Try for free

Thomas Hardy

Thomas Hardy was born in Dorset in 1840 and became an apprentice architect at the age of sixteen. He spent his twenties in London, where he wrote his first poems. In 1867 Hardy returned to his native Dorset, whose rugged landscape was a great source of inspiration for his writing. Between 1871 and 1897 he wrote fourteen novels, including Tess of the D'Urbervilles and Jude the Obscure. This final work was received savagely; thereafter Hardy turned away from novels and spent the last thirty year of his life focusing on poetry. He died in 1928.
20M+ Downloads
5/5

#1 in Magazines & Newspapers

Speechify is the #1 audio reader in the world. Get through books, docs, articles, PDFs, email – anything

you read – faster.

Sir Richard Branson

Speechify is absolutely brilliant. Growing up with dyslexia this would have made a big difference. I’m so glad to have it today.

Sir Richard Branson

Other Authors You Might Like

Popular Bookshelves

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Premium Audiobooks

  • The Betrayals International Bestseller! “Dizzyingly wonderful . . . a perfectly constructed work of fiction, with audacious twists . . . Collins plays her own game here with perfect skill.” — The Times (UK)  An intricate and utterly spellbinding literary epic brimming with enchantment, mystery, and dark ... Read Book
  • An Hour on Sunday Today’s spiritually searching culture is less inclined than ever to attend church. Yet, no time of the week is filled with more life-changing potential than Sunday morning. Imagine . . . experiences that bring people heart-to-heart with God.messages in which God’s truth connects to everyday ... Read Book
  • Annie and Snowball and the Magical House The author of more than 100 books for young people, Cynthia Rylant has charmed countless readers with her award-winning tales. In this entry from her popular Annie and Snowball series, Annie makes a new friend who likes dainty things as much as she does. When Annie goes to Sarah’s house to play, ... Read Book
  • Razors Herz Ein Alienkrieger wurde geschickt, um Frieden zu schließen, aber alles, was er wirklich will … ist sie. Wir haben Nachrichten ins All geschickt, um herauszufinden, ob dort jemand ist, ob jemand zuhört, und vor sechs Jahren kamen die Trivatoren auf die Erde. Sie wollten die Erde in die Allianz ... Read Book
  • The Irish Boarding House Dublin, 1952. When Mary Kate Ryan receives a surprise inheritance from the woman who abandoned her as a tiny baby, she’s stunned. All her life, she has longed to know why her mother disappeared, and now she’s devastated to realize that every lonely night she spent without a home or family of ... Read Book
  • All of Us and Everything For fans of Eleanor Brown’s The Weird Sisters and Liane Moriarty’s The Husband’s Secret comes a smart, wry, and poignant novel about reconciliation between fathers and daughters, between spouses; the deep ties between sisters; and the kind of forgiveness that can change a person’s life in ... Read Book
  • Blindsided In this edgy, sexy, page-turning follow-up to award-winning, bestselling author Trice Hickman’s The Other Side, three friends who’ve shared everything—including the same birthday—bond over the triumphs, trials, and unexpected complications surrounding the men they love … Formerly single, ... Read Book
  • Sweet Temptation This swoonworthy, romantic companion novel to Wendy Higgins’s New York Times bestselling Sweet Evil series is told from irresistible bad-boy Kaidan’s point of view. Readers will love getting inside Kaidan’s head, especially fans of the Divergent series by Veronica Roth, the Selection series ... Read Book
  • Here’s to Us #1 New York Times bestseller! Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera reunite to continue the story of Arthur and Ben, the boys readers first fell for in the bestselling rom-com What If It’s Us. Ben survived freshman year of college, but he’s feeling more stuck than ever. His classes are a slog, his ... Read Book
  • George Washington, Entrepreneur A business biography of George Washington, focusing on his many innovations and inventions.George Washington: general, statesman…businessman? Most people don’t know that Washington was the country’s first true entrepreneur, responsible for innovations in several industries. In George ... Read Book

More free audiobooks

  • The Blue Fairy Book The Blue Fairy Book is the first volume in the series and is therefore the most from a variety of sources, including not only Grimm, but also the exciting adventures of Charles Perrault and Madame d’Aulova, Arabian Nights, and other stories from popular traditions. Contains some of the famous ... Read Book
  • The Awakening, and Selected Short Stories The Awakening opens on an island in Grand Isle, Louisiana, where 28-year-old Edna Pontellier is vacationing with her Creole husband, Léonce, and their two children, Etienne and Raoul. Léonce works during the week, leaving Edna to look after the children. Edna, however, spends most of her time ... Read Book
  • An Ideal Husband It all begins with a large, high-culture party. The wine is flowing, the lights are lovely, and the jewels sparkle. Sir Robert and Lady Gertrude Chiltern, a rising political star couple, welcome the Who’s Who of 1890s London as they mill around dispensing bon mots. Mrs. Cheveley’s ... Read Book
  • Plays by Anton Chekhov, Second Series Chekhov began writing when he was a teenager, first paying for school to support his family and then reforming the art itself. In 1879 Chekhov was accepted into the Moscow School of Medicine, where he studied and later became a doctor. Selling short stories to fund the medical school, Chekhov has ... Read Book
  • Lady Windermere’s Fan The Duchess of Berwick and her daughter Agatha pay a visit to Lady Windermere to talk about reports concerning her husband’s whereabouts. The Duchess admits that her husband has been seeing and even paying a scandalous lady called Mrs. Erlynne on a regular basis. Lord Darlington mocks his ... Read Book
  • The Ethics of Aristotle

    Every human activity aims at some end that we consider good. The highest ends are ends in themselves, while subordinate ends may only be means to higher ends. Those highest ends, which we pursue for their own sake, must be the supreme Good.

    Read Book
  • Volpone; Or, The Fox Volpone takes place over the course of one day in seventeenth-century Venice. The title character is a Venetian nobleman who is famous for being wealthy and childless, with no natural heirs. Each of the legacy seekers showers him with presents in the hopes that he would make them his successor. ... Read Book
  • Southern Horrors: Lynch Law in All Its Phases Following the lynchings of three of her friends in Memphis, Tennessee, Ida B. Wells launched a campaign. A lynching is a form of unprosecuted public murder committed by a mob, usually by hanging the victim. Frequently, the person is tortured either before or after being hanged. Black business ... Read Book
  • The Rime of the Ancient Mariner

    The poem describes the narrative of an Ancient Mariner who uses his crossbow to kill an albatross. After the bird is killed, a strong gale sweeps the ship farther and deeper into the Pacific Ocean.

    Read Book
  • The History of Don Quixote, Volume 1, Complete Don Quixote is a middle-aged nobleman from the central Spanish area of La Mancha. He chooses to pick up his lance and sword after becoming obsessed with the chivalrous virtues extolled in novels he has read. Following a botched first adventure, he embarks on a second with a bewildered worker called ... Read Book

Choose Language :