Try for free

Samuel R. Delany

Samuel R. Delany, winner of multiple Nebula and Hugo awards, is an acclaimed writer of speculative fiction. In 2002, he was inducted by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame. In 2010, he was awarded the third J. Lloyd Eaton Lifetime Achievement Award in Science Fiction from the academic Eaton Science Fiction Conference. The Science Fiction Writers of America named him its thirtieth Grand Master in 2013. For his lifetime contribution to lesbian and gay literature, he was awarded the Bill Whitehead Award.
20M+ Downloads
5/5

#1 in Magazines & Newspapers

Speechify is the #1 audio reader in the world. Get through books, docs, articles, PDFs, email – anything

you read – faster.

Sir Richard Branson

Speechify is absolutely brilliant. Growing up with dyslexia this would have made a big difference. I’m so glad to have it today.

Sir Richard Branson

Other Authors You Might Like

Popular Bookshelves

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Premium Audiobooks

  • Finding Your Treasure Join pastor’s wife, mother of four, and entrepreneur, Angel Williams, on a journey of faith, frugality, and family, as she finds treasure in the most unexpected places.We live in a society where it’s not uncommon to buy something one week and throw it away the next. We constantly throw out ... Read Book
  • The James Miracle, Tenth Anniversary Edition Originally written as a personal Christmas gift for his wife in 2004, The James Miracle isn’t just a novel—it’s a message.Sam and Holly Foster seem to enjoy near-perfect lives. Each claim a successful career and a legacy of goals set and achieved. Held above their possessions and ... Read Book
  • The Swan Maid A gripping and heartwarming novel from the No. 1 Sunday Times bestseller, Dilly Court.Lottie Lane is all alone in the world. As a chambermaid at one of London’s busiest inns, condemned to a life of drudgery and at the mercy of a vicious landlady, Lottie is too worn out to even dream of a better ... Read Book
  • Empress Orchid The critically acclaimed author, Anchee Min, paints a fresh portrait of the last Chinese empress in this brilliantly fictionalized tale set during the waning days of the empire. Seventeen-year-old Orchid belongs to an aristocratic family that has fallen on hard times. Unexpectedly, she is chosen as ... Read Book
  • The Storms of War For fans of Atonement, Birdsong, and Downton Abbey, the first of three novels about a privileged British family enduring the trials of World War I, from New York Times bestselling author Kate WilliamsIn the idyllic early summer of 1914, life is good for the de Witt family. Rudolf and Verena are ... Read Book
  • Definitely Dominguita: All For One When Señor Fuentes asks Dominguita to run a very important errand to put an order in at the local butcher shop for his granddaughter Leni’s upcoming quinceañera—Dom is happy to help. But when Señor Fuentes discovers his order has gone missing and the food for the party has been sold to ... Read Book
  • Better than Sexy Insta-love only happens in the movies.Insta-lust? That she’d buy into.Until she meets take-charge club owner Landon Bennett and falls head over heels at a glance. When hot-as-sin Landon Bennet offers sexy songstress Vivienne Clark a summer residency at his popular Manhattan nightclub, it’s the ... Read Book
  • The Winter Wolf All the danger and excitement of Alaska’s Klondike Gold Rush bursts from the page in this action-packed western. With his masterful storytelling, Richard Parry transports you to frozen boomtowns and the forbidding wilderness of the late 1800s northern frontier to travel alongside notorious ... Read Book
  • Reaper of Souls A prince repelled by magic. A king bent on revenge. A witchdoctor who does not walk alone. Brimming with dark magic, high stakes, and serpentine twists, the second book in Rena Barron’s thrilling YA fantasy saga is perfect for fans of Laini Taylor, Sabaa Tahir, and Tomi Adeyemi. After so many ... Read Book

More free audiobooks

  • Euthyphro Socrates meets Euthyphro outside the Athens court. Meletus summoned Socrates to court on allegations of impiety, while Euthyphro has come to punish his own father for accidently killing a homicidal hired hand. Socrates flatters Euthyphro, implying that if he is prepared to pursue his own father on ... Read Book
  • The Mysterious Stranger, and Other Stories

    The four selections in this volume span his entire writing career and are one of his most famous stories. These include: “The Infamous Leaping Frog in Calaveras County”, one of Twain’s most entertaining folk humor, first published in 1865.

    Read Book
  • The Gilded Age: A Tale of Today

    The Gilded Age, first published in 1873, is a caustic satire as well as a fascinating depiction of post-Civil War America—a corrupt era in which greedy land speculators, cutthroat bankers, and dishonest politicians voraciously exploited the country’s postwar optimism.

    Read Book
  • Lady Audley’s Secret Audley Court in Essex has underground tunnels and a quiet woodland. Lucy Graham becomes Mrs. Dawson’s governess near Audley Court. Sir Michael Audley falls for Lucy and pursues her. George Talboys returns to England to see his son and wife. George feels terrible for his wife a year later. ... Read Book
  • The Blue Fairy Book The Blue Fairy Book is the first volume in the series and is therefore the most from a variety of sources, including not only Grimm, but also the exciting adventures of Charles Perrault and Madame d’Aulova, Arabian Nights, and other stories from popular traditions. Contains some of the famous ... Read Book
  • A Simple Soul A Simple Soul is the ideal Gustave Flaubert short story: a narrative conveyed in minimal, clear language that is rich in detail. Felicite, the outstanding servant of the strict Madame Aubin, is the “soul.” Felicite, orphaned and uneducated, devoted her life to her mistress and ... Read Book
  • The Monk: A Romance Critics were surprised and angered when The Monk first appeared in 1796. It was unfathomable and unusual for a Member of Parliament to publish a novel including blasphemy, rape, murder, incest, rotting corpses, and devil worship. Despite efforts to suppress the book, people embraced it, and it ... Read Book
  • Maggie: A Girl of the Streets At the beginning of the novel, the boy Jimmy is in a street fight with a group of young people from elsewhere in the poor Bowery district of New York City. Jimmy was saved by Pete, a teenager who looks like his casual acquaintance. They meet Jimmy’s casually brutal father and take Jimmy home. ... Read Book
  • American Notes

    Charles Dickens’ American Notes for General Circulation details his 1842 tour to North America. He functioned as a critical observer of North American society, reporting on their advancement. Four years later, in Pictures from Italy, he wrote like a traveler.

    Read Book
  • Antiquities of the Jews Flavius Josephus was born of an aristocratic priestly family in Jerusalem. According to his own account, he was a precocious youth who by the age of 14 was consulted by high priests in matters of Jewish law. At age 16 he undertook a three-year sojourn in the wilderness with the hermit Bannus, a ... Read Book

Choose Language :