Try for free
9781538480922
Try for $0.00

Dream Hoarders Audiobook

Regular Price: 19.95 USD

Play Sample
9781538480922
Play Sample

Dream Hoarders Audiobook

Regular Price: 19.95 USD
Try for $0.00
Try for $0.00
  • One credit a month
    Good for any title to download and keep
  • Listen at up to 4.5x speed
    Get through more content at up to 4.5x speed
  • Fall asleep to your favorite books
    Set a sleep timer while you listen
  • Unlimited listening to our Classics.
    Listen thousands of classics for no extra cost. Ever.
  • Immersive Reading
    Read & listen at same time to a growing catalog.

Other top audiobooks

Never Split the Difference

Dream Hoarders Audiobook Summary

America is becoming a class-based society.

It is now conventional to focus on the wealth of the top 1 percent—especially the top 0.01 percent—and how the ultrarich are concentrating income and prosperity, while incomes for most other Americans are stagnant. But the most important, consequential, and widening gap in American society is between the upper-middle class and everyone else.

Reeves defines the upper-middle class as those whose incomes are in the top 20 percent of American society. Income is not the only way to measure a society, but in a market economy it is crucial because access to money generally determines who gets the best-quality education, housing, health care, and other necessary goods and services.

As Reeves shows, the growing separation between the upper-middle class and everyone else can be seen in family structure, neighborhoods, attitudes, and lifestyle. Those at the top of the income ladder are becoming more effective at passing on their status to their children, reducing overall social mobility. The result is not just an economic divide but a fracturing of American society along class lines. Upper-middle-class children become upper-middle-class adults.

These trends matter because the separation and perpetuation of the upper-middle class corrode prospects for more progressive approaches to policy. Various forms of “opportunity hoarding” among the upper-middle class make it harder for others to rise to the top rung. Examples include zoning laws and schooling, occupational licensing, college application procedures, and the allocation of internships. Upper-middle-class opportunity hoarding, Reeves argues, results in a less competitive economy as well as a less open society.

Inequality is inevitable and can even be good, within limits. But Reeves argues that society can take effective action to reduce opportunity hoarding and thus promote broader opportunity. This fascinating book shows how American society has become the very class-defined society that earlier Americans rebelled against—and what can be done to restore a more equitable society.

Dream Hoarders Audiobook Narrator

Richard V. Reeves is the narrator of Dream Hoarders audiobook that was written by Richard V. Reeves

Richard V. Reeves is a senior fellow in economic studies and codirector of the Center on Children and Families at the Brookings Institution.

About the Author(s) of Dream Hoarders

Richard V. Reeves is the author of Dream Hoarders

Richard V. Reeves is a senior fellow in Economic Studies at the Brookings Institution, where he directs the Boys and Men Project and holds the John C. and Nancy D. Whitehead Chair. He is the author of John Stuart Mill: Victorian Firebrand (2007) and Dream Hoarders (2017).

Dream Hoarders Full Details

NarratorRichard V. Reeves
Length4 hours and 41 minutes
AuthorRichard V. Reeves
PublisherBlackstone Publishing
Release dateOctober 03, 2017
ISBN9781538480922

Subjects

According to Blackstone Publishing, the Publisher of Dream Hoarders Audiobook, Dream Hoarders includes the following subjects: america, class, society, wealth, income, prosperity, gap, upper middle class, middle class, working class, 20 percent, market economy, opportunity, education, housing, health care, separation, family, neighborhoods, lifestyle, status, children, social mobility, mobility, divide, policy, opportunity hoarding, zoning, schooling, licensing, college, internships, competition, inequality The BISAC Subject Code is

Additional info

The imprint is Blackstone Publishing. It is supplied by Blackstone Publishing. The ISBN-10 is 1538480921. The ISBN-13 is 9781538480922.

Global Availability

This book is only available in the United States.

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Related audiobooks

  • Better Than We Found It Frederick Joseph From the New York Times best-selling author of The Black Friend and a seasoned activist comes an indispensable guide to social and political progressivism for young people and anyone wanting to get more involved. Every generation inherits the problems created by the ones before them, but no generation will inherit as many problems—as many crises—as the current generation of young people. From ... Read more about Better Than We Found It
  • Court of Lions Jane Johnson Sometimes at the lowest point in your life, fate will slip you a gift. Exotic adventure and a quest for redemption collide in this stunning new novel from Jane Johnson. Kate Fordham, escaping terrible personal trauma, has fled to the beautiful sunlit city of Granada, the ancient capital of the Moors in Spain. There she is scraping by with an unfulfilling job in a busy bar. One day, in the ... Read more about Court of Lions
  • The Sultan’s Wife Jane Johnson Page-turning mystery, grandly seductive romance and full historical immersion into Moroccan court history, this exquisitely depicted and intensely absorbing novel follows in the bestselling tradition of The Tenth Gift and The Salt Road. 1677, Morocco. Behind the magnificent walls and towering arches of the Palace of Meknes, captive chieftain’s son and now a lowly scribe, Nus Nus is framed for ... Read more about The Sultan’s Wife
  • Singer Distance Ethan Chatagnier For fans of Station Eleven and Light from Other Stars, Ethan Chatagnier’s propulsive, genre-bending debut novel asks: What happens when we discover intelligent life just next door? And what does it really mean to know we’re not alone in the universe? The odds of the planet next door hosting intelligent life are―that’s not luck. That’s a miracle. It means something. In December 1960, ... Read more about Singer Distance
  • With the Devil’s Help Neal Wooten In the tradition of The Glass Castle, Educated, and Heartland, Neal Wooten traces five decades of his dirt-poor, Alabama mountain family as the years and secrets coalesce. Neal Wooten grew up in a tiny community atop Sand Mountain, Alabama, where everyone was white and everyone was poor. Prohibition was still embraced. If you wanted alcohol, you had to drive to Georgia or ask the bootlegger ... Read more about With the Devil’s Help

Scan the QR code to continue on your phone

Choose Language :