Consequences of Capitalism

Regular Price: 22.95 USD

Consequences of Capitalism

Regular Price: 22.95 USD
Get this book for $1
  • Listen at up to 4.5x speed
    Get through more content at up to 4.5x speed
  • Fall asleep to your favorite books
    Set a sleep timer while you listen

Other top audibooks

Summary

Is there an alternative to capitalism?

In this landmark text Chomsky and Waterstone chart a critical map for a more just and sustainable society.

“Covid-19 has revealed glaring failures and monstrous brutalities in the current capitalist system. It represents both a crisis and an opportunity…Everything depends on the actions that people take into their own hands.” —From the afterword

How do politics shape our world, our lives, and our perceptions? How much of “common sense” is actually driven by the ruling class’ needs and interests? And how are we to challenge the capitalist structures that now threaten all life on the planet?

Consequences of Capitalism exposes the deep, often unseen connections between neoliberal “common sense” and structural power. In making these linkages, we see how the current hegemony keeps social justice movements divided and marginalized. And, most importantly, we see how we can fight to overcome these divisions.

Consequences of Capitalism Full Details

NarratorDonald Corren
Length14 hours and 11 minutes
AuthorNoam Chomsky
PublisherBlackstone Publishing
Release dateJanuary 5 2021
ISBN9781799922971

Subjects in Consequences of Capitalism

According to Blackstone Publishing, the Publisher of Consequences of Capitalism Audiobook, Consequences of Capitalism includes the following subjects: social justice, capitalism, capitalist, hegemony, social justice movement, marginalized, power, governmental power, discontent, resistance, COVID-19, SARS, covid, covid-19, inequallity, inequality, crisis, common sense, neo-liberal, pandemic. The BISAC Subject Code is .

About the Author(s) of Consequences of Capitalism

The author of Consequences of Capitalism is Noam Chomsky. Noam Chomsky is the author of numerous bestselling political works, including Hegemony or Survival and Failed States. A laureate professor at the University of Arizona and professor emeritus of linguistics and philosophy at MIT, he is widely credited with having revolutionized modern linguistics. He lives in Tuscon, Arizona.

About the Narrator of Consequences of Capitalism Audiobook

The narrator for the Consequences of Capitalism Audiobook is Donald Corren.

<p><strong>Donald Corren </strong>is an audiobook narrator and a New York actor with leading credits on and Off-Broadway, as well as numerous television appearances. On Broadway, he costarred with Judy Kaye in the critically acclaimed production of <em>Souvenir</em>, and replaced Harvey Fierstein in the seminal production of T<em>orch Song Trilogy</em>. His Off-Broadway appearances include <em>The Soap Myth</em>, <em>Dietrich &amp; Chevalier</em>, <em>The Last Sunday in June</em>, Stephen Sondheim’s <em>Saturday Night</em>, and the original New York production of <em>Tomfoolery</em>. His television credits include eight seasons as forensic tech Medill on NBC’s Law &amp; Order, as well as his current role as Dr. Kurian on Syfy’s Z Nation.</p>.

Consequences of Capitalism Audiobook Additional Info

The imprint is Blackstone Publishing. It is supplied by Blackstone Publishing. The ISBN-10 is 1799922979. The ISBN-13 is 9781799922971.

Global Availability of Consequences of Capitalism Audiobook

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Premium Audiobooks

  • Craigslist Confessional “Touching.” —The New York Times For fans of Humans of New York and PostSecret, a collection of raw, urgent, and heartfelt stories, shared anonymously.Helena Dea Bala was an exhausted and isolated DC lobbyist, suffocating under the weight of her student loan debt, when she decided ... Read Book
  • Pay Dirt Road Annie McIntyre has a love/hate relationship with Garnett, Texas. Recently graduated from college and home waitressing, lacking not in ambition but certainly in direction, Annie is lured into the family business—a private investigation firm—by her supposed-to-be-retired grandfather, Leroy, ... Read Book
  • The Westerby Sisters Lady Betty has no interest in the Duke of Collingham. She doesn’t care that he’s fabulously wealthy, or devastatingly handsome, or impeccably well-dressed. All she sees is an arrogant nobleman with an abrasive personality and an annoyingly persistent streak.And the Duke of Collingham is ... Read Book
  • The Guineveres “A first novel whose tone echoes that of Jeffrey Eugenides’s The Virgin Suicides…This phenomenal, character-driven story is mesmerizing.” –Library Journal (starred review)To four girls who have nothing, their friendship is everything: they are each other’s confidants, teachers, and ... Read Book
  • The Listener Critically acclaimed author Shira Nayman has been praised by School Library Journal for her “breathtaking storytelling” and her ability to write with “stunning clarity.” Nayman’s debut novel, The Listener is a tale of madness and passion set in a psychiatric hospital just after the end of ... Read Book
  • The Second Life of Tiger Woods It’s one of the greatest comebacks of all time. And for Tiger Woods, getting back to the winner’s circle was only half the story. Written by a New York Times bestselling author and reporter who “knows the world of professional golf…like few others” (The Wall Street ... Read Book
  • In the Shadow of Frankenstein The most infamous doctor of the gothic era once again delves into the forbidden secrets of the world, when literature’s most famous creature lives again …Frankenstein—his very name conjures up images of plundered graves, secret laboratories, electrical experiments, and reviving the ... Read Book
  • Northanger Abbey During an eventful season at Bath, young, naive Catherine Morland experiences the joys of fashionable society for the first time. She is delighted with her new acquaintances: flirtatious Isabella, who shares Catherine’s love of Gothic romance and horror, and sophisticated Henry and Eleanor ... Read Book
  • Why We Get Sick A scientist reveals the groundbreaking evidence linking many major diseases, including cancer, diabetes, and Alzheimer’s disease, to a common root cause—insulin resistance—and shares an easy, effective plan to reverse and prevent it.We are sick. Around the world, we struggle with diseases ... Read Book

Related audiobooks

  • The Return of the King J. R. R. Tolkien THE THIRD PART OF J.R.R. TOLKIEN’S EPIC MASTERPIECE, THE LORD OF THE RINGS The Dark Lord Sauron has risen, and as he unleashes hordes of Orcs to conquer all Middle-earth, Frodo and Sam struggle deep into his realm in Mordor. To defeat Sauron, the One Ring must be destroyed in the fires of Mount Doom. But the way is impossibly hard, and Frodo is weakening. The Ring corrupts all who bear it and ... Read more about The Return of the King
  • The Way of Kings Brandon Sanderson From #1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson, The Way of Kings, Book One of the Stormlight Archive begins an incredible new saga of epic proportion.Roshar is a world of stone and storms. Uncanny tempests of incredible power sweep across the rocky terrain so frequently that they have shaped ecology and civilization alike. Animals hide in shells, trees pull in branches, and grass ... Read more about The Way of Kings
  • Sapiens Yuval Noah Harari New York Times BestsellerA Summer Reading Pick for President Barack Obama, Bill Gates, and Mark Zuckerberg From a renowned historian comes a groundbreaking narrative of humanity’s creation and evolution—a #1 international bestseller—that explores the ways in which biology and history have defined us and enhanced our understanding of what it means to be “human.”One hundred thousand years ... Read more about Sapiens
  • The Chronicles of Narnia Complete Audio Collection C S Lewis For over sixty years, readers of all ages have been enchanted by the magical realms, the epic battles between good and evil, and the unforgettable creatures of Narnia.This box set includes all seven titles in The Chronicles of Narnia—The Magician’s Nephew; The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe; The Horse and His Boy; Prince Caspian; The Voyage of the Dawn Treader; The Silver Chair; and The ... Read more about The Chronicles of Narnia Complete Audio Collection
  • Dune Frank Herbert NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE directed by Denis Villeneuve, starring Timothée Chalamet, Josh Brolin, Jason Momoa, Zendaya, Rebecca Ferguson, Oscar Isaac, Javier Bardem, Dave Bautista, Stellan Skarsgård, and Charlotte Rampling. Set on the desert planet Arrakis, Dune is the story of the boy Paul Atreides, who would become the mysterious man known as Muad’dib. He would avenge the traitorous plot ... Read more about Dune

Scan the QR code to continue on your phone

Choose Language :