Try for free
9781799930167
Try for $0.00

Bombarded Audiobook

Regular Price: 29.95 USD

Play Sample
9781799930167
Play Sample

Bombarded Audiobook

Regular Price: 29.95 USD
Try for $0.00
Try for $0.00
  • One credit a month
    Good for any title to download and keep
  • Listen at up to 4.5x speed
    Get through more content at up to 4.5x speed
  • Fall asleep to your favorite books
    Set a sleep timer while you listen
  • Unlimited listening to our Classics.
    Listen thousands of classics for no extra cost. Ever.
  • Immersive Reading
    Read & listen at same time to a growing catalog.

Other top audiobooks

Never Split the Difference

Bombarded Audiobook Summary

A powerful assessment of how online information became unreliable—and what can be done about it. – Kirkus Reviews

Imagine an imminent America where citizens are bombarded with personalized political messages from every smart device – yet information is so suspect, nobody can tell what the truth is. It means oceans of disinformation engineered to sow false beliefs or simply disorient.

The coronavirus pandemic provided a foretaste of an infuriating, dystopian future. From the start Americans fought over the most basic facts of the crisis, from death tolls to quack cures to the wisdom of stay-at-home orders. The splintered digital infosphere bred confusion and delusion, some of it fatal. Now think of our campaigns and elections. The digital information age means more than hyper-targeted, just-for-you messages from insurance companies and presidential candidates alike.

“Trying to shield yourself from disinformation and deep fakes? Cyrus Krohn offers a ‘five-step program’ to fight back. This book rings true.” —Jill Dougherty, Former CNN Moscow Bureau Chief

Big Data is on the way to fueling information environments so fine-tuned, no two of us hold the same view of reality, and no two voters hear the same pitch. Already, citizens don’t know who to trust or what to believe – about COVID-19 or anything else. If we ask nothing more of tech providers or digital citizens, the fog will continue to thicken. Irritation will merge into despair and then numbness… and democracy teeters.

Digital pioneer Cyrus Krohn knows the territory, and in Bombarded: How to Fight Back Against the Online Assault on Democracy, Krohn locates the roots of our blooming political chaos in the earliest days of the World Wide Web. But he goes beyond recounting 25 years of destabilizing Internet shock waves and his own role in building digital culture. Krohn rolls out a provocative action plan for rescuing the American system of campaigns and elections while there is still time.

Bombarded Audiobook Narrator

Cyrus Krohn is the narrator of Bombarded audiobook that was written by Cyrus Krohn

About the Author(s) of Bombarded

Cyrus Krohn is the author of Bombarded

Since the dawn of the digital era Cyrus Krohn has been recognized as a front-line digital innovator — a publisher, political strategist, entrepreneur, and commentator focused on the fate of our fragile American democracy amid unprecedented technological upheaval.From his early days launching Slate.com, where he helped frame the digital information culture in ways that still reverberate today, to his current role advising Democracy Live, the largest US provider of cloud and tablet-based voting technologies, Krohn has labored to make our exploding tech toolset propel better outcomes for society. Business Insider named Krohn one of the Top 50 US digital political strategists, and he has advised organizations internationally including in Costa Rica, France, and Malaysia.Krohn launched his career at the first Bush White House in the office of Vice President Dan Quayle. He worked in the CNN Washington bureau helping produce live television programs including Larry King Live and Crossfire. He led digital political projects for Microsoft and Yahoo and managed digital campaigns at federal, state and local levels, including during the 2008 presidential election between John McCain and Barack Obama.Krohn edited The Slate Diaries, published by PublicAffairs Books, with best-selling authors Michael Kinsley and Jodi Kantor.Krohn has lectured on the Internet’s impact on democratic systems at the Personal Democracy Forum, Georgetown University, The Aspen Institute, Harvard, and MIT. He served on the Board of Advisors of the George Washington University Institute for Politics, Democracy and the Internet and the E-Voter Institute. Krohn graduated from the University of Lynchburg.

Bombarded Full Details

NarratorCyrus Krohn
Length7 hours 45 minutes
AuthorCyrus Krohn
PublisherBlackstone Publishing
Release dateJanuary 31, 2023
ISBN9781799930167

Subjects

According to Blackstone Publishing, the Publisher of Bombarded Audiobook, Bombarded includes the following subjects: The BISAC Subject Code is Political Science, Political Ideologies, Democracy

Additional info

The imprint is Made for Success. It is supplied by Blackstone Publishing. The ISBN-13 is 9781799930167.

Global Availability

This book is only available in the United States.

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Related audiobooks

  • Singer Distance Ethan Chatagnier For fans of Station Eleven and Light from Other Stars, Ethan Chatagnier’s propulsive, genre-bending debut novel asks: What happens when we discover intelligent life just next door? And what does it really mean to know we’re not alone in the universe? The odds of the planet next door hosting intelligent life are―that’s not luck. That’s a miracle. It means something. In December 1960, ... Read more about Singer Distance
  • With the Devil’s Help Neal Wooten In the tradition of The Glass Castle, Educated, and Heartland, Neal Wooten traces five decades of his dirt-poor, Alabama mountain family as the years and secrets coalesce. Neal Wooten grew up in a tiny community atop Sand Mountain, Alabama, where everyone was white and everyone was poor. Prohibition was still embraced. If you wanted alcohol, you had to drive to Georgia or ask the bootlegger ... Read more about With the Devil’s Help
  • The Detective’s Daughter Erica Spindler From Erica Spindler, the New York Times bestselling author of The Other Girl and The Look-Alike, comes The Detective’s Daughter, a thrilling crime drama about a woman who risks everything to solve the cold case that destroyed her father—but will it destroy her as well? New Orleans Detective Quinn Conners is haunted by her father’s whiskey-soaked last words—that he solved the Hudson murder ... Read more about The Detective’s Daughter
  • Tearing Us Apart Ryan T. Anderson The political philosopher Ryan T. Anderson, bestselling author of When Harry Became Sally: Responding to the Transgender Moment, teams up with the pro-life journalist Alexandra DeSanctis to expose the catastrophic failure—social, political, legal, and personal—of legalized abortion. Hope in the Ruins of Roe With the Supreme Court poised to return abortion law to the democratic process, a ... Read more about Tearing Us Apart
  • Better Than We Found It Frederick Joseph From the New York Times best-selling author of The Black Friend and a seasoned activist comes an indispensable guide to social and political progressivism for young people and anyone wanting to get more involved. Every generation inherits the problems created by the ones before them, but no generation will inherit as many problems—as many crises—as the current generation of young people. From ... Read more about Better Than We Found It

Scan the QR code to continue on your phone

Choose Language :