Try for free
9781665058834
Try for $0.00

Susan, Linda, Nina & Cokie Audiobook

Regular Price: 19.95 USD

Play Sample
9781665058834
Play Sample

Susan, Linda, Nina & Cokie Audiobook

Regular Price: 19.95 USD
Try for $0.00
Try for $0.00
  • One credit a month
    Good for any title to download and keep
  • Listen at up to 4.5x speed
    Get through more content at up to 4.5x speed
  • Fall asleep to your favorite books
    Set a sleep timer while you listen
  • Unlimited listening to our Classics.
    Listen thousands of classics for no extra cost. Ever.
  • Immersive Reading
    Read & listen at same time to a growing catalog.

Other top audiobooks

Never Split the Difference

Susan, Linda, Nina & Cokie Audiobook Summary

A group biography of four beloved women who fought sexism, covered decades of American news, and whose voices defined NPR

In the years after the Civil Rights Act of 1964, women in the workplace still found themselves relegated to secretarial positions or locked out of jobs entirely. This was especially true in the news business, a backwater of male chauvinism in which a woman might be lucky to get a foothold on the “women’s pages.” But when a pioneering nonprofit called National Public Radio came along in the 1970s and the door to serious journalism opened a crack, four remarkable women came along and blew it off the hinges.

Susan, Linda, Nina, and Cokie is journalist Lisa Napoli’s captivating account of these four women, their deep and enduring friendships, and the trail they blazed to becoming icons. They had radically different stories. Cokie Roberts was born into a political dynasty, roamed the halls of Congress as a child, and felt a tug toward public service. Susan Stamberg, who had lived in India with her husband who worked for the State Department, was the first woman to anchor a nightly news program and pressed for accommodations to balance work and home life. Linda Wertheimer, the daughter of shopkeepers in New Mexico, fought her way to a scholarship and a spot on-air. And Nina Totenberg, the network’s legal affairs correspondent, invented a new way to cover the Supreme Court.

Based on extensive interviews and calling on the author’s deep connections in news and public radio, Susan, Linda, Nina, and Cokie is as beguiling and sharp as its formidable subjects.

Susan, Linda, Nina & Cokie Audiobook Narrator

Lisa Napoli is the narrator of Susan, Linda, Nina & Cokie audiobook that was written by Lisa Napoli

Born and raised in Brooklyn, Lisa Napoli has had a long career in journalism, including staff reporting jobs at public radio’s Marketplace, the pioneering New York Times CyberTimes, and as columnist/correspondent at MSNBC. She is the author, most recently, of Up All Night: Ted Turner, CNN, and the Birth of 24-Hour News. She has also written a biography of NPR benefactor Joan Kroc, Ray & Joan: The Man Who Made the McDonald’s Fortune and the Woman Who Gave It All Away, and a memoir, Radio Shangri-La: What I Learned in Bhutan, the Happiest Kingdom on Earth. She lives in Los Angeles.

About the Author(s) of Susan, Linda, Nina & Cokie

Lisa Napoli is the author of Susan, Linda, Nina & Cokie

Born and raised in Brooklyn, Lisa Napoli has had a long career in journalism, including staff reporting jobs at public radio’s Marketplace, the pioneering New York Times CyberTimes, and as columnist/correspondent at MSNBC. She is the author, most recently, of Up All Night: Ted Turner, CNN, and the Birth of 24-Hour News. She has also written a biography of NPR benefactor Joan Kroc, Ray & Joan: The Man Who Made the McDonald’s Fortune and the Woman Who Gave It All Away, and a memoir, Radio Shangri-La: What I Learned in Bhutan, the Happiest Kingdom on Earth. She lives in Los Angeles.

Susan, Linda, Nina & Cokie Full Details

NarratorLisa Napoli
Length10 hours and 47 minutes
AuthorLisa Napoli
PublisherBlackstone Publishing
Release dateJuly 13, 2021
ISBN9781665058834

Subjects

According to Blackstone Publishing, the Publisher of Susan, Linda, Nina & Cokie Audiobook, Susan, Linda, Nina & Cokie includes the following subjects: NPR, journalists, women journalists, All Things Considered, public radio, nonprofit, women in news, female journalists, sexist, sexism, national public radio, founding mothers, nina totenberg, Linda Wertheimer, Susan Stamberg, Cokie Roberts, news reporter, pioneer The BISAC Subject Code is

Additional info

The imprint is Blackstone Publishing. It is supplied by Blackstone Publishing. The ISBN-10 is 1665058838. The ISBN-13 is 9781665058834.

Global Availability

This book is only available in the United States.

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Related audiobooks

  • Singer Distance Ethan Chatagnier For fans of Station Eleven and Light from Other Stars, Ethan Chatagnier’s propulsive, genre-bending debut novel asks: What happens when we discover intelligent life just next door? And what does it really mean to know we’re not alone in the universe? The odds of the planet next door hosting intelligent life are―that’s not luck. That’s a miracle. It means something. In December 1960, ... Read more about Singer Distance
  • With the Devil’s Help Neal Wooten In the tradition of The Glass Castle, Educated, and Heartland, Neal Wooten traces five decades of his dirt-poor, Alabama mountain family as the years and secrets coalesce. Neal Wooten grew up in a tiny community atop Sand Mountain, Alabama, where everyone was white and everyone was poor. Prohibition was still embraced. If you wanted alcohol, you had to drive to Georgia or ask the bootlegger ... Read more about With the Devil’s Help
  • The Detective’s Daughter Erica Spindler From Erica Spindler, the New York Times bestselling author of The Other Girl and The Look-Alike, comes The Detective’s Daughter, a thrilling crime drama about a woman who risks everything to solve the cold case that destroyed her father—but will it destroy her as well? New Orleans Detective Quinn Conners is haunted by her father’s whiskey-soaked last words—that he solved the Hudson murder ... Read more about The Detective’s Daughter
  • Tearing Us Apart Ryan T. Anderson The political philosopher Ryan T. Anderson, bestselling author of When Harry Became Sally: Responding to the Transgender Moment, teams up with the pro-life journalist Alexandra DeSanctis to expose the catastrophic failure—social, political, legal, and personal—of legalized abortion. Hope in the Ruins of Roe With the Supreme Court poised to return abortion law to the democratic process, a ... Read more about Tearing Us Apart
  • Better Than We Found It Frederick Joseph From the New York Times best-selling author of The Black Friend and a seasoned activist comes an indispensable guide to social and political progressivism for young people and anyone wanting to get more involved. Every generation inherits the problems created by the ones before them, but no generation will inherit as many problems—as many crises—as the current generation of young people. From ... Read more about Better Than We Found It

Scan the QR code to continue on your phone

Choose Language :