Try for free

Victoria Christopher Murray

Victoria Christopher Murray is the author of more than twenty novels including Stand Your Ground, which was named a Library Journal Best Book of the Year. She has won nine African American Literary Awards for Fiction, was named Female Author of the Year, and is a four-time NAACP Image Award Nominee for Outstanding Fiction. Visit her website at VictoriaChristopherMurray.com.
20M+ Downloads
5/5

#1 in Magazines & Newspapers

Speechify is the #1 audio reader in the world. Get through books, docs, articles, PDFs, email – anything

you read – faster.

Sir Richard Branson

Speechify is absolutely brilliant. Growing up with dyslexia this would have made a big difference. I’m so glad to have it today.

Sir Richard Branson

Other Authors You Might Like

Popular Bookshelves

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Premium Audiobooks

  • Winter, White and Wicked Mad Max: Fury Road meets Frozen in this striking YA fantasy about a rig driver’s journey to save her friend. Twice-orphaned Sylvi has chipped out a niche for herself on Layce, an island cursed by eternal winter. Alone in her truck, she takes comfort in two things: the solitude of the roads and ... Read Book
  • 22 Dead Little Bodies (A Logan and Steel short novel) A short novel from the No. 1 Sunday Times bestselling author, featuring DI Logan McRae and DCI Roberta Steel.CID isn’t what it used to be…It’s a been a bad week for acting Detective Inspector Logan McRae. Every time his unit turns up anything interesting, DCI Steel’s Major Investigation ... Read Book
  • Secrets and Dreams The latest novel from bestselling author Jean Ure – perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Cathy CassidyA warm-hearted story of friendship, school life and drama – and the perils of sharing a secret… After all, even best friends don’t tell each other everything… Read Book
  • Itsy Bitsy Christmas New York Times bestselling author Max Lucado brings the Christmas message of Jesus’ birth to young children in this Christmas story of God’s love for everyone, even the littlest of His creation. Itsy Bitsy Christmas is a true nativity story reimagined in a fictional narrative through the eyes ... Read Book
  • Summer on a Sunny Island The #1 bestseller is back with an uplifting, happy read that will raise your spirits and warm your heart!This summer, sparks are flying on the island of Malta…When Rosa Hammond splits up from her partner Marcus, her Mum Dory suggests a summer in Malta. Not one to sit back and watch her daughter ... Read Book
  • I Don’t Care If You Like Me, I Like Me Listen up y’all. Bernie Mac is back, and this here is his page-a-day prescription for a better life and career. You wanna be successful, don’t ya? All you gotta do is read one page a day. So come on, let’s start your edumacation right now. Are y’all ready to get yourself together? It’s ... Read Book
  • Lightlark WELCOME TO THE CENTENNIAL Every hundred years, the island of Lightlark appears for only one hundred days to host a deadly game, where the rulers of six realms fight to break their curses and win unparalleled power. Each ruler has something to hide. Each curse is uniquely wicked. To break ... Read Book
  • Don’t Say I Didn’t Warn You When I first learned that I was pregnant, I thought this was going to be the most blessed, beautiful, rose-petals-at-my-feet-and-bluebirds-lighting-upon-my-forearm time of my life.Then I went for my first prenatal visit.Which starts with a weigh-in.From comedian Anita Renfroe, already beloved by ... Read Book
  • She Has a Broken Thing Where Her Heart Should Be A haunting tale of suspense, rendered with the masterful skill only Barker could muster. After the loss of his parents, young Jack Thatch first met Stella as a child—this cryptic little girl of eight with dark hair and darker eyes, sitting alone on a bench in the cemetery clutching her favorite ... Read Book
  • My Name Is Leon “Taut, emotionally intense, and wholly believable, this beautiful and uplifting debut” (Kirkus Reviews) about a young black boy’s quest to reunite with his beloved white half-brother after they are separated in foster care is a sparkling novel perfect for fans of The Language of ... Read Book

More free audiobooks

  • The Rape of the Lock, and Other Poems Belinda arises to prepare for the day’s social activities after sleeping late. Her guardian sylph, Ariel, warned her in a dream that some disaster will befall her, and promises to protect her to the best of his abilities. Belinda takes little notice of this oracle, however. After an elaborate ... Read Book
  • Orthodoxy

    G.K. Chesterton’s book Orthodoxy discusses why Christianity has been present for so long and why it is still important in today’s culture. It explains human nature and the advantages of living a virtuous life using common sense and daily observations

    Read Book
  • The Works of Edgar Allan Poe — Volume 4 Edgar Allan Poe (1809-1849) is regarded as one of America’s best, darkest, and most mysterious authors. The circumstances behind his premature death, as well as what made him tick, remain unclear. Poe is most renowned for his stories of mystery and the macabre, and he was one of the first ... Read Book
  • The Sorrows of Young Werther Werther is a young, educated, middle-class gentleman setting out to earn a living and make his mark on the world. His family expects him to get a job, and his friend, Wilhelm, networks with his contacts to find opportunities in government service. Werther nurtures a desire to be an artist, a ... Read Book
  • Democracy in America — Volume 1 Chapter 1: Physical Configuration of North America Tocqueville begins within almost poetic description of the geographical layout of North America. There are two regions, bordered on the north by the pole and on the south by the equator, and separated in the middle by the Great Lakes. The region ... Read Book
  • Arsene Lupin

    The swashbuckling exploits of a dapper scoundrel—a French version of Thomas Crown Arsene Lupin is a clever confidence man and thief who was created by Maurice LeBlanc in the early 20th century. He is sometimes referred to as the “Sherlock Holmes” of the criminal world.

    Read Book
  • The Influence of Sea Power Upon History, 1660-1783 This classic treatise on the history and tactics of naval warfare, first published almost a century ago, had a tremendous impact on the imperial policies of all major countries. This book is reported to have been “devoured” by Kaiser Wilhelm, and it was read by presidents (including ... Read Book
  • Phaedo

    In Plato’s Republic, Echecrates meets Phaedo of Elis, one of the men present during Socrates’ final hours. The philosopher argues that there is a perpetual cycle of life and death, so that when we die we come back to life after a period of time.

    Read Book
  • Reflections; or Sentences and Moral Maxims François VI, Duke of La Rochefoucauld, French writer (born September 15, 1613, Paris, France—died March 16/17, 1680, Paris). He entered the army at a young age, despite being from a noble family, and was wounded multiple times. He later played a key role in the Fronde, but ultimately regained ... Read Book
  • A Journey to the Centre of the Earth In Jules Verne’s “Journey to the Center of the Earth,” geology professor Otto Redenbrock and his nephew Axel show that the resting volcano has a secret entrance to a series of caves leading to the underground world. I found and decrypted the document. The center of the earth. ... Read Book

Choose Language :