Try for free
9781799927358
Try for $0.00

The Constant Nymph Audiobook

Regular Price: 22.95 USD

Play Sample
9781799927358
Play Sample

The Constant Nymph Audiobook

Regular Price: 22.95 USD
Try for $0.00
Try for $0.00
  • One credit a month
    Good for any title to download and keep
  • Listen at up to 4.5x speed
    Get through more content at up to 4.5x speed
  • Fall asleep to your favorite books
    Set a sleep timer while you listen
  • Unlimited listening to our Classics.
    Listen thousands of classics for no extra cost. Ever.
  • Immersive Reading
    Read & listen at same time to a growing catalog.

Other top audiobooks

Never Split the Difference

The Constant Nymph Audiobook Summary

“[The Constant Nymph is] one of the best novels old or new, that had ever absorbed a reader’s attention during the still hours.”—Augustine Birrell, the New Statesman, December 6, 1924

Lewis Dodd, a young, troubled composer, arrives at “Sanger’s Circus,” a wild gathering consisting of precocious children, a slovenly mistress, and an assortment of hangers-on in the Austrian Alps overseen by the eccentric Albert Sanger, a brilliant, if unappreciated, composer himself. Tessa, Sanger’s lively fourteen-year-old daughter, falls in love with their handsome visitor.

After Albert’s death leaves Tessa and her siblings penniless, they must implore extended family members for assistance. Florence, Tessa’s twenty-eight-year-old cousin, graciously steps in to help and she falls in love with Lewis … and he reciprocates. Florence and Lewis marry, much to Tessa’s dismay, and the Sanger children are shipped off to boarding school. But Lewis, while loyal to his bride, nonetheless finds himself drawn to Tessa more and more. Even marriage cannot completely sever the bond between Lewis and his constant nymph.

An immediate bestseller whose fans included fellow authors Thomas Hardy, J. M. Barrie, A. E. Housman, and John Galsworthy, The Constant Nymph was adapted both on stage and on screen in the decades after its release. Ostensibly a tale of female rivalry, Margaret Kennedy’s classic deftly explores the tension between creative genius and the stifling constraints of polite society in early twentieth-century England.

The Constant Nymph Audiobook Narrator

Gabrielle de Cuir is the narrator of The Constant Nymph audiobook that was written by Margaret Kennedy

About the Author(s) of The Constant Nymph

Margaret Kennedy is the author of The Constant Nymph

Margaret Kennedy (1896–1967) was an English novelist and playwright. The Constant Nymph, her most successful work, was published both as a novel and a play and was made into a film in 1943. Her first publication was a history book, A Century of Revolution (1922), which she wrote after attending Somerville College, Oxford, to study history. She had a son and two daughters with her husband, the barrister David Davies. One of her daughters was the novelist Julia Birley, and the novelist Serena Mackesy is her granddaughter.

The Constant Nymph Full Details

NarratorGabrielle de Cuir
Length12 hours 3 minutes
AuthorMargaret Kennedy
PublisherBlackstone Publishing
Release dateJanuary 28, 2023
ISBN9781799927358

Subjects

According to Blackstone Publishing, the Publisher of The Constant Nymph Audiobook, The Constant Nymph includes the following subjects: The BISAC Subject Code is Fiction, Classics

Additional info

The imprint is Blackstone Publishing. It is supplied by Blackstone Publishing. The ISBN-13 is 9781799927358.

Global Availability

This book is only available in the United States.

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Related audiobooks

  • With the Devil’s Help Neal Wooten In the tradition of The Glass Castle, Educated, and Heartland, Neal Wooten traces five decades of his dirt-poor, Alabama mountain family as the years and secrets coalesce. Neal Wooten grew up in a tiny community atop Sand Mountain, Alabama, where everyone was white and everyone was poor. Prohibition was still embraced. If you wanted alcohol, you had to drive to Georgia or ask the bootlegger ... Read more about With the Devil’s Help
  • The Detective’s Daughter Erica Spindler From Erica Spindler, the New York Times bestselling author of The Other Girl and The Look-Alike, comes The Detective’s Daughter, a thrilling crime drama about a woman who risks everything to solve the cold case that destroyed her father—but will it destroy her as well? New Orleans Detective Quinn Conners is haunted by her father’s whiskey-soaked last words—that he solved the Hudson murder ... Read more about The Detective’s Daughter
  • Tearing Us Apart Ryan T. Anderson The political philosopher Ryan T. Anderson, bestselling author of When Harry Became Sally: Responding to the Transgender Moment, teams up with the pro-life journalist Alexandra DeSanctis to expose the catastrophic failure—social, political, legal, and personal—of legalized abortion. Hope in the Ruins of Roe With the Supreme Court poised to return abortion law to the democratic process, a ... Read more about Tearing Us Apart
  • Better Than We Found It Frederick Joseph From the New York Times best-selling author of The Black Friend and a seasoned activist comes an indispensable guide to social and political progressivism for young people and anyone wanting to get more involved. Every generation inherits the problems created by the ones before them, but no generation will inherit as many problems—as many crises—as the current generation of young people. From ... Read more about Better Than We Found It
  • Court of Lions Jane Johnson Sometimes at the lowest point in your life, fate will slip you a gift. Exotic adventure and a quest for redemption collide in this stunning new novel from Jane Johnson. Kate Fordham, escaping terrible personal trauma, has fled to the beautiful sunlit city of Granada, the ancient capital of the Moors in Spain. There she is scraping by with an unfulfilling job in a busy bar. One day, in the ... Read more about Court of Lions

Scan the QR code to continue on your phone

Choose Language :