Try for free
9781508299271
Try for $0.00

Highway of Tears Audiobook

Regular Price: 23.99 USD

Play Sample
9781508299271
Play Sample

Highway of Tears Audiobook

Regular Price: 23.99 USD
Try for $0.00
Try for $0.00
  • One credit a month
    Good for any title to download and keep
  • Listen at up to 4.5x speed
    Get through more content at up to 4.5x speed
  • Fall asleep to your favorite books
    Set a sleep timer while you listen
  • Unlimited listening to our Classics.
    Listen thousands of classics for no extra cost. Ever.
  • Immersive Reading
    Read & listen at same time to a growing catalog.

Other top audiobooks

Never Split the Difference

Highway of Tears Audiobook Summary

“These murder cases expose systemic problems… By examining each murder within the context of Indigenous identity and regional hardships, McDiarmid addresses these very issues, finding reasons to look for the deeper roots of each act of violence.” —The New York Times Book Review

In the vein of the bestsellers Ill Be Gone in the Dark and The Line Becomes a River, a penetrating, deeply moving account of the missing and murdered indigenous women and girls of Highway 16, and a searing indictment of the society that failed them.

For decades, Indigenous women and girls have gone missing or been found murdered along an isolated stretch of highway in northwestern British Columbia. The corridor is known as the Highway of Tears, and it has come to symbolize a national crisis.

Journalist Jessica McDiarmid meticulously investigates the devastating effect these tragedies have had on the families of the victims and their communities, and how systemic racism and indifference have created a climate in which Indigenous women and girls are overpoliced yet underprotected. McDiarmid interviews those closest to the victims—mothers and fathers, siblings and friends—and provides an intimate firsthand account of their loss and unflagging fight for justice. Examining the historically fraught social and cultural tensions between settlers and Indigenous peoples in the region, McDiarmid links these cases to others across Canada—now estimated to number up to four thousand—contextualizing them within a broader examination of the undervaluing of Indigenous lives in the country.

Highway of Tears is a piercing exploration of our ongoing failure to provide justice for the victims and a testament to their families’ and communities’ unwavering determination to find it.

Highway of Tears Audiobook Narrator

Emily Nixon is the narrator of Highway of Tears audiobook that was written by Jessica McDiarmid

About the Author(s) of Highway of Tears

Jessica McDiarmid is the author of Highway of Tears

Highway of Tears Full Details

NarratorEmily Nixon
AuthorJessica McDiarmid
PublisherSimon & Schuster Audio
Release dateNovember 12, 2019
ISBN9781508299271

Subjects

According to Simon & Schuster Audio, the Publisher of Highway of Tears Audiobook, Highway of Tears includes the following subjects: Bureau of Indian Affairs, Deb Haaland, murders of Indigenous women, murders of Native Americans, Aboriginal women, Aboriginal, Aboriginal Canadians, indigenous people, indigenous people in Canada, The Highway of Tears murders, First Nation, Indigenous Canadians, I'll Be Gone in the Dark, Daughters of Suarez, Wind River, true crime documentary, The Keepers, First Nation tribes, Canadian prime minister, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, national inquiry, murder, murders, true crime, true crime books, Killer of the Flower moon, Books like Killer of the Flower Moon, Ghettoside, Dream Land, Just Mercy, books like Ghettoside, Jill Leovy, books about true crimes, disappearances, Indigenous vanishing, Aboriginal disappearances, Royal Canadian Mounted Police, RCMP, police criticism, National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls, MMIWG, Highway 16, British Columbia crimes, The Ted Bundy tapes, Making of a Murderer, true crime audiobooks, AudioFile Earphones Award, award-winning audiobooks, Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women, MMIW: MMIW movement, MMIW justice, racism, social injustice, systemic racism, The BISAC Subject Code is

Additional info

The imprint is Simon & Schuster Audio. It is supplied by Simon & Schuster. The ISBN-10 is 1508299277. The ISBN-13 is 9781508299271.

Global Availability

This book is only available in the United States.

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Related audiobooks

  • The Sultan’s Wife Jane Johnson Page-turning mystery, grandly seductive romance and full historical immersion into Moroccan court history, this exquisitely depicted and intensely absorbing novel follows in the bestselling tradition of The Tenth Gift and The Salt Road. 1677, Morocco. Behind the magnificent walls and towering arches of the Palace of Meknes, captive chieftain’s son and now a lowly scribe, Nus Nus is framed for ... Read more about The Sultan’s Wife
  • Singer Distance Ethan Chatagnier For fans of Station Eleven and Light from Other Stars, Ethan Chatagnier’s propulsive, genre-bending debut novel asks: What happens when we discover intelligent life just next door? And what does it really mean to know we’re not alone in the universe? The odds of the planet next door hosting intelligent life are―that’s not luck. That’s a miracle. It means something. In December 1960, ... Read more about Singer Distance
  • With the Devil’s Help Neal Wooten In the tradition of The Glass Castle, Educated, and Heartland, Neal Wooten traces five decades of his dirt-poor, Alabama mountain family as the years and secrets coalesce. Neal Wooten grew up in a tiny community atop Sand Mountain, Alabama, where everyone was white and everyone was poor. Prohibition was still embraced. If you wanted alcohol, you had to drive to Georgia or ask the bootlegger ... Read more about With the Devil’s Help
  • The Detective’s Daughter Erica Spindler From Erica Spindler, the New York Times bestselling author of The Other Girl and The Look-Alike, comes The Detective’s Daughter, a thrilling crime drama about a woman who risks everything to solve the cold case that destroyed her father—but will it destroy her as well? New Orleans Detective Quinn Conners is haunted by her father’s whiskey-soaked last words—that he solved the Hudson murder ... Read more about The Detective’s Daughter
  • Tearing Us Apart Ryan T. Anderson The political philosopher Ryan T. Anderson, bestselling author of When Harry Became Sally: Responding to the Transgender Moment, teams up with the pro-life journalist Alexandra DeSanctis to expose the catastrophic failure—social, political, legal, and personal—of legalized abortion. Hope in the Ruins of Roe With the Supreme Court poised to return abortion law to the democratic process, a ... Read more about Tearing Us Apart

Scan the QR code to continue on your phone

Choose Language :