Try for free
Home Audiobooks The Long Way Home

Speechify, the World's Audiobook App

Stars.svg
20M+ downloads | 150K+ 5-stars reviews
Scan now to listen it on your phone!

The Long Way Home Audiobook

Publisher List Price: 19.99 USD

Speechify Price: Coming soon

Written by Robin Pilcher

Narrated by Kate Reading

Published on March 30, 2010

Audio is 1423 hours and 20 minutes

About The Long Way Home:

The Long Way Home is Robin Pilcher at his best. I devoured every word of this masterful storyteller.”—Debbie Macomber, #1 New York Times bestselling author

In the vein of Maeve Binchy, Rosamunde Pilcher, and Nicholas Sparks, New York Times bestselling author Robin Pilcher returns with his most enchanting novel yet, filled with captivating twists and turns of heart.

When Claire Barclay receives news that her beloved stepfather has had a stroke, she’s more than a little shaken. Leo is her last real relative, and his own children rarely check up on the old man. Claire and her husband, Art, leave New York and fly back to Scotland to care for him during the summer.

Their visit makes clear that Leo is no longer capable of living on his own, but he is determined to stay in his beloved old house. Art comes up with the idea of turning the place into a conference center, thinking they could purchase the place from Leo and build him a cottage on the property.
But the situation is much more complicated than it seems. Claire’s old flame, Jonas Fairwether, has become Leo’s caretaker and trusted confidant. Though Claire distrusts Jonas’s motives, Leo chooses to take his advice to put the house up for public auction rather than sell directly to Art and Claire.

Claire is immediately suspicious, and even more so when she finds out that another application has been submitted to develop the property. Does Jonas Fairwether want to knock down the Leo’s house and build a development? It looks like whoever is behind the plan is being driven by financial gain, but there may be an even stronger motive.

The Long Way Home will keep readers on the edge of their seats. This is a masterful novel from a master storyteller.

,

In this enchanting novel, after learning that her beloved stepfather suffered a stroke, Claire Barclay flies to Scotland to care for him.

,

ROBIN PILCHER has worked as a farmer, assistant film cameraman, and PR consultant. An Ocean Apart, his first novel, was a New York Times bestseller and a favorite among Pilcher fans, old and new. The Long Way Home is his fifth novel.


Kate Reading is the recipient of multiple AudioFile Earphones Awards and has been named by AudioFile magazine as a “Voice of the Century,” as well as the Best Voice in Science Fiction & Fantasy in 2008 and 2009 and Best Voice in Biography & Culture in 2010. Reading has performed at numerous theaters in Washington D.C. and received a Helen Hayes Award for her performance in Aunt Dan and Lemon.

,

“Pilcher weaves a wonderful story filled with love, deceit, and friendship that is reminiscent of his mother Rosamunde’s work.” —Booklist

“An agreeable tale of friendship–broken and mended–set in the Scottish countryside.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Pilcher’s sweet story of a past reconciled is warm and touching.” —RT Book Reviews

The Long Way Home was published on March 30, 2010.

The The Long Way Home Audiobook is 1423 hours and 20 minutes. Speechify has the Unabridged edition version of the audiobook.

Both the publication language and the narration language are in English.

Speechify, the World's Audiobook App

Stars.svg
20M+ downloads | 150K+ 5-stars reviews
Scan now to listen it on your phone!

Subjects in The Long Way Home

The Long Way Home includes the following subjects: New York Times bestselling author, caring for others, inheritance, past love, rekindled love, trust, loyalty, deceit, greed, sickness, health, heart disease, old flame, tale of friendship, neighbors, step family, step siblings, stepfather, set in Scotland, domestic life, chick lit, contemporary novel, audiobook, audio book, books on tape. The BISAC Subject Code is Fiction, Contemporary Women.

About the Author(s) of The Long Way Home

The author of The Long Way Home is Robin Pilcher.

About the Narrator of The Long Way Home Audiobook

The narrator for the The Long Way Home Audiobook is Kate Reading.

The Long Way Home Audiobook Additional Info

The imprint is Macmillan Audio. It is supplied by MPS. The ISBN-10 is 1427209642. The ISBN-13 is 9781427209641.

Global Availability of The Long Way Home Audiobook

VI, AS, PR, MP, PH, UM, CA, US, GU, PS, FI, KM, LT, TJ, AD, TL, RE, CG, HT, CD, MK, TH, AR, DZ, DJ, NE, FR, AF, AX, CV, FM, PA, MF, SX, CI, HK, KR, GS, MZ, RO, DE, GE, HN, QA, BA, ER, KG, BY, SK, TW, AZ, AE, SV, PY, TG, SS, TN, NU, AM, GW, PF, IR, YT, TM, EG, KH, CZ, MV, CW, UY, CL, SY, RU, BV, NC, AW, LR, NI, BH, JO, ML, GF, SR, GN, IS, EE, UA, EH, PL, BQ, PE, CR, ID, BR, CN, ES, CK, TF, NZ, RS, HU, GA, BI, LI, TR, CX, BL, BF, SI, TD, CF, AQ, LB, PM, GT, IT, MC, AO, BE, HR, SA, MH, VN, CU, MO, KZ, BO, GP, UZ, MN, MG, LU, SD, KP, PT, JP, ET, VA, NO, SM, FO, IL, LA, CO, DK, AL, WF, LV, PW, MR, SJ, YE, HM, OM, BG, GQ, ME, BJ, ZA, EC, DO, BT, RW, GL, MA, SN, NL, MD, NP, ST, MX, IO, SE, VE, LY, GR, AT, CH, AU, GD, ZM, CM, NA, NR, GB, FJ, PN, LC, MY, SC, SG, BB, IQ, MT, KW, WS, FK, MM, UG, TV, BS, BN, VU, DM, TO, IE, GM, JE, KY, NG, BZ, GI, MQ, MS, TT, TZ, TC, TK, SB, AG, BD, GY, KI, AI, IM, ZW, SO, SZ, BW, PG, BM, PK, CY, VC, GH, VG, IN, LK, SH, SL, CC, JM, MU, LS, KN, NF, GG, KE, MW

Related audiobooks

  • The Fort Gordon Korman What if you found a place that nobody else knew about? The morning after Hurricane Leo rips through their town, Evan, Jason, Mitchell, and C.J. find a total mess outside, with downed branches and uprooted trees everywhere. They know they should stay indoors—but they want to go exploring, even if it means having a new kid, Ricky, tag along. Ricky’s the first one to discover a strange trapdoor ... Read more about The Fort
  • The Cockroach Ian McEwan A brilliant, of-the-moment political satire like no other: here is Ian McEwan’s Brexit-era take on Kafka’s Metamorphosis, centered on a cockroach transformed into the prime minister of England. An Anchor Original. That morning, Jim Sams, clever but by no means profound, woke from uneasy dreams to find himself transformed into a giant creature. Jim Sams has undergone a metamorphosis. In his ... Read more about The Cockroach
  • Lady of Bones Carolyn Haines Carolyn Haines’s Lady of Bones is the next novel in the series that Kirkus Reviewscharacterizes as “Stephanie Plum meets the Ya-Ya Sisterhood” featuring sassy Southern private investigator Sarah Booth Delaney. It’s Halloween season in Mississippi as Sarah Booth and the gang gather to decorate and gush over Tinkie’s new baby, Maylin. Sarah Booth is just about to refresh the cocktails ... Read more about Lady of Bones
  • Mayo Clinic on Osteoporosis Ann E. Kearns “No matter your age or bone health, you can take steps to prevent future breaks. The best time to start is now.” Your skeleton is a busy system of living tissue. Every day, bone is being broken down and replaced. But with osteoporosis, this process causes your bones to become weak and fragile. The disease often goes undetected until you have a fall or a painful fracture. However, having ... Read more about Mayo Clinic on Osteoporosis
  • Dead Shot J.A. Johnstone Luke Jensen brings a body to Rio Rojo. After all, it’s his job, and he’s going to get paid. But before he can collect the bounty for killing a killer, two notorious criminals hit the Rio Rojo bank. Now Luke can’t get paid unless he catches professional bandit Gunner Kelly and his Apache sidekick Dog Eater. Unfortunately, a would-be man hunter is after the money-toting outlaws, too, and ... Read more about Dead Shot

Choose Language :