Try for free
9781481544672
Try for $0.00

Black Mask Audio Magazine, Vol. 1 Audiobook

Regular Price: 11.95 USD

Play Sample
9781481544672
Play Sample

Black Mask Audio Magazine, Vol. 1 Audiobook

Regular Price: 11.95 USD
Try for $0.00
Try for $0.00
  • One credit a month
    Good for any title to download and keep
  • Listen at up to 4.5x speed
    Get through more content at up to 4.5x speed
  • Fall asleep to your favorite books
    Set a sleep timer while you listen
  • Unlimited listening to our Classics.
    Listen thousands of classics for no extra cost. Ever.
  • Immersive Reading
    Read & listen at same time to a growing catalog.

Other top audiobooks

Never Split the Difference

Black Mask Audio Magazine, Vol. 1 Audiobook Summary

Tough gumshoes, rotten yeggs, and dangerous dames

In the 1930s and ’40s, Black Mask was the single most important magazine for the modern mystery field. In its pages writers such as Dashiell Hammett, Raymond Chandler, and Earl Stanley Gardner reshaped the established view of mystery fiction, creating the “hard-boiled” private eye. Now comes this series in which the toughest of tough detectives are resurrected from its pages in sonic dramatization from the award-winning Hollywood Theater of the Ear.

Stories included in this volume are “Lost and Found” by Hugh B. Cave, “Pigeon Blood” by Paul Cain, “Rough Justice” by Frederick Nebel, “Black” by Paul Cain, “The Missing Mr. Lee” by Hugh B. Cave, “Taking His Time” by Rueben J. Shay, “Trouble Chaser” by Paul Cain, “Waiting for Rusty” by William Cole, and “Too Many Have Lived” by Dashiell Hammett.

”Lost and Found” Did a spoiled rich girl die in a plane crash, or is she hiding with her homicidal lover in the Florida Keys? Whose body is that in the wreckage? Who put it there?

”Black” A big-city tough guy comes to a small Minnesota town to settle a deadly fight between the local crime boss and his chief rival—his son.

”Pigeon Blood” A society matron’s life is threatened after she engineers the theft of her own priceless jewelry to pay off a gambling debt. Only a debonair connoisseur of crime can save her and recover her gems—for a price.

”Taking His Time” In this comic vignette, a carnival barker’s valuable watch gets stolen during an illegal poker game. The local sheriff seems in no hurry to apprehend the thief, until a reward is offered.

”Rough Justice” Mississippi heat—A Manhattan gumshoe pursues a convict to St. Louis, where he gets mixed up in a cop killing and nearly loses his own life at the hands of a “B” girl.

”Trouble Chaser” A starlet’s plot to blackmail a film-studio executive results in her murder. Only the “trouble chaser” can clear her volatile lover and solve the crime.

”The Missing Mr. Lee” An eccentric boarding-house denizen winds up dead; his presumed killer, a fellow boarder, has vanished. The baffling case unfolds through the testimony of witnesses, who are themselves suspects.

”Waiting for Rusty”This account of a fugitive gun moll masterfully compresses the essence of “noir” fiction into three incredibly tense pages.

”Too Many Have Lived”One of only three Sam Spade short stories, this one involves a blackmailing poet, a seductive chanteuse, her rough-hewn stage-door-johnny, and, of course, murder. Recorded before a live audience in New York.

Black Mask Audio Magazine, Vol. 1 Audiobook Narrator

a full cast is the narrator of Black Mask Audio Magazine, Vol. 1 audiobook that was written by various authors

About the Author(s) of Black Mask Audio Magazine, Vol. 1

various authors is the author of Black Mask Audio Magazine, Vol. 1

Black Mask Audio Magazine, Vol. 1 Full Details

Narratora full cast
Length5 hours and 4 minutes
Authorvarious authors
PublisherBlackstone Publishing
Release dateJuly 01, 2008
ISBN9781481544672

Additional info

The imprint is Blackstone Publishing. It is supplied by Blackstone Publishing. The ISBN-10 is 1481544675. The ISBN-13 is 9781481544672.

Global Availability

This book is only available in the United States.

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Related audiobooks

  • Singer Distance Ethan Chatagnier For fans of Station Eleven and Light from Other Stars, Ethan Chatagnier’s propulsive, genre-bending debut novel asks: What happens when we discover intelligent life just next door? And what does it really mean to know we’re not alone in the universe? The odds of the planet next door hosting intelligent life are―that’s not luck. That’s a miracle. It means something. In December 1960, ... Read more about Singer Distance
  • With the Devil’s Help Neal Wooten In the tradition of The Glass Castle, Educated, and Heartland, Neal Wooten traces five decades of his dirt-poor, Alabama mountain family as the years and secrets coalesce. Neal Wooten grew up in a tiny community atop Sand Mountain, Alabama, where everyone was white and everyone was poor. Prohibition was still embraced. If you wanted alcohol, you had to drive to Georgia or ask the bootlegger ... Read more about With the Devil’s Help
  • The Detective’s Daughter Erica Spindler From Erica Spindler, the New York Times bestselling author of The Other Girl and The Look-Alike, comes The Detective’s Daughter, a thrilling crime drama about a woman who risks everything to solve the cold case that destroyed her father—but will it destroy her as well? New Orleans Detective Quinn Conners is haunted by her father’s whiskey-soaked last words—that he solved the Hudson murder ... Read more about The Detective’s Daughter
  • Tearing Us Apart Ryan T. Anderson The political philosopher Ryan T. Anderson, bestselling author of When Harry Became Sally: Responding to the Transgender Moment, teams up with the pro-life journalist Alexandra DeSanctis to expose the catastrophic failure—social, political, legal, and personal—of legalized abortion. Hope in the Ruins of Roe With the Supreme Court poised to return abortion law to the democratic process, a ... Read more about Tearing Us Apart
  • Better Than We Found It Frederick Joseph From the New York Times best-selling author of The Black Friend and a seasoned activist comes an indispensable guide to social and political progressivism for young people and anyone wanting to get more involved. Every generation inherits the problems created by the ones before them, but no generation will inherit as many problems—as many crises—as the current generation of young people. From ... Read more about Better Than We Found It

Scan the QR code to continue on your phone

Choose Language :