Try for free
9781644111482
Try for $0.00

Breathing as Spiritual Practice Audiobook

Regular Price: 19.99 USD

Play Sample
9781644111482
Play Sample

Breathing as Spiritual Practice Audiobook

Regular Price: 19.99 USD
Try for $0.00
Try for $0.00
  • One credit a month
    Good for any title to download and keep
  • Listen at up to 4.5x speed
    Get through more content at up to 4.5x speed
  • Fall asleep to your favorite books
    Set a sleep timer while you listen
  • Unlimited listening to our Classics.
    Listen thousands of classics for no extra cost. Ever.
  • Immersive Reading
    Read & listen at same time to a growing catalog.

Other top audiobooks

Never Split the Difference

Breathing as Spiritual Practice Audiobook Summary

A guide to meditative breathing practices in Western religions and how these practices provide a direct experience of God

• Reveals how Western spiritual traditions, such as the Book of Genesis, the Jewish teachings of ruach, and the poetry of Rumi, contain hidden instruction for meditative breathing practices

• Explains how breathing practices can bring all of us, including Christians, Muslims, and Jews, closer to a direct experience of the palpable presence of God

• Provides guidelines and best practices for meditative breathing through a personal journal of the author’s own meditative retreat

Surprised by the number of attendees from Western spiritual traditions at his Buddhist retreats, Will Johnson wanted to understand what drew them to this type of spiritual experience. He found many devoted Christians were in search of a more direct experience of God beyond faith alone, so he began exploring what breathing practices could be found in the sacred texts of Western monotheistic religions. Johnson discovered that, like their Eastern counterparts, Western traditions speak of gaining direct access to God via the breath. After experimenting with these teachings during a 10-day retreat at a desert monastery, he discovered that each of us has the potential to open up to the presence of spirit in every breath.

In this book, the author offers a close look at the importance of breath in each major Western religion, including the Jewish teachings of ruach as life-giving spirit in the form of breath and the Islamic poetry of Rumi, which describes breath as essential for cleansing the soul. He then ties each breathing tradition to the Book of Genesis, sacred to Christians, Muslims, and Jews alike: “And the Lord God formed man of the dust of the ground, and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life, and man became a living being.” Just as God blew life into Adam, every breath we take–if we follow the breathing practice of surrendering completely to inhalation–can open us up to the presence of God.

Through his own contemplative journey, Johnson shares his experience of striving to surrender to the fullest presence of God through each breath. As he takes the reader step-by-step through his own breathing practice, the author explains his physical and mental techniques for meditating successfully through breath and provides helpful guidelines to get the most out of meditative retreats. Johnson also offers deep reflections on how these shared practices of experiencing God through the breath transcend religious differences.

Breathing as Spiritual Practice Audiobook Narrator

Will Johnson is the narrator of Breathing as Spiritual Practice audiobook that was written by Will Johnson

Will Johnson is the founder and director of the Institute for Embodiment Training, which combines Western somatic psychotherapy with Eastern meditation practices. He is the author of several books, including Breathing through the Whole Body, The Posture of Meditation, and The Spiritual Practices of Rumi. He lives in British Columbia.

About the Author(s) of Breathing as Spiritual Practice

Will Johnson is the author of Breathing as Spiritual Practice

Will Johnson is the founder and director of the Institute for Embodiment Training, which combines Western somatic psychotherapy with Eastern meditation practices. He is the author of several books, including Breathing through the Whole Body, The Posture of Meditation, and The Spiritual Practices of Rumi. He lives in British Columbia.

Breathing as Spiritual Practice Full Details

NarratorWill Johnson
AuthorWill Johnson
PublisherInner Traditions/Bear & Company
Release dateJune 30, 2020
ISBN9781644111482

Subjects

According to Inner Traditions/Bear & Company, the Publisher of Breathing as Spiritual Practice Audiobook, Breathing as Spiritual Practice includes the following subjects: RUACH, ABRAHAM, RUMI, MEDITATION, BREATHWORK, PNEUMA, METANOIA, CHRISTIAN CONTEMPLATIVE COMMUNITY, BUDDHISM, SPIRITUALITY, WESTERN RELIGIONS, MEDITATIVE BREATHING, GOD, BOOK OF GENESIS, JEWISH TEACHINGS, POETRY OF RUMI, CHRISTIANS, MUSLIMS, BUDDHIST RETREATS, SPIRITUAL EXPERIENCE, BREATHING PRACTICES, SACRED TEXTS, GOD VIA BREATH, ISLAMIC POETRY, CLEANSING THE SOUL, SPIRITUAL JOURNEY, REFLECTIONS, TRANSCEND, INSTITUTE FOR EMBODIMENT TRAINING, BREATHING THROUGH THE WHOLE BODY, THE SPRITUAL PRACTICES OF RUMI, EYES WIDE OPEN The BISAC Subject Code is

Additional info

The imprint is Inner Traditions Audio. It is supplied by Simon & Schuster. The ISBN-10 is 1644111489. The ISBN-13 is 9781644111482.

Global Availability

This book is only available in the United States.

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Related audiobooks

  • Singer Distance Ethan Chatagnier For fans of Station Eleven and Light from Other Stars, Ethan Chatagnier’s propulsive, genre-bending debut novel asks: What happens when we discover intelligent life just next door? And what does it really mean to know we’re not alone in the universe? The odds of the planet next door hosting intelligent life are―that’s not luck. That’s a miracle. It means something. In December 1960, ... Read more about Singer Distance
  • With the Devil’s Help Neal Wooten In the tradition of The Glass Castle, Educated, and Heartland, Neal Wooten traces five decades of his dirt-poor, Alabama mountain family as the years and secrets coalesce. Neal Wooten grew up in a tiny community atop Sand Mountain, Alabama, where everyone was white and everyone was poor. Prohibition was still embraced. If you wanted alcohol, you had to drive to Georgia or ask the bootlegger ... Read more about With the Devil’s Help
  • The Detective’s Daughter Erica Spindler From Erica Spindler, the New York Times bestselling author of The Other Girl and The Look-Alike, comes The Detective’s Daughter, a thrilling crime drama about a woman who risks everything to solve the cold case that destroyed her father—but will it destroy her as well? New Orleans Detective Quinn Conners is haunted by her father’s whiskey-soaked last words—that he solved the Hudson murder ... Read more about The Detective’s Daughter
  • Tearing Us Apart Ryan T. Anderson The political philosopher Ryan T. Anderson, bestselling author of When Harry Became Sally: Responding to the Transgender Moment, teams up with the pro-life journalist Alexandra DeSanctis to expose the catastrophic failure—social, political, legal, and personal—of legalized abortion. Hope in the Ruins of Roe With the Supreme Court poised to return abortion law to the democratic process, a ... Read more about Tearing Us Apart
  • Better Than We Found It Frederick Joseph From the New York Times best-selling author of The Black Friend and a seasoned activist comes an indispensable guide to social and political progressivism for young people and anyone wanting to get more involved. Every generation inherits the problems created by the ones before them, but no generation will inherit as many problems—as many crises—as the current generation of young people. From ... Read more about Better Than We Found It

Scan the QR code to continue on your phone

Choose Language :