Try for free

Walter Dean Myers

Walter Dean Myers was the New York Times bestselling author of Monster, the winner of the first Michael L. Printz Award; a former National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature; and an inaugural NYC Literary Honoree. Myers received every single major award in the field of children’s literature. He was the author of two Newbery Honor Books and six Coretta Scott King Awardees. He was the recipient of the Margaret A. Edwards Award for lifetime achievement in writing for young adults, a three-time National Book Award Finalist, as well as the first-ever recipient of the Coretta Scott King-Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement.
20M+ Downloads
5/5

#1 in Magazines & Newspapers

Speechify is the #1 audio reader in the world. Get through books, docs, articles, PDFs, email – anything

you read – faster.

Sir Richard Branson

Speechify is absolutely brilliant. Growing up with dyslexia this would have made a big difference. I’m so glad to have it today.

Sir Richard Branson

Other Authors You Might Like

Popular Bookshelves

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Premium Audiobooks

  • The Lion The new novel in master storyteller Conn Iggulden’s bestselling series tells the story of Pericles amid the battlefields of the Peloponnesian War. After the gods, after the myths and the legends, came the world of men—and in the front rank stood Pericles. Enter Pericles—the Lion of Athens. ... Read Book
  • Hidden Moon In A Corpse in the Koryo, James Church introduced readers to one of the most unique detectives to appear in print in years—the elusive Inspector O. The stunning mystery was named one of the best mystery/thrillers of 2006 by the Chicago Tribune for its beautifully spare prose and layered ... Read Book
  • Lord John and the Hand of Devils Diana Gabaldon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the celebrated Outlander series, delivers three mesmerizing tales of war, intrigue, and espionage that feature one of her most popular characters: Lord John Grey. In Lord John and the Hellfire Club, Lord John glimpses a stranger in the doorway ... Read Book
  • It’s All Relative #1 New York Times bestselling author A.J. Jacobs undergoes a hilarious, poignant quest to understand what constitutes family—where it begins and how far it goes—in It’s All Relative, a “thought-provoking…delightful, easy-to-read, informative book” (Kirkus ... Read Book
  • Seven Wonders Book 1: The Colossus Rises New York Times Bestselling Series! “A high-octane mix of modern adventure and ancient secrets. The Colossus Rises is Lerangis’s most gripping work yet. Young readers will love this story. I can’t wait to see what’s next in the Seven Wonders series!” —Rick Riordan, author of the Percy ... Read Book
  • Book of Knowing and The Book of Overthinking A collection of the works of Dr. Know that provides a little guide to your big feelings.Clinical psychologist Dr. Gwendoline Smith (AKA Dr. Know) provides an informative and accessible guide to understand and manage your feelings. The Book of Knowing contextualizes the basics of cognitive ... Read Book
  • Mockingbird In Mockingbird-a poignant gem by acclaimed author Kathryn Erskine-a talented young artist struggles to overcome a disability. Diagnosed with Asperger’s syndrome, 10-year-old Caitlin faces a range of social and emotional challenges. The unexpected death of her caring brother makes matters even ... Read Book
  • Trailing West No one tells tales of the frontier better than Louis L’Amour, who portrays the human side of westward expansion—the good and the bad—before the days of law and order. Collected here are six stories penned by America’s favorite Western author.“Trap of Gold”Wetherton has been three months ... Read Book
  • The Thirteen Curses The second instalment in the award-winning, fairy-filled Thirteen Treasures trilogy from Michelle Harrison, the bestselling author of the Pinch of Magic Adventures. Full of magic, intrigue and pure adventure, this is the perfect series for fans of Katherine Rundell and Sophie ... Read Book
  • Working Backwards This program includes a preface read by the authors. Working Backwards is an insider’s breakdown of Amazon’s approach to culture, leadership, and best practices from two long-time, top-level Amazon executives. Colin started at Amazon in 1998; Bill joined in 1999. In Working Backwards, these two ... Read Book

More free audiobooks

  • The Argonautica Scholars chose this work as culturally significant, and it is now part of the knowledge base of civilisation as we know it. This work was copied from the original item and is as accurate as possible to the original. Since a result, the original copyright references, library stamps (as most of these ... Read Book
  • The History of Rome, Books 01 to 08 Livy’s “The History of Rome,” an epic effort by a man sincerely enamored of his beloved Rome, was initially written in 142 books spanning the entire history of the Roman people up to Livy’s day in the reign of Augustus in the first century BC. While this huge endeavor ... Read Book
  • Democracy in America — Volume 1 Chapter 1: Physical Configuration of North America Tocqueville begins within almost poetic description of the geographical layout of North America. There are two regions, bordered on the north by the pole and on the south by the equator, and separated in the middle by the Great Lakes. The region ... Read Book
  • The School for Scandal

    Lady Sneerwell’s scheme to prevent Charles Surface, whom she loves, from marrying the heiress Maria kicks off The School for Scandal. The next scene introduces Sir Peter Teazle and his confidante Mr. Rowley, who believes Charles is a wild child who would grow up to be a decent man.

    Read Book
  • The Communist Manifesto The Communist Manifesto reflects an attempt to explain the goals of Communism, as well as the theory underlying this movement. It argues that class struggles, or the exploitation of one class by another, are the motivating force behind all historical developments. Class relationships are defined by ... Read Book
  • Fundamental Principles of the Metaphysic of Morals Immanuel Kant’s timeless explanation of moral philosophy can be found in “Fundamental Principles of the Metaphysics of Morals.” In this essay, Kant lays out a framework for identifying what is and isn’t moral. Intriguing and illustrative of Kant’s skill in ... Read Book
  • Biographia Literaria Biographia Literaria by Samuel Taylor Coleridge is one of the world’s most important treatises on the nature of poetry and poets. Coleridge gave philosophy to the Romantic movement in his greatest prose work, Biography Literalia. Combining autobiography, literary criticism, and philosophy, ... Read Book
  • The Sketch-Book of Geoffrey Crayon collection of short stories compiled by Washington Irving and first released in 1819–20 in seven distinct sections. Six of the book’s chapters are dedicated to topics pertaining to the United States, while the majority of the book’s thirty or so pieces focus on Irving’s ... Read Book
  • Antiquities of the Jews Flavius Josephus was born of an aristocratic priestly family in Jerusalem. According to his own account, he was a precocious youth who by the age of 14 was consulted by high priests in matters of Jewish law. At age 16 he undertook a three-year sojourn in the wilderness with the hermit Bannus, a ... Read Book
  • American Notes

    Charles Dickens’ American Notes for General Circulation details his 1842 tour to North America. He functioned as a critical observer of North American society, reporting on their advancement. Four years later, in Pictures from Italy, he wrote like a traveler.

    Read Book

Choose Language :