9781427252388

The Nightingale

Regular Price: 32.99 USD

9781427252388

The Nightingale

Regular Price: 32.99 USD
Get this book for $1

Other top audibooks

Summary

In love we find out who we want to be.
In war we find out who we are.

FRANCE, 1939

In the quiet village of Carriveau, Vianne Mauriac says goodbye to her husband, Antoine, as he heads for the Front. She doesn’t believe that the Nazis will invade France…but invade they do, in droves of marching soldiers, in caravans of trucks and tanks, in planes that fill the skies and drop bombs upon the innocent. When a German captain requisitions Vianne’s home, she and her daughter must live with the enemy or lose everything. Without food or money or hope, as danger escalates all around them, she is forced to make one impossible choice after another to keep her family alive.

Vianne’s sister, Isabelle, is a rebellious eighteen-year-old girl, searching for purpose with all the reckless passion of youth. While thousands of Parisians march into the unknown terrors of war, she meets Gäetan, a partisan who believes the French can fight the Nazis from within France, and she falls in love as only the young can…completely. But when he betrays her, Isabelle joins the Resistance and never looks back, risking her life time and again to save others.

With courage, grace and powerful insight, bestselling author Kristin Hannah captures the epic panorama of WWII and illuminates an intimate part of history seldom seen: the women’s war. The Nightingale tells the stories of two sisters, separated by years and experience, by ideals, passion and circumstance, each embarking on her own dangerous path toward survival, love, and freedom in German-occupied, war-torn France–a heartbreakingly beautiful novel that celebrates the resilience of the human spirit and the durability of women. It is a novel for everyone, a novel for a lifetime.

,

Kristin Hannah is the New York Times bestselling author of novels including Night Road, Firefly Lane, True Colors and Winter Garden. A former lawyer, Hannah started writing when she was pregnant and on bed rest for five months. Writing soon became an obsession, and she has been at it ever since.

Polly Stone has recorded a number of popular audiobooks, the most prominent of which is Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay. She has also narrated Shaggy Muses and is the author of 1003 Great Things About Being Jewish.

,

”Polly Stone delivers an impeccable narration that brings the sisters and wartime France to life with a distinctive and memorable set of voices that will keep listeners coming back for more.” —Library Journal (Starred Review)

”The audio version is outstandingly read by Polly Stone, whose versatility — between men and women, Germans and French, adults and children — leaves no doubt who is speaking throughout the book.” —Fran Wood, NJ.com

“I loved Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale. She has captured a particular slice of French life during World War II with wonderful details and drama. But what I loved most about the novel was the relationship between the two sisters and Hannah’s exploration of what we do in moments of great challenge. Do we rise to the occasion or fail? Are we heroes or cowards? Are we loyal to the people we love most or do we betray them? Hannah explores these questions with probing finesse and great heart.” —Lisa See, #1 New York Times bestseller author of Snow Flower and the Secret Fan

“In this epic novel, set in France in World War II, two sisters who live in a small village find themselves estranged when they disagree about the imminent threat of occupation. Separated by principles and temperament, each must find her own way forward as she faces moral questions and life-or-death choices. Haunting, action-packed, and compelling.” —Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train

“I read The Nightingale in one sitting, completely transported to wartime France, completely forgetting where I was. A historical novel-built on Kristin Hannah’s proven skill with story, complex and enduring family ties, and passion-one that will captivate readers.” —Marilyn Dahl, Shelf Awareness

“I found The Nightingale absolutely riveting! I started reading it one night after supper with every intention of reading just a few chapters for that evening and could not put it down. Not only is it an emotionally inspiring story with well-drawn characters whom you grow to care about deeply, but it is also historically informative….Read this book. It will keep you guessing throughout about the two sisters, Vianne and Isabelle, both brave young women who did what they thought was the right thing to do in the most of difficult circumstances. They had–in the words of Lawrence Langer the WW2 historian scholar too often to make ‘choiceless choices.’” —Dr. Miriam Klein Kassenoff, Director of the University of Miami Holocaust Teacher Institute

“A beautifully written and richly evocative examination of life, love, and the ravages of war, and the different ways people react to unthinkable situations-not to mention the terrible and mounting toll of keeping secrets. This powerhouse of a story is equally packed with action and emotion, and is sure to be another major hit.” —Sara Gruen, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Water for Elephants

Subjects in The Nightingale

The Nightingale includes the following subjects: Historical / World War II. The BISAC Subject Code is Fiction, Contemporary Women.

About the Author(s) of The Nightingale

The author of The Nightingale is Kristin Hannah.

About the Narrator of The Nightingale Audiobook

The narrator for the The Nightingale Audiobook is Polly Stone.

The Nightingale Audiobook Additional Info

The imprint is Macmillan Audio. It is supplied by MPS. The ISBN-10 is 1427252386. The ISBN-13 is 9781427252388.

Global Availability of The Nightingale Audiobook

MW, ZM, GI, CY, RW, IM, IE, MU, PK, GY, TC, MY, PN, BW, NA, NG, PG, TZ, NF, FK, LC, CC, GD, DM, TO, SL, VC, TK, FJ, GB, JM, VU, IN, KI, GH, MZ, JE, MQ, SC, TT, AG, LS, BD, GS, KY, MT, MV, NZ, VG, BM, AU, LK, BB, ZA, UG, GM, TV, SH, GG, KE, MS, SZ, CM, BN, BS, SB, WS, KN, AI, BZ, NR, GU, PH, MP, AS, PR, CA, US, UM, VI, TL, CX, CN, FI, NL, AT, MN, CD, PM, WF, MD, GA, VN, ML, CI, ET, DO, FO, MH, BV, TD, GT, MG, GP, SO, MA, LY, JO, FR, SV, LI, PY, CG, BE, KG, GF, HM, SS, PE, AR, IQ, ST, MM, BG, UZ, GL, AE, RO, CK, SX, BR, SN, EE, RE, YT, HU, IL, CZ, BQ, CV, NI, ME, CU, SM, LB, DZ, PS, CW, BL, TJ, AX, IR, MF, RS, BY, VE, NC, AL, AF, BH, RU, UA, MR, HR, GQ, NP, AM, PT, AQ, AZ, TR, TM, ER, FM, LV, TG, NU, HT, KW, DK, SK, SR, SI, ES, AD, KR, LR, VA, EC, NO, CR, PA, AW, ID, KP, LA, DJ, EH, YE, CF, MK, HK, LU, SY, CL, CH, SG, PF, TF, SE, BI, BJ, EG, NE, GN, GW, IO, KZ, GR, QA, ZW, IS, OM, SD, TW, MO, BO, CO, PW, KM, MX, SJ, AO, JP, TH, BT, LT, TN, BA, GE, HN, SA, MC, BF, IT, PL, UY, DE, KH

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Premium Audiobooks

  • Les cordes Une rencontre inattendue place Sarah Gandry face à ses deux amours. Oui, deux. Wilder et King sont le socle de ses fantasmes, d’aussi loin qu’elle se souvienne. Mais ils étaient restés… des fantasmes. Jusqu’à présent.Maintenant, il leur appartient à tous les trois de rétablir ... Read Book
  • Valentine Pontifex The extraordinary story continues in this magnificent installment of the bestselling Majipoor series, begun in Lord Valentine’s Castle.Dark dreams disturb Lord Valentine’s sleep, a forewarning of the danger that threatens the peace of Majipoor. The Shapeshifters have set in motion a ... Read Book
  • Must Love Dogs: Bark & Roll Forever From Claire Cook, New York Times bestselling author of the much-loved novel-turned-movie starring Diane Lane and John Cusack, comes Must Love Dogs: Bark & Roll Forever, book four of the hilarious and heartwarming Must Love Dogs series.Sarah and John are finally going to move in together. But ... Read Book
  • Everyman The bestselling author of “The Plot Against America” now turns his attention to one man’s lifelong confrontation with mortality in this fiercely intimate yet universal story of loss, regret, and stoicism. Unabridged. 5 CDs. Read Book
  • The Chessmen of Doom In a thrilling adventure, a young sleuth and his professor friend are challenged to solve a riddle and win a fortune.Professor Roderick Childermass may be the strangest person Johnny Dixon has ever met, but compared to his brother Peregrine, the professor is practically normal. Peregrine is a born ... Read Book
  • Along the Saltwise Sea For fans of Kelly Barnhill and Cat Valente’s Fairyland books, adventure and danger lurk Along the Saltwise Sea in this new audiobook by Seanan McGuire’s latest open pseudonym, A. Deborah Baker.”Miller’s pacing is superb as he flawlessly depicts each character in this bizarre world. ... Read Book
  • The Winning Attitude Winner of two World championships, three U.S. National championships, and an Olympic Silver Medal, Michelle Kwan is a true champion. Her warm, friendly confidence and extraordinary skating talent have made her a legend in her own time. Michelle has had to work hard and make sacrifices to get to the ... Read Book

Related audiobooks

  • The Return of the King J. R. R. Tolkien THE THIRD PART OF J.R.R. TOLKIEN’S EPIC MASTERPIECE, THE LORD OF THE RINGS The Dark Lord Sauron has risen, and as he unleashes hordes of Orcs to conquer all Middle-earth, Frodo and Sam struggle deep into his realm in Mordor. To defeat Sauron, the One Ring must be destroyed in the fires of Mount Doom. But the way is impossibly hard, and Frodo is weakening. The Ring corrupts all who bear it and ... Read more about The Return of the King
  • The Way of Kings Brandon Sanderson From #1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson, The Way of Kings, Book One of the Stormlight Archive begins an incredible new saga of epic proportion.Roshar is a world of stone and storms. Uncanny tempests of incredible power sweep across the rocky terrain so frequently that they have shaped ecology and civilization alike. Animals hide in shells, trees pull in branches, and grass ... Read more about The Way of Kings
  • Sapiens Yuval Noah Harari New York Times BestsellerA Summer Reading Pick for President Barack Obama, Bill Gates, and Mark Zuckerberg From a renowned historian comes a groundbreaking narrative of humanity’s creation and evolution—a #1 international bestseller—that explores the ways in which biology and history have defined us and enhanced our understanding of what it means to be “human.”One hundred thousand years ... Read more about Sapiens
  • The Chronicles of Narnia Complete Audio Collection C S Lewis For over sixty years, readers of all ages have been enchanted by the magical realms, the epic battles between good and evil, and the unforgettable creatures of Narnia.This box set includes all seven titles in The Chronicles of Narnia—The Magician’s Nephew; The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe; The Horse and His Boy; Prince Caspian; The Voyage of the Dawn Treader; The Silver Chair; and The ... Read more about The Chronicles of Narnia Complete Audio Collection
  • Dune Frank Herbert NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE directed by Denis Villeneuve, starring Timothée Chalamet, Josh Brolin, Jason Momoa, Zendaya, Rebecca Ferguson, Oscar Isaac, Javier Bardem, Dave Bautista, Stellan Skarsgård, and Charlotte Rampling. Set on the desert planet Arrakis, Dune is the story of the boy Paul Atreides, who would become the mysterious man known as Muad’dib. He would avenge the traitorous plot ... Read more about Dune

Scan the QR code to continue on your phone

Choose Language :