Adlai E Stevenson

1835 - 1914

20M+ Downloads
5/5

#1 in Magazines & Newspapers

Speechify is the #1 audio reader in the world. Get through books, docs, articles, PDFs, email – anything

you read – faster.

Sir Richard Branson

Speechify is absolutely brilliant. Growing up with dyslexia this would have made a big difference. I’m so glad to have it today.

Sir Richard Branson

All Books By Adlai Stevenson

Other Authors You Might Like

Popular Bookshelves

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Premium Audiobooks

  • Coal Black Horse Author Robert Olmstead’s work has been called “brilliant and compelling” by the Chicago Tribune. Here, he takes us back to the Civil War. Robey Child, only 14, must go to the battlefield to bring his injured father home. Clad in a homemade uniform-gray on one side, blue on the other-and ... Read Book
  • The Takeover Thousands of years ago, the world’s population shrunk to a dangerous low …Nobody could say why with total confidence …Until humanity’s greatest enemy resurfaces again to start a deadly colonization.A strange vine is uncovered beneath the remains of a lost civilization. Before anyone can ... Read Book
  • On God In On God, Norman Mailer, a towering figure in American literature, explores his concept of the nature of God. In a series of probing, challenging, and uncommon dialogues, Mailer establishes his own system of belief, one that rejects both organized religion and atheism. He presents a view in which ... Read Book
  • Burnt Island The third instalment in a gripping and atmospheric crime series set on a small island where there is no escape . . . ‘Gripping, clever and impossible to put down' Erin Kelly Intruders here are bound to die . . .   As the sun sets on a cold November evening, the tiny community of ... Read Book
  • Mystique This spectacular romantic novel unveils a tantalizing tale of a legendary knight, a headstrong lady, and a quest for an ancient crystal. To find the mystical Stone of Scarcliffe, Sir Hugh needs the assistance of Lady Alice of Lingwood, a flame-haired beauty with a dazzling intellect. Together, Hugh ... Read Book
  • God’s Pocket A Simon & Schuster audiobook. Simon & Schuster has a great book for every listener. Read Book
  • Firefly: Magnificent Nine The second original novel from the beloved Space Western Firefly, produced with Joss Whedon as consulting editor, set between the TV series and the movie Serenity.A cosmic cry for helpCaptain Mal Reynolds is in a fix. He’d like nothing more than to find honest smuggling work that stays under ... Read Book
  • All My Friends Have Issues Includes an audiobook exclusive bonus chapter on how to gracefully set healthy boundaries in your relationships and leave unhealthy friendships!Why is it so challenging to create and keep meaningful friendships?Amanda Anderson provides the wise and witty answers, giving practical advice and ... Read Book
  • Pillow Talk Perfect for fans of One Day You’ll Thank Me and Capital Gaines, the star of Southern Charm and cofounder and CMO of Sewing Down South reveals how he turned his passion for sewing into a profitable enterprise and a fulfilling life, while also taking us behind-the-scenes of one of Bravo’s ... Read Book

More free audiobooks

  • Herland

    Harland is the story of the discovery of a land inhabited by women, told by Vandick Jennings. Van embarks on an expedition with his friends Terry Nicholson and Jeff Margrave. During the expedition, the three men hear about this unique country. They go home and get ready to find it.

    Read Book
  • What Is Man? and Other Essays

    Mark Twain’s 1906 novel “What Is Man?” is a conversation between a young man and an elderly man who has seen too much of the world. It incorporates notions of fate and free choice, as well as psychological egoism.

    Read Book
  • The Danish History, Books I-IX In the early 13th century, Danish writer Saxo Grammaticus provided people with Danish history, telling a glorious past from legendary Danish kings and heroes to the historic present. Its use is limited by its complex Latin style and a wide range of sources gathered from a variety of sources, but it ... Read Book
  • Biographia Literaria Biographia Literaria by Samuel Taylor Coleridge is one of the world’s most important treatises on the nature of poetry and poets. Coleridge gave philosophy to the Romantic movement in his greatest prose work, Biography Literalia. Combining autobiography, literary criticism, and philosophy, ... Read Book
  • Southern Horrors: Lynch Law in All Its Phases Following the lynchings of three of her friends in Memphis, Tennessee, Ida B. Wells launched a campaign. A lynching is a form of unprosecuted public murder committed by a mob, usually by hanging the victim. Frequently, the person is tortured either before or after being hanged. Black business ... Read Book
  • Emile

    mile is a half-treatise, half-novel about a fictitious character called mile. Rousseau recounts mile’s growth and education, a schooling aimed to instill in him the characteristics of his imagined “natural man,” uncorrupted by contemporary society.

    Read Book
  • Childe Harold’s Pilgrimage Child Harold leads a luxuriant lifestyle as a member of the nobility, but he lacks happiness and fulfillment, so he resolves to travel. The journey should be used as a therapeutic emotional form of pilgrimage. He wants to get away from the stifling walls and rules of civilisation and attempt to ... Read Book
  • The Middle-Class Gentleman

    Two dance and music instructors, together with their pupils, were waiting for the master of the house to emerge. Monsieur Jourdain resolved to become an aristocrat, to emulate aristocratic gentlemen. His madness generated much disruption and excitement in the home

    Read Book
  • The Imaginary Invalid Argan’s previous marriage produced a wife and two children. He believes he is terminally sick and wants to marry a doctor’s son who is studying medicine. Toinette, Angelique’s maid, appears to be on her side in order for her to escape marrying Thomas Diafoirus. Toinette and Berald ... Read Book
  • Life on the Mississippi Life in Mississippi is a powerful story of the past, present and future of Mississippi, including cities, people and lifestyles. The story was written by Mark Twain, whose real name is Samuel Langhorn Clemens. Twain explains in the story that he “stolen” his nickname from the captain of ... Read Book

Choose Language :