Try for free
9781504758710
Try for $0.00

Scores Audiobook

Regular Price: 19.95 USD

Play Sample
9781504758710
Play Sample

Scores Audiobook

Regular Price: 19.95 USD
Try for $0.00
Try for $0.00
  • One credit a month
    Good for any title to download and keep
  • Listen at up to 4.5x speed
    Get through more content at up to 4.5x speed
  • Fall asleep to your favorite books
    Set a sleep timer while you listen
  • Unlimited listening to our Classics.
    Listen thousands of classics for no extra cost. Ever.
  • Immersive Reading
    Read & listen at same time to a growing catalog.

Other top audiobooks

Never Split the Difference

Scores Audiobook Summary

Meet Michael Blutrich, a mild-mannered New York lawyer and founder of Scores, the hottest strip club in New York City history. Scores benefited from some unconventional funding: the proceeds of a Florida insurance embezzlement scheme.

All Blutrich wanted was to lay low, make the club a success, and put his criminal acts behind him. But then the Mafia decided to make Scores a new home for its own illegal dealings. And just when success was booming to new heights, the FBI came knocking.

Scores, with its popular slogan, “Where Sports and Pleasure Come Together,” became wildly popular, in part thanks to Blutrich’s ability to successfully bend the rules of adult entertainment. It was the first club in Manhattan to feature lap dancing by ignoring laws requiring dancers to perform on pedestals and remain six feet away from patrons. He also figured out how to neatly sidestep statutes requiring topless dancers to wear pasties by covering the offending areas of their breasts with latex paint. His formula worked, and Scores grew into the hottest club in Manhattan, frequented by sports superstars, Oscar-winning actors, television icons, Grammy-winning singers, and political notables alike. On any given night, stars such as Leonardo DiCaprio, Howard Stern, and Madonna were among the famous faces in the crowd, and Scores became a favorite of the New York club scene.

Unfortunately for Blutrich, it would all soon implode.

Scores was located in a neighborhood controlled by the Gambino crime family, and it soon became a hotbed for illicit mob activity, culminating in a double murder that left two of his employees dead. When federal prosecutors started sniffing around for potential crimes at the club, he went from carefree club owner to undercover spy in a heartbeat.

To obtain maximum leniency for his own insurance fraud, Blutrich became an unlikely but highly successful undercover FBI informant. By wearing body wires and placing ceiling cameras in his offices, he was eventually credited by the government with more than thirty Mafia convictions, including a crime-family head and associates from multiple international families. For his cooperation, the Department of Justice and the FBI assured him he would avoid any significant jail time.

Or that’s how it was supposed to go, at least.

Here Michael Blutrich tells it all: recording armed gangsters in the act of committing felonies, repeatedly evading discovery through amazing stealth, living with death threats that included brandished weapons and body searches, revealing long-covered-up celebrity doings, enduring a psychotic break from the imposed pressures, and losing everything in his life in the name of earning redemption.

Scores Audiobook Narrator

Michael D. Blutrich is the narrator of Scores audiobook that was written by Michael D. Blutrich

Michael D. Blutrich, former attorney, entrepreneur, owner of a boxing promotion enterprise, and radio talk-show host, today lives and works under a new identity in a secret location.

About the Author(s) of Scores

Michael D. Blutrich is the author of Scores

Michael D. Blutrich, former attorney, entrepreneur, owner of a boxing promotion enterprise, and radio talk-show host, today lives and works under a new identity in a secret location.

Scores Full Details

NarratorMichael D. Blutrich
Length10 hours and 53 minutes
AuthorMichael D. Blutrich
PublisherBlackstone Publishing
Release dateJanuary 31, 2017
ISBN9781504758710

Subjects

According to Blackstone Publishing, the Publisher of Scores Audiobook, Scores includes the following subjects: crime, murder, New York, mafia, gangsters, organized crime, FBI, informant, mob, Gambino, florida, embezzlement, fraud, sports, celebrities, strippers, undercover, informer, redemption, department of justice, justice department, strip club, New York City, extortion, witness security program, witness protection, memoir The BISAC Subject Code is

Additional info

The imprint is Blackstone Publishing. It is supplied by Blackstone Publishing. The ISBN-10 is 1504758714. The ISBN-13 is 9781504758710.

Global Availability

This book is only available in the United States.

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Related audiobooks

  • The Sultan’s Wife Jane Johnson Page-turning mystery, grandly seductive romance and full historical immersion into Moroccan court history, this exquisitely depicted and intensely absorbing novel follows in the bestselling tradition of The Tenth Gift and The Salt Road. 1677, Morocco. Behind the magnificent walls and towering arches of the Palace of Meknes, captive chieftain’s son and now a lowly scribe, Nus Nus is framed for ... Read more about The Sultan’s Wife
  • Singer Distance Ethan Chatagnier For fans of Station Eleven and Light from Other Stars, Ethan Chatagnier’s propulsive, genre-bending debut novel asks: What happens when we discover intelligent life just next door? And what does it really mean to know we’re not alone in the universe? The odds of the planet next door hosting intelligent life are―that’s not luck. That’s a miracle. It means something. In December 1960, ... Read more about Singer Distance
  • With the Devil’s Help Neal Wooten In the tradition of The Glass Castle, Educated, and Heartland, Neal Wooten traces five decades of his dirt-poor, Alabama mountain family as the years and secrets coalesce. Neal Wooten grew up in a tiny community atop Sand Mountain, Alabama, where everyone was white and everyone was poor. Prohibition was still embraced. If you wanted alcohol, you had to drive to Georgia or ask the bootlegger ... Read more about With the Devil’s Help
  • The Detective’s Daughter Erica Spindler From Erica Spindler, the New York Times bestselling author of The Other Girl and The Look-Alike, comes The Detective’s Daughter, a thrilling crime drama about a woman who risks everything to solve the cold case that destroyed her father—but will it destroy her as well? New Orleans Detective Quinn Conners is haunted by her father’s whiskey-soaked last words—that he solved the Hudson murder ... Read more about The Detective’s Daughter
  • Tearing Us Apart Ryan T. Anderson The political philosopher Ryan T. Anderson, bestselling author of When Harry Became Sally: Responding to the Transgender Moment, teams up with the pro-life journalist Alexandra DeSanctis to expose the catastrophic failure—social, political, legal, and personal—of legalized abortion. Hope in the Ruins of Roe With the Supreme Court poised to return abortion law to the democratic process, a ... Read more about Tearing Us Apart

Scan the QR code to continue on your phone

Choose Language :