John C Spencer

1788 - 1855

20M+ Downloads
5/5

#1 in Magazines & Newspapers

Speechify is the #1 audio reader in the world. Get through books, docs, articles, PDFs, email – anything

you read – faster.

Sir Richard Branson

Speechify is absolutely brilliant. Growing up with dyslexia this would have made a big difference. I’m so glad to have it today.

Sir Richard Branson

Other Authors You Might Like

Popular Bookshelves

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Premium Audiobooks

  • The Revenge of Magic “Perfect for fans of Rick Riordan.” —Booklist When long-dead magical creatures are discovered all around the world, each buried with a book of magic, only children can unlock the dangerous power of the books in this start to an “imaginative and exciting” (Brandon Mull, ... Read Book
  • Mayo Clinic on Hearing and Balance, 3rd edition “No matter what hearing or balance issues you face, this book will give you the tools and strategies to live well.” An estimated 466 million people worldwide have severe hearing loss. By 2050, as the population ages, this number is expected to jump to 900 million—and this doesn’t include ... Read Book
  • Chloe The Women of Ivy Manor series chronicles the personal journeys of four generations of women, set against the sprawling tapestry of the twentieth century.Chloe Lorraine Kimball grows up at the estate of Ivy Manor in the wee hours of the twentieth century. Despite having a home filled with everything ... Read Book
  • Shark Lake A deep-sea thriller from the author of Crash Dive and Tiger ReefIN THE JAWS OF LIFE … AND DEATHDeep-sea diver Ben Gannon owes his life to his friend, Nick, who once saved him from certain death. So when Ben learns that Nick’s being held in an African prison by rebel guerrillas, he vows to ... Read Book
  • Whistling Dick’s Christmas Stocking William Sydney Porter had an unusual personal history. He got a job as a teller and bookkeeper at a Texas bank when he was twenty-nine. He did what could be called some careless bookkeeping, and it appeared he may have embezzled some funds. No charges were made until about four years later when an ... Read Book
  • Monsters The gripping account of a once-in-a-lifetime football team and their lone championship seasonFor Rich Cohen and millions of other fans, the 1985 Chicago Bears were more than a football team: they were the greatest football team ever—a gang of colorful nuts, dancing and pounding their way to ... Read Book
  • Speak of the Devil In this gripping legal thriller by “the female John Grisham” (The Providence Journal), sex-crimes prosecutor Anna Curtis must stop a vicious street gang before it destroys more lives—and her own family.On the very night she gets engaged to the man she loves, Assistant US Attorney ... Read Book
  • Two Years before the Mast Richard Henry Dana referred to this book as “a voice from the sea.” Influencing such authors as Conrad and Melville, it has become a maritime classic that has inflicted legions of men with a passion for the sea.Dana, a law student turned sailor for health reasons, sailed in 1834 on the ... Read Book
  • Copper River William Kent Krueger has won two Anthony Awards for his gripping Cork O’Connor mysteries. Set in remote areas of the northwest, each book in the series launches the Minnesota lawman into challenges that push his endurance to new limits. Part Irish, part Native-American, Sheriff Cork O’Connor ... Read Book

More free audiobooks

  • The Analysis of Mind This work is absolutely necessary for gaining a grasp of Russell’s philosophy. He argues for a new conception of the mind, which is provided by his eclectic fusion of William James’s ‘neutral monism,’ the emerging theory of behaviorism, to which Russell was strongly drawn, ... Read Book
  • Thus Spake Zarathustra: A Book for All and None The novel opens with Zarathustra descending from his cave in the mountains after ten years of solitude. He is brimming with wisdom and love, and wants to teach humanity about the overman. He arrives in the town of the Motley Cow, and announces that the overman must be the meaning of the earth. ... Read Book
  • The Angel in the House

    The poem “Angel in the House” is written in two sections, although it was published in four separate portions during the course of its lifetime. The initial version was released with.

    Read Book
  • Commentary on the Epistle to the Galatians In 1515, Martin Luther was appointed pastor of the Wittenberg church. He took use of the chance to educate his congregation about faith and works. Luther opposed the Pope by claiming that the Bible, not the Pope, was the supreme authority. Luther taught his view that redemption comes from faith ... Read Book
  • Daisy Miller: A Study A few days later, Daisy becomes gravely ill, and she dies soon after. Before dying, she gives her mother a message to pass on to Winterbourne that indicates that she cared what he thought about her after all. At the time, he does not understand it, but a year later, still thinking about Daisy, he ... Read Book
  • The History of Mary Prince, a West Indian Slave Mary Prince, a house slave who was born in Bermuda in 1788, experienced her first of many traumatic events when she was torn from her family at the age of twelve. She was bought and sold numerous times before she was finally let free, where she was subjected to physical and sexual torture by ... Read Book
  • The Sorrows of Young Werther Werther is a young, educated, middle-class gentleman setting out to earn a living and make his mark on the world. His family expects him to get a job, and his friend, Wilhelm, networks with his contacts to find opportunities in government service. Werther nurtures a desire to be an artist, a ... Read Book
  • Lamia Hermes (Mercury), who has fallen deeply in love with a nymph who has disguised herself from him, hears a voice moaning about being imprisoned in the form of a snake. The speaker is a lovely serpent. She informs Hermes that she is aware that he is looking for a nymph and offers to make the nymph, to ... Read Book
  • Fifty Famous Stories Retold No book is better for introducing youngsters aged 6 to 9 to famous historical individuals than this collection of tales repeated beautifully by James Baldwin at the turn of the century. Baldwin chose the finest of our literary legacy and transformed it into a form that would entertain children of ... Read Book
  • Anabasis The Anabasis is his account of the march to Persia to aid Cyrus, who solicited Greek assistance to attempt and defeat him. He was expelled from Athens after marching with the Spartans. Sparta granted him land and property at Scillus, where he lived for many years before being forced to relocate to ... Read Book

Choose Language :