Downloads
5/5

#1 in Magazines & Newspapers

Speechify is the #1 audio reader in the world. Get through books, docs, articles, PDFs, email – anything

you read – faster.

Sir Richard Branson

Speechify is absolutely brilliant. Growing up with dyslexia this would have made a big difference. I’m so glad to have it today.

Sir Richard Branson

Other Authors You Might Like

Popular Bookshelves

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Premium Audiobooks

  • Among the Remnants When three-year-old Joshua Gortler and his family were forced from their hometown in Poland during World War II, they scrambled for safety across border after border, finding refuge at last in Europe’s Displaced Persons Camps.Undocumented and unschooled, Gortler spent his adolescence learning to ... Read Book
  • A Thousand Steps “this audiobook is an engaging listen driven by the appeal of its young protagonist.” – AudioFile MagazineA Thousand Steps is a gripping thriller, an incisive coming-of-age story, and a vivid portrait of turbulent time and place by three-time Edgar Award winner and New York Times bestselling ... Read Book
  • Cast Your Cares Improve your mental health by discovering God’s promise of comfort for the most common sources of daily anxiety, including loneliness, anger, fear, relationships, and finances. God never meant for us to feel so alone in facing our emotions. Though they often steal our peace and cause us restless ... Read Book
  • Matthew Henson and the Ice Temple of Harlem Matthew Henson and the Ice Temple of Harlem is the first in an exciting new retro, rollicking adventure series. This re-imagined pulp novel follows the Doc Savage–style adventures of the first American to reach the North Pole—Matthew Henson. The tail end of the Roaring Twenties. Harlem. Hired ... Read Book
  • This Country of Ours, Part 4 This series, in seven parts, tells the story of America from the earliest founding through the days of Woodrow Wilson and World War I. In Part 4, you’ll hear stories of the Middle and Southern Colonies. Stories include: The Founding of Maryland How New Amsterdam Became New York How a German Ruled ... Read Book
  • The Desert Rider In Black Rock Desert, when Lee Cone is hired by Braz Boland to “chouse” a herd of horses from Carbide Junction into Maacama Basin through Black Rock Desert, he has no idea that it will reignite the old enmity between himself and Tasker Scott. Cone had left the basin two years earlier, when the ... Read Book
  • Just Jaime Another spot-on story of middle school drama and friendship from Terri Libenson, national bestselling author of Invisible Emmie and Positively Izzy. Friends. Frenemies. Middle school… The last day of seventh grade has Jaime and Maya wondering who their real friends are. Jaime knows something is ... Read Book
  • Finding Noel A heartwarming and inspirational Christmas novel in the tradition of The Christmas Box, Grace, The Gift, and The Christmas List. The New York Times bestselling author of The Christmas Box and The Walk series returns with a holiday novel of hope, love, and redemption.A young woman, who has been ... Read Book
  • Hello Now Jude doesn’t believe in love, or magic. Life is little more than ordinary. That is, until Jude’s mother loses her job and moves them to a little town by the sea to live with Henry Lake—an eccentric old man with rooms to rent. Henry is odd, the town is dull, and worst of all, Jude feels out of ... Read Book

More free audiobooks

  • The Satyricon — Complete Satyricon is spoken by an educated man named Encorpius in the first person. Encorpius travels to different parts of the Mediterranean, adventures and meets different characters. Plots are not always developed linearly or consistently because the text is stored in pieces. The surviving fragments ... Read Book
  • Pygmalion Two old gentlemen meet in the rain one night at Covent Garden. Professor Higgins is a scientist of phonetics, and Colonel Pickering is a linguist of Indian dialects. The first bets the other that he can, with his knowledge of phonetics, convince high London society that, in a matter of months, he ... Read Book
  • Childe Harold’s Pilgrimage Child Harold leads a luxuriant lifestyle as a member of the nobility, but he lacks happiness and fulfillment, so he resolves to travel. The journey should be used as a therapeutic emotional form of pilgrimage. He wants to get away from the stifling walls and rules of civilisation and attempt to ... Read Book
  • Ethics

    Every human activity aims at some end that we consider good. The highest ends are ends in themselves, while subordinate ends may only be means to higher ends. Those highest ends, which we pursue for their own sake, must be the supreme Good.

    Read Book
  • History of Tom Jones, a Foundling

    Tom Jones, much like its predecessor Joseph Andrews, centers on a love story as its primary narrative focus. Squire Allworthy has a sneaking suspicion that the newborn he adopts and gives the name Tom Jones is really the illicit child of Jenny Jones, who works for him.

    Read Book
  • The Ethics of Aristotle

    Every human activity aims at some end that we consider good. The highest ends are ends in themselves, while subordinate ends may only be means to higher ends. Those highest ends, which we pursue for their own sake, must be the supreme Good.

    Read Book
  • Volpone; Or, The Fox Volpone takes place over the course of one day in seventeenth-century Venice. The title character is a Venetian nobleman who is famous for being wealthy and childless, with no natural heirs. Each of the legacy seekers showers him with presents in the hopes that he would make them his successor. ... Read Book
  • Relativity : the Special and General Theory Relativity: The Special and General Theory began as a short paper and was later published as a book by Albert Einstein with the goal of providing “an exact insight into the theory of relativity to those readers who, from a general scientific and philosophical point of view, are interested in ... Read Book
  • A Journey to the Centre of the Earth In Jules Verne’s “Journey to the Center of the Earth,” geology professor Otto Redenbrock and his nephew Axel show that the resting volcano has a secret entrance to a series of caves leading to the underground world. I found and decrypted the document. The center of the earth. ... Read Book
  • Democracy in America — Volume 2 Tocqueville’s project in writing Democracy in America was extremely ambitious. He wanted to study a stable and prosperous democracy to gain insights into how it worked after witnessing failed attempts at democratic government in his native France. His studies had led him to the conclusion ... Read Book

Choose Language :