Try for free
9781482994025
Try for $0.00

Boston Blackie, Vol. 1 Audiobook

Regular Price: 16.95 USD

Play Sample
9781482994025
Play Sample

Boston Blackie, Vol. 1 Audiobook

Regular Price: 16.95 USD
Try for $0.00
Try for $0.00
  • One credit a month
    Good for any title to download and keep
  • Listen at up to 4.5x speed
    Get through more content at up to 4.5x speed
  • Fall asleep to your favorite books
    Set a sleep timer while you listen
  • Unlimited listening to our Classics.
    Listen thousands of classics for no extra cost. Ever.
  • Immersive Reading
    Read & listen at same time to a growing catalog.

Other top audiobooks

Never Split the Difference

Boston Blackie, Vol. 1 Audiobook Summary

Created by author Jack Boyle, Boston Blackie was a master safecracker and hardened criminal who served time in a California prison. Rehabilitated, he decided to use his knowledge of the underworld to fight crime as an amateur detective. Known as “an enemy to those who make him an enemy, friend to those who have no friend,” Boston Blackie’s exploits were adapted to film, radio, and television. Chester Morris, who had played Boston Blackie in a series of B movies for Columbia, originated the character on radio in 1944. By 1945 Richard Kollmar had taken over the title role in a radio series syndicated by Frederic W. Ziv. Over two hundred radio episodes were produced between 1944 and 1950. While investigating the cases, Blackie would invariably encounter harebrained Police Inspector Faraday (Maurice Tarplin) and always solve the crime before Faraday could. The initial friction between Blackie and Faraday gave way as the series continued and Faraday came to recognize Blackie’s talents, occasionally even requesting his assistance. Blackie dated Mary Wesley (Jan Miner), and for the first half of the series, his best pal Shorty (Tony Barrett) was on hand. Boston Blackie transitioned to television in 1951.

Episodes include “The Brandon Murder,” “The Condon Ransom,” “The Baseball Player Murder,” “The Stolen Car Ring,” “The Frances Fielding Murder,” “The Winthrope Jewelry Company Thefts,” “The Paul Blaine Murder,” “Mike Harlan Escapes from Prison,” “The Old Man Graham Murder,” “The Case of the Disappearing Plane,” “The Masked Gang Protection Racket,” and “Mary Steals a Stolen Diamond Necklace.”

Boston Blackie, Vol. 1 Audiobook Narrator

Richard Kollmar is the narrator of Boston Blackie, Vol. 1 audiobook that was written by Hollywood 360

Richard
Kollmar
(1910–1971) was an actor and Broadway producer. His 1955 production of Plain and Fancy, one of the first
depictions of an Amish community in American pop culture, garnered Theatre
World Awards for three of the actors.

About the Author(s) of Boston Blackie, Vol. 1

Hollywood 360 is the author of Boston Blackie, Vol. 1

Hollywood 360 is a syndicated radio show heard every Saturday evening on radio stations throughout the United States. Hollywood 360 showcases a wide variety of audio entertainment, from the golden age of Hollywood to today’s most current headlines.

Boston Blackie, Vol. 1 Full Details

NarratorRichard Kollmar
Length5 hours and 25 minutes
AuthorHollywood 360
PublisherBlackstone Publishing
Release dateJune 15, 2014
ISBN9781482994025

Subjects

According to Blackstone Publishing, the Publisher of Boston Blackie, Vol. 1 Audiobook, Boston Blackie, Vol. 1 includes the following subjects: amateur detective, radio show, radio theater, classic radio, old-time radio, inspector faraday, 1940s, investigator, mystery, detective The BISAC Subject Code is

Additional info

The imprint is Black Eye Entertainment. It is supplied by Blackstone Publishing. The ISBN-10 is 148299402X. The ISBN-13 is 9781482994025.

Global Availability

This book is only available in the United States.

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Related audiobooks

  • Singer Distance Ethan Chatagnier For fans of Station Eleven and Light from Other Stars, Ethan Chatagnier’s propulsive, genre-bending debut novel asks: What happens when we discover intelligent life just next door? And what does it really mean to know we’re not alone in the universe? The odds of the planet next door hosting intelligent life are―that’s not luck. That’s a miracle. It means something. In December 1960, ... Read more about Singer Distance
  • With the Devil’s Help Neal Wooten In the tradition of The Glass Castle, Educated, and Heartland, Neal Wooten traces five decades of his dirt-poor, Alabama mountain family as the years and secrets coalesce. Neal Wooten grew up in a tiny community atop Sand Mountain, Alabama, where everyone was white and everyone was poor. Prohibition was still embraced. If you wanted alcohol, you had to drive to Georgia or ask the bootlegger ... Read more about With the Devil’s Help
  • The Detective’s Daughter Erica Spindler From Erica Spindler, the New York Times bestselling author of The Other Girl and The Look-Alike, comes The Detective’s Daughter, a thrilling crime drama about a woman who risks everything to solve the cold case that destroyed her father—but will it destroy her as well? New Orleans Detective Quinn Conners is haunted by her father’s whiskey-soaked last words—that he solved the Hudson murder ... Read more about The Detective’s Daughter
  • Tearing Us Apart Ryan T. Anderson The political philosopher Ryan T. Anderson, bestselling author of When Harry Became Sally: Responding to the Transgender Moment, teams up with the pro-life journalist Alexandra DeSanctis to expose the catastrophic failure—social, political, legal, and personal—of legalized abortion. Hope in the Ruins of Roe With the Supreme Court poised to return abortion law to the democratic process, a ... Read more about Tearing Us Apart
  • Better Than We Found It Frederick Joseph From the New York Times best-selling author of The Black Friend and a seasoned activist comes an indispensable guide to social and political progressivism for young people and anyone wanting to get more involved. Every generation inherits the problems created by the ones before them, but no generation will inherit as many problems—as many crises—as the current generation of young people. From ... Read more about Better Than We Found It

Scan the QR code to continue on your phone

Choose Language :