Try for free

Stephen E. Ambrose

Stephen E. Ambrose was a renowned historian and acclaimed author of more than thirty books. Among his New York Times bestsellers are Nothing Like It in the World, Citizen Soldiers, Band of Brothers, D-Day – June 6, 1944, and Undaunted Courage. Dr. Ambrose was a retired Boyd Professor of History at the University of New Orleans and a contributing editor for the Quarterly Journal of Military History.
20M+ Downloads
5/5

#1 in Magazines & Newspapers

Speechify is the #1 audio reader in the world. Get through books, docs, articles, PDFs, email – anything

you read – faster.

Sir Richard Branson

Speechify is absolutely brilliant. Growing up with dyslexia this would have made a big difference. I’m so glad to have it today.

Sir Richard Branson

Other Authors You Might Like

Popular Bookshelves

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Premium Audiobooks

  • The Philosophical Dictionary -A collection of Voltaire’s ideas and thoughts that were too short for pamphlets but worth saving for later development-wise and witty entries on subjects as diverse as atheism and kissing. Read Book
  • Consider the Octopus When chance, or fate, throws two twelve-year-olds together on board a scientific research ship at the edge of the Great Pacific Garbage Patch, it’s not all smooth sailing! Jeremy “JB” Barnes is looking forward to spending the summer before seventh grade hanging on the beach. But his mother, a ... Read Book
  • Stormy Persuasion #1 New York Times bestselling author Johanna Lindsey returns to the dazzlingly passionate world of the Malorys, an aristocratic family of rakehell adventurers and spirited ladies, in a thrilling new tale of unbridled desires.James Malory sets sail for America to honor a promise he made to his ... Read Book
  • Fiona Fiona la hipo relata la vida de la irresistible sensación de Internet, del zoológico de Cincinnati, que atrapó los corazones de todo el mundo con su inspiradora historia y su personalidad intrépida. Con más de 235.000 fans de Facebook y 202.000 seguidores de Instagram, es el hipopótamo más ... Read Book
  • His Other Life The story of a couple with seemingly perfect lives…and the secrets they hide behind closed doors.Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Jo Jo Moyes.On paper, Grace’s new husband Adam is the perfect package. Good looking, great job, charming –some would say out of her league.So when he ... Read Book
  • Taking the Lane This audiozine features authors and others reading some of the most popular essays and stories in the first ten issues of the Taking the Lane zine series. Essays and vignettes range from personal to political, and a number of science fiction stories are included. One woman reads about riding her ... Read Book
  • Summer Warpath The summer warpath began in late spring 1876 and was one laid out under the command of General George Crook, perhaps the most experienced Indian fighter in the United States Army at that time. Among other officers under Crook’s command was the daring and resourceful Lieutenant Colonel George ... Read Book
  • Ace Takes Flight Welcome to 2048. Every graduate of the B.E.S.T. Program can receive a bionic enhancement as a rite of passage in this inclusive tween series. For Ace Wells, it is just the beginning of his epic augmentation journey in book one of this near-future sci-fi trilogy. Eleven-year-old Ace Wells’s ... Read Book
  • Half A War Princess Skara has seen all she loved made blood and ashes. She is left with only words. But the right words can be as deadly as any blade. She must conquer her fears and sharpen her wits to a lethal edge if she is to reclaim her birthright. Only half a war is fought with swords The deep-cunning ... Read Book
  • The Dressmakers of Prospect Heights “A haunting meditation on the bonds between mothers and daughters. Zeldis offers a fascinating look into historic New York City and New Orleans, and her skill as a storyteller is matched by her compassion for her characters. What a beautiful read.”—Fiona Davis, New York Times bestselling ... Read Book

More free audiobooks

  • The Monk: A Romance Critics were surprised and angered when The Monk first appeared in 1796. It was unfathomable and unusual for a Member of Parliament to publish a novel including blasphemy, rape, murder, incest, rotting corpses, and devil worship. Despite efforts to suppress the book, people embraced it, and it ... Read Book
  • The Book of Household Management Mrs. Beeton’s Book of Household Management is a book of insight and common sense that has almost entirely fallen into obscurity despite its status as a foundational text of the identity of the Victorian middle class. The author of the book, who may be compared to a Victorian version of Martha ... Read Book
  • His Last Bow: An Epilogue of Sherlock Holmes

    “His Last Bow” by Arthur Conan Doyle is an espionage thriller, not a detective mystery. The narrative might have been written to bolster public morale during World War I. It is recounted in the third person, rather in the first person like in a Sherlock Holmes tale.

    Read Book
  • Pascal’s Pensées The Pensees (or ‘Thoughts’) is a collection of writings by Blaise Pascal, one of the great philosophers and mathematicians of the seventeenth century. Pascal was an ardent believer in the Christian religion. The Pensees was intended as a defense of Christianity, but Pascal died before ... Read Book
  • Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, Chapters 01 to 05 Huckleberry Finn and Tom Sawyer locate a big sum of money that a group of bandits had stashed as the book The Adventures of Tom Sawyer comes to a close. Each receives $6,000, which Judge Thatcher invests in the bank on their behalf. This is a sizable sum for the boys. Huckleberry is adopted by The ... Read Book
  • Gargantua and Pantagruel François Rabelais’s Gargantua and Pantagruel is a collection of five novels detailing the life and adventures of the giant Pantagruel. The first book describes his education and the second book describes his father’s early life. The remaining three books follow his adventure in ... Read Book
  • The Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam

    Omar Khayyam’s Rubiyat is a poem with deep heavenly and spiritual meaning. This poem’s beauty and simplicity are so perfect that people of all religions, as well as those who have no faith at all, may find heavenly peace in it.

    Read Book
  • An Old Babylonian Version of the Gilgamesh Epic The Epic of Gilgamesh was written in ancient Mesopotamia and is considered to be one of the first known works of literary fiction. It is an epic poem. Scholars believe that it originated as a collection of Sumerian legends and poems about the mythological hero-king Gilgamesh, which were gathered ... Read Book
  • The Conjure Woman Conjure Women is a sprawling novel that vividly depicts the civilization of the South before and after the Civil War. It relates the stories of three unique women: Miss May Belle, a wise healing woman; her clever and observant daughter Rue, who is hesitant to follow in her mother’s footsteps ... Read Book
  • Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Seas: An Underwater Tour of the World Part I of the novel, consisting of twenty-three chapters, begins in the summer of 1866 when something enormous and mysterious is sighted at various locations on the ocean. This “sea monster” is treated as a tall tale at first, but when shipwrecks start to occur, Admiral Farragut of the U.S. ... Read Book

Choose Language :