Try for free

Steven Weinberg

Steven Weinberg received the 1979 Nobel Prize for Physics for his work in unifying two of the fundamental forces of nature, and in 1991 he was awarded the National Medal of Science at the White House. His earlier prize-winning book The First Three Minutes is the classic account of the “Big Bang,” the modern theory of the origin of the universe. Among his other books are The Theory of Subatomic Particles and Gravitation and Cosmology: Principles and Applications of the General Theory of Relativity. Steven Weinberg is a member of the Royal Society of London as well as the US National Academy of Sciences, and has been awarded numerous honorary degrees, most recently from Columbia University and the Universities of Salamanca and Padua.
20M+ Downloads
5/5

#1 in Magazines & Newspapers

Speechify is the #1 audio reader in the world. Get through books, docs, articles, PDFs, email – anything

you read – faster.

Sir Richard Branson

Speechify is absolutely brilliant. Growing up with dyslexia this would have made a big difference. I’m so glad to have it today.

Sir Richard Branson

Other Authors You Might Like

Popular Bookshelves

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Premium Audiobooks

  • The Adderall Diaries In this groundbreaking memoir, Stephen Elliott pursues parallel investigations: a gripping account of a notorious San Francisco murder trial, and an electric exploration of the self. Destined to be a classic, The Adderall Diaries was described by The Washington Post as ” a serious literary work ... Read Book
  • Close Calls An exciting and irreverent look at our commanders in chief Historians tell the stories of tragic and untimely presidential deaths, but often forgotten are the near misses. After a treacherous attack during World War II, JFK and his fellow servicemen spent nearly a week with only coconuts to eat. ... Read Book
  • Decoding Greatness NATIONAL BESTSELLER For readers of Atomic Habits, Deep Work, and Peak comes a game-changing approach to mastering new skills and succeeding faster.For generations, we’ve been taught there are two ways to succeed—either from talent or practice. In Decoding Greatness, award-winning social ... Read Book
  • Gulliver’s Fugitives While searching for the U.S.S. Huxley, missing for more than 10 years, the EnterpriseTM stumbles across a forgotten colony of humans on a planet called Rampart, where fiction and works of the imagination of any kind are considered a heinous crime. A survey team beams aboard the ship to search for ... Read Book
  • Magic Show Magic or miracles? Gilbert Gilbertson, an inept magic clown whose biggest gigs are kids’ birthday parties, suddenly develops skills in sleight-of-hand and stage illusions that confound expert magicians. He also begins affecting people in strange ways, as well as winning staggering amounts of ... Read Book
  • Damn Yankees Everyone has an opinion about the Yankees. More than an opinion in most cases, but an opinion at the very least.—From the Introduction Love them or hate them, the New York Yankees have been an American institution for nearly a century. With their rich history and colorful cast of characters, the ... Read Book
  • Notes from the Upside Down Jump inside the world of Stranger Things and discover everything you need to know about the hit TV show.Grab your Eggo waffles and get ready for a visit to Hawkins, Indiana—just don’t forget the fairy lights! If you devoured Stranger Things on Netflix and you’re looking to fill ... Read Book
  • The Poet X Don’t miss this acclaimed audiobook, read by the author—winner of an Odyssey Honor and an AudioFile Earphones Award winner! The Poet X is also the winner of the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, and the Pura Belpré Award. Fans of Jacqueline ... Read Book
  • Excalibur With Excalibur Bernard Cornwell draws his Arthurian trilogy to an exciting close that will have listners gripping their headphones. If Arthur existed (and I am quite certain he did) then he was probably the great British war leader who won the battle of Mount Badon. No one knows where it was ... Read Book

More free audiobooks

  • Hamlet, Prince of Denmark Elsinore, a Danish town and harbor on the northeastern coast, is the setting for this tragedy’s tale. At midnight, two guards, Francis and Bernard, were changing when the event started. Francisco tells Bernard that his shift ended peacefully and departs, but Horace and Marcel suddenly show ... Read Book
  • Orthodoxy

    G.K. Chesterton’s book Orthodoxy discusses why Christianity has been present for so long and why it is still important in today’s culture. It explains human nature and the advantages of living a virtuous life using common sense and daily observations

    Read Book
  • The Life of the Spider Jean-Henri Fabre has fifty years of meticulous observation under his belt. He reacquaints us with common insects, arousing the reader’s curiosity, awareness, and knowledge. French entomologist Jean Henri Fabre He was an excellent teacher, and his ability to write about insects in a ... Read Book
  • The Communist Manifesto The Communist Manifesto reflects an attempt to explain the goals of Communism, as well as the theory underlying this movement. It argues that class struggles, or the exploitation of one class by another, are the motivating force behind all historical developments. Class relationships are defined by ... Read Book
  • Autobiography of a Yogi Autobiography of a Yogi (1946) by Paramahansa Yogananda is one of the most admired and well-respected memoirs in the genre. The book has been translated into more than thirty languages and has never been out of print. It tells the epic life story told with the insight, humor, and wisdom that embody ... Read Book
  • The Garden Party, and Other Stories The story centres on Laura Sheridan’s response to the accidental death of a neighbourhood workman; Laura suggests that, out of respect for the man’s family, Laura’s family cancel their lavish garden party. Dismissing Laura’s feelings as inappropriate and overwrought, her family proceeds ... Read Book
  • A Simple Soul A Simple Soul is the ideal Gustave Flaubert short story: a narrative conveyed in minimal, clear language that is rich in detail. Felicite, the outstanding servant of the strict Madame Aubin, is the “soul.” Felicite, orphaned and uneducated, devoted her life to her mistress and ... Read Book
  • The Mysteries of Udolpho A young woman from an affluent French family named Emily St. Aubert is the main character in The Mysteries of Udolpho. After Emily’s mother passes away, she and her father set out on a lovely excursion to the Mediterranean shore in an effort to celebrate the grandeur and strength of nature. ... Read Book
  • Gorgias Plato’s conversation The playwright Gorgias discusses rhetoric, or the art of speech. In an argument with the well-known rhetorician Gorgias, his pupil Polus, and the rhetorician Callicles, Socrates makes an effort to defend his view of the proper course of action and to establish philosophy ... Read Book
  • Southern Horrors: Lynch Law in All Its Phases Following the lynchings of three of her friends in Memphis, Tennessee, Ida B. Wells launched a campaign. A lynching is a form of unprosecuted public murder committed by a mob, usually by hanging the victim. Frequently, the person is tortured either before or after being hanged. Black business ... Read Book

Choose Language :