Home Audiobooks The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette

Speechify, the World's Audiobook App

Stars.svg
20M+ downloads | 150K+ 5-stars reviews
Scan now to listen it on your phone!

The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette Audiobook

Publisher List Price: 19.99 USD

Speechify Price: Coming soon

Written by Carolly Erickson

Narrated by Maggi-Meg Reed

Published on September 1, 2005

Audio is 856 hours and 40 minutes

About The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette:

For more than two centuries Marie Antoinette has been vilified as the heartless, frivolous queen who spent lavishly while her people starved. Now, in the tradition of The Birth of Venus and The Other Boleyn Girl, this moving novel tells her side of the story.

Imagine that, on the night before she is to die under the blade of the guillotine, Marie Antoinette leaves behind in her prison cell a diary telling the story of her life—from her privileged childhood as Austrian Archduchess to her years as glamorous mistress of Versailles to the heartbreak of imprisonment and humiliation during the French Revolution. Carolly Erickson takes us deep into the psyche of France’s doomed queen: her love affair with handsome Swedish diplomat Count Axel Fersen, who risked his life to save her on the terrifying night the Parisian mob broke into her palace bedroom intent on murdering her and her family; her harrowing flight from France in disguise, her recapture and the grim months of harsh captivity; her agony when her beloved husband was guillotined and her beloved son was torn from her arms, never to be seen again.

Erickson brilliantly captures the queen’s voice, her hopes, her dreads, her suffering. We follow, mesmerized, as she reveals every detail of her remarkable, eventful life, from her teenage years when she began keeping a diary to her final days when she awaited her own bloody appointment with the guillotine.

,

Marie Antoinette has been vilified as the heartless queen who spent lavishly while her people starved. This moving novel tells her side of the story.

,

Distinguished historian CAROLLY ERICKSON is the author of The First Elizabeth, Great Catherine, Alexandra and a dozen other prize-winning biographies. She lives in Hawaii.



Maggi-Meg Reed is the narrator of numerous popular audiobooks including Alex Kava’s One False Move, Sebastien Japrisot’s A Very Long Engagement, and Audrey Niffenegger’s The Time Traveler’s Wife. Reed is a multiple Audie nominee, Earphones winner, and AudioFile Featured Narrator.

,“The old ‘let them eat cake’ myth has once and forever been exploded, yet the author resists the temptation to sentimentalize or simplify the maddeningly complex character of Marie Antoinette.” —Robin Maxwell, author of The Secret Diary of Anne Boleyn

The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette was published on September 1, 2005.

The The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette Audiobook is 856 hours and 40 minutes. Speechify has the Abridged edition version of the audiobook.

Both the publication language and the narration language are in English.

Speechify, the World's Audiobook App

Stars.svg
20M+ downloads | 150K+ 5-stars reviews
Scan now to listen it on your phone!

Subjects in The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette

The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette includes the following subjects: historical France, historical fiction, historical novels, french revolution, french revolution novels, royalty, biographical fiction, famous women, Marie Antoinette fiction, queen, historical romance, french history, diary, epistolary fiction, king of France, journal, Versailles, womens fiction, women authors, audiobooks, audio books, books on tape. The BISAC Subject Code is Fiction, Historical.

About the Author(s) of The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette

The author of The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette is Carolly Erickson.

About the Narrator of The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette Audiobook

The narrator for the The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette Audiobook is Maggi-Meg Reed.

The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette Audiobook Additional Info

The imprint is Macmillan Audio. It is supplied by MPS. The ISBN-10 is 1593978308. The ISBN-13 is 9781593978303.

Global Availability of The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette Audiobook

PS, FI, KM, LT, TJ, AD, TL, RE, CG, HT, CD, MK, TH, AR, DZ, DJ, NE, FR, AF, AX, CV, FM, PA, MF, SX, CI, HK, KR, GS, MZ, RO, DE, GE, HN, QA, BA, ER, KG, BY, SK, TW, AZ, AE, SV, PY, TG, SS, TN, NU, AM, GW, PF, IR, YT, TM, EG, KH, CZ, MV, CW, UY, CL, SY, RU, BV, NC, AW, LR, NI, BH, JO, ML, GF, SR, GN, IS, EE, UA, EH, PL, BQ, PE, CR, ID, BR, CN, ES, CK, TF, RS, HU, GA, BI, LI, TR, CX, BL, BF, SI, TD, CF, AQ, LB, PM, SG, GT, IT, MC, AO, BE, HR, SA, MH, VN, CU, MO, KZ, BO, GP, UZ, MN, MG, LU, SD, KP, PT, JP, ET, VA, NO, SM, FO, IL, LA, CO, DK, AL, WF, LV, PW, MR, SJ, YE, HM, OM, BG, GQ, ME, BJ, ZA, EC, DO, BT, RW, GL, MA, SN, NL, MD, NP, ST, MX, IO, SE, VE, LY, GR, AT, CH, AU, GD, ZM, NZ, CM, NA, NR, GB, FJ, PN, LC, MY, SC, BB, IQ, MT, KW, WS, FK, MM, UG, TV, BS, BN, VU, DM, TO, IE, GM, JE, KY, NG, BZ, GI, MQ, MS, TT, TZ, TC, TK, SB, AG, BD, GY, KI, AI, IM, ZW, SO, SZ, BW, PG, BM, PK, CY, VC, GH, VG, IN, LK, SH, SL, CC, JM, MU, LS, KN, NF, GG, KE, MW, VI, AS, PR, MP, PH, UM, CA, US, GU

Related audiobooks

  • The Fort Gordon Korman What if you found a place that nobody else knew about? The morning after Hurricane Leo rips through their town, Evan, Jason, Mitchell, and C.J. find a total mess outside, with downed branches and uprooted trees everywhere. They know they should stay indoors—but they want to go exploring, even if it means having a new kid, Ricky, tag along. Ricky’s the first one to discover a strange trapdoor ... Read more about The Fort
  • The Cockroach Ian McEwan A brilliant, of-the-moment political satire like no other: here is Ian McEwan’s Brexit-era take on Kafka’s Metamorphosis, centered on a cockroach transformed into the prime minister of England. An Anchor Original. That morning, Jim Sams, clever but by no means profound, woke from uneasy dreams to find himself transformed into a giant creature. Jim Sams has undergone a metamorphosis. In his ... Read more about The Cockroach
  • Lady of Bones Carolyn Haines Carolyn Haines’s Lady of Bones is the next novel in the series that Kirkus Reviewscharacterizes as “Stephanie Plum meets the Ya-Ya Sisterhood” featuring sassy Southern private investigator Sarah Booth Delaney. It’s Halloween season in Mississippi as Sarah Booth and the gang gather to decorate and gush over Tinkie’s new baby, Maylin. Sarah Booth is just about to refresh the cocktails ... Read more about Lady of Bones
  • Mayo Clinic on Osteoporosis Ann E. Kearns “No matter your age or bone health, you can take steps to prevent future breaks. The best time to start is now.” Your skeleton is a busy system of living tissue. Every day, bone is being broken down and replaced. But with osteoporosis, this process causes your bones to become weak and fragile. The disease often goes undetected until you have a fall or a painful fracture. However, having ... Read more about Mayo Clinic on Osteoporosis
  • Dead Shot J.A. Johnstone Luke Jensen brings a body to Rio Rojo. After all, it’s his job, and he’s going to get paid. But before he can collect the bounty for killing a killer, two notorious criminals hit the Rio Rojo bank. Now Luke can’t get paid unless he catches professional bandit Gunner Kelly and his Apache sidekick Dog Eater. Unfortunately, a would-be man hunter is after the money-toting outlaws, too, and ... Read more about Dead Shot

Choose Language :