Try for free
9781705007112
Try for $0.00

Still Life Audiobook

Regular Price: 24.99 USD

Play Sample
9781705007112
Play Sample

Still Life Audiobook

Regular Price: 24.99 USD
Try for $0.00
Try for $0.00
  • One credit a month
    Good for any title to download and keep
  • Listen at up to 4.5x speed
    Get through more content at up to 4.5x speed
  • Fall asleep to your favorite books
    Set a sleep timer while you listen
  • Unlimited listening to our Classics.
    Listen thousands of classics for no extra cost. Ever.
  • Immersive Reading
    Read & listen at same time to a growing catalog.

Other top audiobooks

Never Split the Difference

Still Life Audiobook Summary

Hailed as the UK’s “Queen of Crime,” Val McDermid is the award-winning, internationally bestselling author of
more than thirty novels and one of the best crime writers working today. With Still Life, McDermid returns to her
propulsive series featuring cold case detective Karen Pirie, who finds herself investigating the shadowy world of forgery,
where things are never what they seem.

When a lobster fisherman on an early morning run pulls in his traps, he finds something he wasn’t expecting to
catch—a body. When police discover the dead man was the brother of a senior Scottish government official who
vanished without a trace, Detective Chief Inspector Karen Pirie takes over the investigation.

At the same time, a woman in the wealthy enclave of Perth is clearing out her sister’s home after a fatal road
accident and finds a mysterious camper van in the garage containing a skeletonized body. But who is it? And how
long has it been there? The two cases will draw DCI Pirie into the world of imposters, identity theft, and art forgery.
Meanwhile, the man responsible for the death of the love of Karen’s life is being released from prison, just as Karen
was getting back on her feet.

Intensely gripping from the first page, Still Life is further proof that McDermid is writing at the top of her game.
Longtime fans and new readers alike will find it hard to put down this tightly plotted thriller.

About the Author(s) of Still Life

Val McDermid is the author of Still Life

Val McDermid was a journalist for sixteen years and is now a full-time writer living in South Manchester. In 1995, she won the Gold Dagger Award for Best Crime Novel of the Year for The Mermaids Singing. Her novel A Place of Execution won a Los Angeles Times Book Prize, was nominated for the Edgar Award for Best Novel, and named a New York Times Notable Book of the Year.

Still Life Full Details

Narrator
Length13 hours 6 minutes
AuthorVal McDermid
PublisherRecorded Books, Inc.
Release dateOctober 06, 2020
ISBN9781705007112

Subjects

According to Recorded Books, Inc., the Publisher of Still Life Audiobook, Still Life includes the following subjects: The BISAC Subject Code is Fiction, Mystery & Detective, General

Additional info

The imprint is Recorded Books, Inc.. It is supplied by Recorded Books, Inc.. The ISBN-13 is 9781705007112.

Global Availability

This book is only available in the United States.

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Related audiobooks

  • Singer Distance Ethan Chatagnier For fans of Station Eleven and Light from Other Stars, Ethan Chatagnier’s propulsive, genre-bending debut novel asks: What happens when we discover intelligent life just next door? And what does it really mean to know we’re not alone in the universe? The odds of the planet next door hosting intelligent life are―that’s not luck. That’s a miracle. It means something. In December 1960, ... Read more about Singer Distance
  • With the Devil’s Help Neal Wooten In the tradition of The Glass Castle, Educated, and Heartland, Neal Wooten traces five decades of his dirt-poor, Alabama mountain family as the years and secrets coalesce. Neal Wooten grew up in a tiny community atop Sand Mountain, Alabama, where everyone was white and everyone was poor. Prohibition was still embraced. If you wanted alcohol, you had to drive to Georgia or ask the bootlegger ... Read more about With the Devil’s Help
  • The Detective’s Daughter Erica Spindler From Erica Spindler, the New York Times bestselling author of The Other Girl and The Look-Alike, comes The Detective’s Daughter, a thrilling crime drama about a woman who risks everything to solve the cold case that destroyed her father—but will it destroy her as well? New Orleans Detective Quinn Conners is haunted by her father’s whiskey-soaked last words—that he solved the Hudson murder ... Read more about The Detective’s Daughter
  • Tearing Us Apart Ryan T. Anderson The political philosopher Ryan T. Anderson, bestselling author of When Harry Became Sally: Responding to the Transgender Moment, teams up with the pro-life journalist Alexandra DeSanctis to expose the catastrophic failure—social, political, legal, and personal—of legalized abortion. Hope in the Ruins of Roe With the Supreme Court poised to return abortion law to the democratic process, a ... Read more about Tearing Us Apart
  • Better Than We Found It Frederick Joseph From the New York Times best-selling author of The Black Friend and a seasoned activist comes an indispensable guide to social and political progressivism for young people and anyone wanting to get more involved. Every generation inherits the problems created by the ones before them, but no generation will inherit as many problems—as many crises—as the current generation of young people. From ... Read more about Better Than We Found It

Scan the QR code to continue on your phone

Choose Language :