Try for free
Home Audiobooks My Heart Is an Idiot

Speechify, the World's Audiobook App

Stars.svg
20M+ downloads | 150K+ 5-stars reviews
Scan now to listen it on your phone!

My Heart Is an Idiot Audiobook

Publisher List Price: 19.99 USD

Speechify Price: Coming soon

Written by Davy Rothbart

Narrated by Davy Rothbart

Published on September 4, 2012

Audio is 1430 hours

About My Heart Is an Idiot:

Davy Rothbart is looking for love in all the wrong places. Constantly. He falls helplessly in love with pretty much every girl he meets—and rarely is the feeling reciprocated. Time after time, he hops in a car and tears across half of America with his heart on his sleeve. He’s continually coming up with outrageous schemes, which he always manages to pull off. Well, almost always. But even when things don’t work out, Rothbart finds meaning and humor in every moment. Whether it’s humiliating a scammer who takes money from aspiring writers or playing harmless (but side-splitting) goofs on his deaf mother, nothing and no one is off-limits.
But as much as Rothbart is a tragically lovable, irresistibly brokenhearted hero, it’s his prose that’s the star of the book. In the tradition of David Sedaris and Sloane Crosley but going places very much his own, his essays show how things that are seemingly so wrong can be so, so right.

,

Davy Rothbart is a frequent contributor to This American Life and a variety of magazines, the founder of Found Magazine and the editor of its various bestselling anthologies, and the author of The Lone Surfer of Montana, Kansas. He was born and raised in Ann Arbor, Michigan, where he still lives. My Heart Is an Idiot is his fourth book.

,

“THIS BOOK IS F—ING GREAT! Nobody writes quite like Davy Rothbart, because nobody lives quite like Davy Rothbart–a true and funny ragged-hearted seeker of ecstasy, mystery, and human connection. My Heart Is an Idiot contains some of the most perfect and heartbreaking writing that I have ever read.” —Elizabeth Gilbert

“Welcome to the newly remodeled Heartbreak Hotel, where Davy Rothbart is concierge. He’ll also unpack your underwear, restock your minibar, and do stand-up comedy in the lounge.” —Tom Robbins

“In Davy Rothbart’s essays on heartache, mad love, the low life, and the high life, everybody is fascinating; everybody has something to say. The sentences speed you along down one narrative highway after another, and your tour guide is smart and funny and a real democrat: he has a sweet-tempered openness to experience that wins you over. This book breathes new life back into the personal essay, and these essays are a trip. Take that trip.” —Charles Baxter

“Tender, cool, funny, and utterly engaging, Davy Rothbart writes with a kind of warmth and cockeyed energy that make you love him. This book is marvelous.” —Susan Orlean

“An intriguing hybrid of timeless Midwestern warmth and newfangled jive talk.” —Sarah Vowell

“Davy Rothbart has the humor and purity of heart you want and need in an observer of contemporary American life. Without guile and with a belief in small towns, underdogs, love at first sight, the pull of the road, and the soulfulness of strangers, Rothbart is a kind of new-styled Bill Moyers–genuine, wide-eyed, and hopeful.” —Dave Eggers

“I believe in Davy. He’s a force to be reckoned with.” —Ira Glass

“Davy’s as real as it gets. This is a badass book.” —Kid Rock

“Davy’s my kind of storyteller–honest, hilarious, deeply feeling, and slightly cracked. This is the fresh voice we’ve been looking for.” —Jim Carroll, author of The Basketball Diaries

“Davy writes with his whole heart. These stories are crushing.” —Arthur Miller on The Lone Surfer of Montana, Kansas

“It’s always exciting to discover a talented new writer. Davy writes with such energy, wit, and heart.” —Judy Blume on The Lone Surfer of Montana, Kansas

“Like Kerouac’s best novels, these stories are breezy and energetic dispatches from obscure corners of the country… Rothbart mines his material to heartbreaking effect.” —The Washington Post on The Lone Surfer of Montana, Kansas

My Heart Is an Idiot was published on September 4, 2012.

The My Heart Is an Idiot Audiobook is 1430 hours. Speechify has the Unabridged edition version of the audiobook.

Both the publication language and the narration language are in English.

Speechify, the World's Audiobook App

Stars.svg
20M+ downloads | 150K+ 5-stars reviews
Scan now to listen it on your phone!

Subjects in My Heart Is an Idiot

My Heart Is an Idiot includes the following subjects: Literary Figures. The BISAC Subject Code is HUMOR, Form, Essays.

About the Author(s) of My Heart Is an Idiot

The author of My Heart Is an Idiot is Davy Rothbart.

About the Narrator of My Heart Is an Idiot Audiobook

The narrator for the My Heart Is an Idiot Audiobook is Davy Rothbart.

My Heart Is an Idiot Audiobook Additional Info

The imprint is Macmillan Audio. It is supplied by MPS. The ISBN-10 is 1427225737. The ISBN-13 is 9781427225733.

Global Availability of My Heart Is an Idiot Audiobook

VI, AS, PR, MP, PH, UM, CA, US, GU, PS, FI, KM, LT, TJ, AD, TL, RE, CG, HT, CD, MK, TH, AR, DZ, DJ, MY, NE, FR, AF, AX, CV, FM, PA, MF, SX, CI, HK, KR, GS, MZ, RO, DE, GE, HN, QA, BA, ER, KG, BY, SK, TW, AZ, AE, MQ, SV, PY, TG, SS, TN, NU, AM, GW, PF, IR, YT, TM, KH, CZ, MV, CW, UY, CL, SY, RU, BV, NC, AW, LR, NI, BH, ML, GF, SR, GN, IS, EE, UA, EH, PL, BQ, PE, CR, ID, BR, CN, ES, CK, TF, RS, HU, GA, BI, LI, TR, CX, BL, BF, SI, TD, CF, AQ, LB, PM, SG, GT, IT, MC, AO, BE, HR, SA, MH, VN, CU, MO, KZ, BO, GP, UZ, MN, MG, LU, SD, KP, PT, JP, ET, VA, NO, SM, FO, IL, LA, CO, DK, AL, WF, LV, PW, MR, SJ, YE, HM, OM, BG, GQ, ME, BJ, ZA, EC, DO, BT, RW, GL, MA, SN, NL, MD, NP, ST, MX, IO, SE, VE, LY, GR, AT, CH, AU, GD, ZM, NZ, CM, NA, NR, GB, FJ, PN, LC, SC, BB, IQ, MT, KW, WS, FK, MM, UG, TV, BS, BN, VU, DM, TO, IE, GM, JE, KY, NG, BZ, GI, MS, TT, TZ, TC, TK, SB, AG, BD, GY, KI, EG, AI, IM, ZW, SO, SZ, BW, PG, BM, PK, CY, VC, GH, VG, IN, LK, JO, SH, SL, CC, JM, MU, LS, KN, NF, GG, KE, MW

Related audiobooks

  • The Fort Gordon Korman What if you found a place that nobody else knew about? The morning after Hurricane Leo rips through their town, Evan, Jason, Mitchell, and C.J. find a total mess outside, with downed branches and uprooted trees everywhere. They know they should stay indoors—but they want to go exploring, even if it means having a new kid, Ricky, tag along. Ricky’s the first one to discover a strange trapdoor ... Read more about The Fort
  • The Cockroach Ian McEwan A brilliant, of-the-moment political satire like no other: here is Ian McEwan’s Brexit-era take on Kafka’s Metamorphosis, centered on a cockroach transformed into the prime minister of England. An Anchor Original. That morning, Jim Sams, clever but by no means profound, woke from uneasy dreams to find himself transformed into a giant creature. Jim Sams has undergone a metamorphosis. In his ... Read more about The Cockroach
  • Lady of Bones Carolyn Haines Carolyn Haines’s Lady of Bones is the next novel in the series that Kirkus Reviewscharacterizes as “Stephanie Plum meets the Ya-Ya Sisterhood” featuring sassy Southern private investigator Sarah Booth Delaney. It’s Halloween season in Mississippi as Sarah Booth and the gang gather to decorate and gush over Tinkie’s new baby, Maylin. Sarah Booth is just about to refresh the cocktails ... Read more about Lady of Bones
  • Mayo Clinic on Osteoporosis Ann E. Kearns “No matter your age or bone health, you can take steps to prevent future breaks. The best time to start is now.” Your skeleton is a busy system of living tissue. Every day, bone is being broken down and replaced. But with osteoporosis, this process causes your bones to become weak and fragile. The disease often goes undetected until you have a fall or a painful fracture. However, having ... Read more about Mayo Clinic on Osteoporosis
  • Dead Shot J.A. Johnstone Luke Jensen brings a body to Rio Rojo. After all, it’s his job, and he’s going to get paid. But before he can collect the bounty for killing a killer, two notorious criminals hit the Rio Rojo bank. Now Luke can’t get paid unless he catches professional bandit Gunner Kelly and his Apache sidekick Dog Eater. Unfortunately, a would-be man hunter is after the money-toting outlaws, too, and ... Read more about Dead Shot

Choose Language :