Try for free
9781508245605
Try for $0.00

Grief Works Audiobook

Regular Price: 17.99 USD

Play Sample
9781508245605
Play Sample

Grief Works Audiobook

Regular Price: 17.99 USD
Try for $0.00
Try for $0.00
  • One credit a month
    Good for any title to download and keep
  • Listen at up to 4.5x speed
    Get through more content at up to 4.5x speed
  • Fall asleep to your favorite books
    Set a sleep timer while you listen
  • Unlimited listening to our Classics.
    Listen thousands of classics for no extra cost. Ever.
  • Immersive Reading
    Read & listen at same time to a growing catalog.

Other top audiobooks

Never Split the Difference

Grief Works Audiobook Summary

“An honest, practical, as well as emotional guide to working through the processing of mourning” (Vogue.com), Grief Works is a lifeline for all of us dealing with loss and a handbook to help others—from the “expected” death of a parent to the sudden and unexpected death of a child or spouse.

Death affects us all. Yet it is still the last taboo in our society, and grief is still profoundly misunderstood. Julia Samuel, a grief psychotherapist, has spent twenty-five years working with the bereaved and understanding the full repercussions of loss. In Grief Works, Samuel shares case studies from those who have experienced great love and great loss—and survived. People need to understand that grief is a process that has to be worked through, and Samuel shows if we do the work, we can begin to heal. “As a guide for the newly grieving, Grief Works succeeds on many levels, and the author’s compassionate storytelling skills provide even broader appeal…and consistently hit an authentically inspiring note” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review).

“Illuminating” (The New York Times), intimate, warm, and helpful, Samuel is a caring and deeply experienced guide through the shadowy and mutable land of grief, and her book is as invaluable to those who are grieving as it is to those around them. She adroitly unpacks the psychological tangles of grief in a voice that is compassionate, grounded, real, and observant of those in mourning. Divided into case histories grouped by who has died—a partner, a parent, a sibling, a child, as well section dealing with terminal illness and suicide—Grief Works shows us how to live and learn from great loss. This important book is “essential for anyone who has ever experienced grief or wanted to comfort a bereaved friend” (Helen Fielding, author of Bridget Jones’s Diary).

Grief Works Audiobook Narrator

Julia Samuel is the narrator of Grief Works audiobook that was written by Julia Samuel

Julia Samuel is a psychotherapist specializing in grief, who has spent the last twenty-five years working with bereaved families. Grief Works is her first book.

About the Author(s) of Grief Works

Julia Samuel is the author of Grief Works

Julia Samuel is a psychotherapist specializing in grief, who has spent the last twenty-five years working with bereaved families. Grief Works is her first book.

Grief Works Full Details

NarratorJulia Samuel
AuthorJulia Samuel
PublisherSimon & Schuster Audio
Release dateJanuary 16, 2018
ISBN9781508245605

Subjects

According to Simon & Schuster Audio, the Publisher of Grief Works Audiobook, Grief Works includes the following subjects: books for those grieving, books to read after losing someone, best books following a loss, books about death, books about processing death, books to read when a loved one dies, books to read duing the pandemic, books to read pandemic trauma, losing a loved one during coronavirus, sudden death, Prince Harry, Prince Harry and Princess Di, princess diana, prince harry recovery, death, dying, grief, 5 stages of grief, loss, mourning, sherwin nuland 5 stages, stages of grief, grieving, hospice, cancer, terminal, death in family, family death, loss in family, family loss, bereavement, sociology, living with loss, denial, anger, bargaining, acceptance, what to say to a friend, bereavement, breakup, death of a parent, death of a child, death of sister, death of brother, Julia Samuel, grief counseling, suicide, prevention, how a psychologist handles grief The BISAC Subject Code is

Additional info

The imprint is Simon & Schuster Audio. It is supplied by Simon & Schuster. The ISBN-10 is 1508245606. The ISBN-13 is 9781508245605.

Global Availability

This book is only available in the United States.

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Related audiobooks

  • Singer Distance Ethan Chatagnier For fans of Station Eleven and Light from Other Stars, Ethan Chatagnier’s propulsive, genre-bending debut novel asks: What happens when we discover intelligent life just next door? And what does it really mean to know we’re not alone in the universe? The odds of the planet next door hosting intelligent life are―that’s not luck. That’s a miracle. It means something. In December 1960, ... Read more about Singer Distance
  • With the Devil’s Help Neal Wooten In the tradition of The Glass Castle, Educated, and Heartland, Neal Wooten traces five decades of his dirt-poor, Alabama mountain family as the years and secrets coalesce. Neal Wooten grew up in a tiny community atop Sand Mountain, Alabama, where everyone was white and everyone was poor. Prohibition was still embraced. If you wanted alcohol, you had to drive to Georgia or ask the bootlegger ... Read more about With the Devil’s Help
  • The Detective’s Daughter Erica Spindler From Erica Spindler, the New York Times bestselling author of The Other Girl and The Look-Alike, comes The Detective’s Daughter, a thrilling crime drama about a woman who risks everything to solve the cold case that destroyed her father—but will it destroy her as well? New Orleans Detective Quinn Conners is haunted by her father’s whiskey-soaked last words—that he solved the Hudson murder ... Read more about The Detective’s Daughter
  • Tearing Us Apart Ryan T. Anderson The political philosopher Ryan T. Anderson, bestselling author of When Harry Became Sally: Responding to the Transgender Moment, teams up with the pro-life journalist Alexandra DeSanctis to expose the catastrophic failure—social, political, legal, and personal—of legalized abortion. Hope in the Ruins of Roe With the Supreme Court poised to return abortion law to the democratic process, a ... Read more about Tearing Us Apart
  • Better Than We Found It Frederick Joseph From the New York Times best-selling author of The Black Friend and a seasoned activist comes an indispensable guide to social and political progressivism for young people and anyone wanting to get more involved. Every generation inherits the problems created by the ones before them, but no generation will inherit as many problems—as many crises—as the current generation of young people. From ... Read more about Better Than We Found It

Scan the QR code to continue on your phone

Choose Language :