John Lort Stokes

1811 - 1885

20M+ Downloads
5/5

#1 in Magazines & Newspapers

Speechify is the #1 audio reader in the world. Get through books, docs, articles, PDFs, email – anything

you read – faster.

Sir Richard Branson

Speechify is absolutely brilliant. Growing up with dyslexia this would have made a big difference. I’m so glad to have it today.

Sir Richard Branson

Other Authors You Might Like

Popular Bookshelves

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Premium Audiobooks

  • Much Ado About Highlanders In the heart of Scotland, this Highlander is about to meet his match in bestseller May McGoldrick’s Much Ado About Highlanders.Highland warrior Alexander Macpherson has lost his wife. When he agreed to take Kenna Mackay as his bride to advance his clan’s power in the north, he expected a bit of ... Read Book
  • New Girl, The chica nueva, La (Spanish edition) # 1 en ventas del New York Times • # 1 en ventas de USA Today • # 1 en ventas de Wall Street JournalAhora la ves a ella. Ahora no la ves. La chica nueva. Un thriller de engaño, traición y venganza.Un aire de misterio envuelve a una de las nuevas alumnas de un exclusivo colegio ... Read Book
  • The Blue Movie Murders Blue film and blood-red murder!All Hollywood producer Ben Sloane had wanted was to find Sol Dahlman, the mysterious film genius who had made The Wild Nymph—and now Sloane is dead. “Go up to Rockview,” the governor tells Mike McCall, “and get me the killer!”But it isn’t quite that easy. ... Read Book
  • Creative Love An essential follow-up to their New York Times bestselling book, A Love Letter Life, Jeremy and Audrey Roloff introduce Creative Love, a timeless relationship audiobook for couples that offers practical advice for creating a fun, fulfilling, and forever love story. You may know the Roloffs from the ... Read Book
  • Pillow Talk Perfect for fans of One Day You’ll Thank Me and Capital Gaines, the star of Southern Charm and cofounder and CMO of Sewing Down South reveals how he turned his passion for sewing into a profitable enterprise and a fulfilling life, while also taking us behind-the-scenes of one of Bravo’s ... Read Book
  • Emotional Detox Now Quick, easy emotional detoxes for whatever life throws at you!Feeling uninspired on a (every?) Monday morning? Cleanse it. Fuming after an argument … two days later? Cleanse it. Exhausted by drama at the office? Cleanse it.Author Sherianna Boyle’s simple cleanse system will help you process ... Read Book
  • A Dirty Year As 1872 opened, the New York Times headlined four stories that symptomized the decay in public morals that the editors so frequently decried: financier Jim Fisk was gunned down in a love triangle; suffragist and free-love advocate Victoria Woodhull was running for president; antivice activist ... Read Book
  • Never Good Enough Do you feel that no matter how hard you try it is never good enough?Do you spend too much time trying to get things exactly right in order to avoid criticism?Does it seem that at any minute people will find out that you are not really what you seem to be?If you answered yes to any of these ... Read Book

More free audiobooks

  • His Last Bow: An Epilogue of Sherlock Holmes

    “His Last Bow” by Arthur Conan Doyle is an espionage thriller, not a detective mystery. The narrative might have been written to bolster public morale during World War I. It is recounted in the third person, rather in the first person like in a Sherlock Holmes tale.

    Read Book
  • London River Pete Grant is a probationary policeman in the London Metropolitan Police Department, striving for a permanent posting. The night before his execution, a violent beheading takes place in front of St. Paul’s Cathedral. He and his colleague Lesley May are assigned to watch the murder site late ... Read Book
  • Pamela, or Virtue Rewarded Samuel Richardson’s “Pamela; or Virtue Rewarded” is an epistolary book of manners. The tale chronicles Pamela’s hardships when her employer, Mr. B, tries to undermine her virtue and even kidnaps her. “Pamela; or, Virtue Rewarded” depicts the difficulty and ... Read Book
  • The Post Office The story revolves around Amal, a young boy whose incurable illness has forced him to live with his adopted uncle. The drama “continues to hold a distinctive position in [Tagore’s] reputation, both inside Bengal and in the broader world,” according to W. Andrew Robinson and ... Read Book
  • Hamlet, Prince of Denmark Elsinore, a Danish town and harbor on the northeastern coast, is the setting for this tragedy’s tale. At midnight, two guards, Francis and Bernard, were changing when the event started. Francisco tells Bernard that his shift ended peacefully and departs, but Horace and Marcel suddenly show ... Read Book
  • The Works of Edgar Allan Poe — Volume 3 Edgar Allan Poe (1809-1849) is regarded as one of America’s best, darkest, and most mysterious authors. The circumstances behind his premature death, as well as what made him tick, remain unclear. Poe is most renowned for his stories of mystery and the macabre, and he was one of the first ... Read Book
  • The Poetics of Aristotle Aristotle’s Poetics seeks to address the different kinds of poetry, the structure of a good poem, and the division of a poem into its component parts. He defines poetry as a ‘medium of imitation’ that seeks to represent or duplicate life through character, emotion, or action. ... Read Book
  • Mrs. Warren’s Profession I takes place in Vivie Warren’s rustic cottage’s garden. Vivie is a skilled mathematician who aspires to live simply. Vivie says she felt bored when she spent time with artists at concerts and museums. Praed meets Frank Gardner at Vivie Warren’s backyard. Frank tells Praed ... Read Book
  • Myths and Legends of China E. T. C. Werner drew on data readily available to him as a member of the Chinese government’s Historiographical Bureau in Peking for this fascinating and extensive collection of Chinese myths and tales. Werner, a former barrister and British consul in Foochow, provides a wealth of material ... Read Book
  • The Works of Edgar Allan Poe — Volume 4 Edgar Allan Poe (1809-1849) is regarded as one of America’s best, darkest, and most mysterious authors. The circumstances behind his premature death, as well as what made him tick, remain unclear. Poe is most renowned for his stories of mystery and the macabre, and he was one of the first ... Read Book

What is Speechify?

Speechify is one of the most popular audio tools in the world. Our Google Chrome extension, web app, iOS app, and Android app help anyone listen to content at any speed they want. You can also listen to content in over 30 different voices or languages.

Begin Reading Audiobooks

Speechify is the #1 Text-to-Speech reading tool in the world thats trusted by 20 million readers. Install it for free on Chrome, iOS, & Android.

Choose Language :