Try for free
9781504719735
Try for $0.00

The Civil War: A Narrative, Vol. 2 Audiobook

Regular Price: 29.95 USD

Play Sample
9781504719735
Play Sample

The Civil War: A Narrative, Vol. 2 Audiobook

Regular Price: 29.95 USD
Try for $0.00
Try for $0.00
  • One credit a month
    Good for any title to download and keep
  • Listen at up to 4.5x speed
    Get through more content at up to 4.5x speed
  • Fall asleep to your favorite books
    Set a sleep timer while you listen
  • Unlimited listening to our Classics.
    Listen thousands of classics for no extra cost. Ever.
  • Immersive Reading
    Read & listen at same time to a growing catalog.

Other top audiobooks

Never Split the Difference

The Civil War: A Narrative, Vol. 2 Audiobook Summary

The Civil War: A Narrative, Vol. 2 continues one of the most remarkable works of history ever fashioned. Focusing on the pivotal year of 1863, the second volume in Shelby Foote’s masterful narrative history brings to life some of the most dramatic and important moments in the Civil War, including the Battle of Gettysburg and Grant’s Vicksburg Campaign.

The word narrative is the key to this book’s extraordinary incandescence and truth: the story is told entirely from the point of view of the people involved. One learns not only what was happening on all fronts but also how the author discovered it during his years of exhaustive research.

This is a must-listen for anyone interested in one of the bloodiest wars in America’s history.

The Civil War: A Narrative, Vol. 2 Audiobook Narrator

Grover Gardner is the narrator of The Civil War: A Narrative, Vol. 2 audiobook that was written by Shelby Foote

Grover Gardner has recorded more than 650 audiobooks since beginning his career in 1981.  He’s been named one of the “Best Voices of the Century” as well as a “Golden Voice” by AudioFile magazine.  Gardner has garnered over 20 AudioFile Earphones Awards and is the recipient of an Audio Publishers Association Audie Award, as well as a three-time finalist.  In 2005, Publishers Weekly deemed him “Audiobook Narrator of the Year.”

 

Gardner has also narrated hundreds of audiobooks under the names Tom Parker and Alexander Adams.  Among his many titles are Marcus Sakey’s At the City’s Edge, as well as Star Wars: The Phantom Menace, Mark Twain’s The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, and John Irving’s The Cider House Rules.  Gardner studied Theater and Art History at Rollins College and received a Master’s degree in Acting from George Washington University.  He lives in Oregon with his significant other and daughter.

About the Author(s) of The Civil War: A Narrative, Vol. 2

Shelby Foote is the author of The Civil War: A Narrative, Vol. 2

Shelby Foote (1916–2005) was an American historian and novelist who came from a long line of Mississippians. After attending the University of North Carolina, he served in World War II as a captain of field artillery in the European theater. He wrote six novels and was awarded three Guggenheim Fellowships in the twenty-year course of writing his monumental three-volume history, The Civil War: A Narrative.

The Civil War: A Narrative, Vol. 2 Full Details

NarratorGrover Gardner
Length52 hours and 46 minutes
AuthorShelby Foote
PublisherBlackstone Publishing
Release dateSeptember 20, 2016
ISBN9781504719735

Subjects

According to Blackstone Publishing, the Publisher of The Civil War: A Narrative, Vol. 2 Audiobook, The Civil War: A Narrative, Vol. 2 includes the following subjects: history, civil war, united states, america, union, confederacy, 1800s, nineteenth century, 19th century, battle, war, military, fredericksburg, meridian, gettysburg, lincoln, slavery, 1861-1865 The BISAC Subject Code is

Additional info

The imprint is Blackstone Publishing. It is supplied by Blackstone Publishing. The ISBN-10 is 1504719735. The ISBN-13 is 9781504719735.

Global Availability

This book is only available in the United States.

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Related audiobooks

  • Singer Distance Ethan Chatagnier For fans of Station Eleven and Light from Other Stars, Ethan Chatagnier’s propulsive, genre-bending debut novel asks: What happens when we discover intelligent life just next door? And what does it really mean to know we’re not alone in the universe? The odds of the planet next door hosting intelligent life are―that’s not luck. That’s a miracle. It means something. In December 1960, ... Read more about Singer Distance
  • With the Devil’s Help Neal Wooten In the tradition of The Glass Castle, Educated, and Heartland, Neal Wooten traces five decades of his dirt-poor, Alabama mountain family as the years and secrets coalesce. Neal Wooten grew up in a tiny community atop Sand Mountain, Alabama, where everyone was white and everyone was poor. Prohibition was still embraced. If you wanted alcohol, you had to drive to Georgia or ask the bootlegger ... Read more about With the Devil’s Help
  • The Detective’s Daughter Erica Spindler From Erica Spindler, the New York Times bestselling author of The Other Girl and The Look-Alike, comes The Detective’s Daughter, a thrilling crime drama about a woman who risks everything to solve the cold case that destroyed her father—but will it destroy her as well? New Orleans Detective Quinn Conners is haunted by her father’s whiskey-soaked last words—that he solved the Hudson murder ... Read more about The Detective’s Daughter
  • Tearing Us Apart Ryan T. Anderson The political philosopher Ryan T. Anderson, bestselling author of When Harry Became Sally: Responding to the Transgender Moment, teams up with the pro-life journalist Alexandra DeSanctis to expose the catastrophic failure—social, political, legal, and personal—of legalized abortion. Hope in the Ruins of Roe With the Supreme Court poised to return abortion law to the democratic process, a ... Read more about Tearing Us Apart
  • Better Than We Found It Frederick Joseph From the New York Times best-selling author of The Black Friend and a seasoned activist comes an indispensable guide to social and political progressivism for young people and anyone wanting to get more involved. Every generation inherits the problems created by the ones before them, but no generation will inherit as many problems—as many crises—as the current generation of young people. From ... Read more about Better Than We Found It

Scan the QR code to continue on your phone

Choose Language :