The Thing with Feathers

Regular Price: 21.99 USD

The Thing with Feathers

Regular Price: 21.99 USD
Get this book for $1

Other top audibooks

Summary

Emilie Day believes in playing it safe: she’s homeschooled, her best friend is her seizure dog, and she’s probably the only girl on the Outer Banks of North Carolina who can’t swim.

Then Emilie’s mom enrolls her in public school, and Emilie goes from studying at home in her pj’s to halls full of strangers. To make matters worse, Emilie is paired with starting point guard Chatham York for a major research project on Emily Dickinson. She should be ecstatic when Chatham shows interest, but she has a problem. She hasn’t told anyone about her epilepsy.

Emilie lives in fear her recently adjusted meds will fail and she’ll seize at school. Eventually, the worst happens, and she must decide whether to withdraw to safety or follow a dead poet’s advice and “dwell in possibility.”

From Golden Heart award-winning author McCall Hoyle comes The Thing with Feathers, a story of overcoming fears, forging new friendships, and finding a first love, perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven, Robyn Schneider, and Sharon M. Draper.

,“[Readers] will swoon over the dreamy Chatham and root for Emilie to come out of her shell.”,A refreshing, quality debut–meaningfully woven and beautifully engaging, from the first page to the last.

Told in a remarkably unobtrusive first-person present-tense format, THE THING WITH FEATHERS is a coming-of-age story centered around new beginnings, old grief, and coming to terms with an ‘invisible’ disability. I liked the subject matter and voice in the blurb enough to give this a go, but it was the first line that truly snared me: ‘My mother lost her mind today, and I’m going to prison.’ A terrific introduction to the main character, Emilie, in a single (and perplexingly snarky) sentence. From there the author doesn’t just grab initial attention, she holds onto it with crisp writing, insightful emotional depth, and a relatably smart, sarcastic heroine.

Kudos to the author on such solid characterization of a service animal. Hitch (Emilie’s seizure-sensing golden retriever) feels immediately believable, and his functionality is explained and expanded on at natural intervals. What’s more, the additional significance and personality Emilie ascribes to his actions and facial expressions often tells readers as much (if not more) about her own mindset as it does about the dog himself.

I’d never before heard the theory that Emily Dickinson may have been Epileptic–but it would certainly explain both her reclusive nature (especially during an era in which the condition was misunderstood and stigmatized) and her broodingly hopeful compositions. That tie-in was a welcome organic thread, offering opportunity for both educational points and outside literary input; without beating readers over the head with it. There isn’t anything surprising about the plot itself–no twists or anything you won’t see coming from early on. The primary antagonist (outside of Epilepsy itself) struck this reader as almost disappointingly toothless. But the story’s execution is charming and the ending pulls everything together with a satisfying and ultimately hopeful symmetry.,

Emilie Day believes in playing it safe: she’s homeschooled, her best friend is her seizure dog, and she’s probably the only girl on the Outer Banks of North Carolina who can’t swim.

Then Emilie’s mom enrolls her in public school, and Emilie goes from studying at home in her pj’s to halls full of strangers. To make matters worse, Emilie is paired with starting point guard Chatham York for a major research project on Emily Dickinson. She should be ecstatic when Chatham shows interest, but she has a problem. She hasn’t told anyone about her epilepsy.

Emilie lives in fear her recently adjusted meds will fail and she’ll seize at school. Eventually, the worst happens, and she must decide whether to withdraw to safety or follow a dead poet’s advice and “dwell in possibility.”

From Golden Heart award-winning author McCall Hoyle comes The Thing with Feathers, a story of overcoming fears, forging new friendships, and finding a first love, perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven, Robyn Schneider, and Sharon M. Draper.

,From Golden Heart award-winning author McCall Hoyle comes The Thing with Feathers, the story of sixteen-year-old Emilie Day, an epileptic teen leaving her safe, homeschooled life for high school on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. For the first time, Emilie must navigate classes, cliques, and crushes, all the while keeping her epilepsy a secret.

Subjects in The Thing with Feathers

The Thing with Feathers includes the following subjects: Young Adult Fiction | Coming of Age. The BISAC Subject Code is .

About the Author(s) of The Thing with Feathers

The author of The Thing with Feathers is McCall Hoyle. McCall Hoyle writes honest YA novels about friendship, first love, and girls finding the strength to overcome great challenges. She is a high school English teacher. Her own less-than-perfect teenage experiences and those of the girls she teaches inspire many of the struggles in her books. When she’s not reading or writing, she’s spending time with her family and their odd assortment of pets—a food-obsessed beagle, a grumpy rescue cat, and a three-and-a-half-legged kitten. She has an English degree from Columbia College and a master’s degree from Georgia State University. She lives in a cottage in the woods in North Georgia where she reads and writes every day. Learn more at mcallhoyle.com.  

About the Narrator of The Thing with Feathers Audiobook

The narrator for the The Thing with Feathers

The Thing with Feathers Audiobook Additional Info

The imprint is Blink. It is supplied by Zondervan. The ISBN-10 is 031076386X. The ISBN-13 is 9780310763864.

Global Availability of The Thing with Feathers Audiobook

UZ, AQ, BM, BY, AE, MV, GU, MT, MM, AF, UG, SV, EE, JM, TN, PG, NI, NZ, EH, PT, AW, RO, SY, TM, IS, AD, LB, CA, IQ, KM, AU, IO, NR, KY, GD, IE, BF, LV, CN, TG, AR, HR, LS, AG, JE, TW, MD, LK, TJ, SJ, CD, SR, DE, TC, IM, LY, IL, CH, PE, MW, MX, SZ, DJ, AT, SM, QA, FK, IN, AX, SO, IT, CZ, GP, TD, AZ, FJ, GQ, BV, CG, GG, MO, BL, NU, RE, JO, RU, ME, SB, MZ, GE, GN, CK, YT, GH, GR, RW, FO, PA, CI, GS, CX, MH, GB, BZ, NF, GY, ML, HT, KE, GI, LR, MF, CC, PM, GL, UY, BG, ES, MG, SA, MC, KG, MQ, MK, VN, CR, DM, FR, VU, AS, FI, TR, LC, ZA, BW, PS, AN, VI, UM, CO, TV, LU, NP, MP, PR, KP, SK, WS, VG, BH, NG, CM, ID, AI, PF, BE, LI, SL, SG, PK, ST, MU, MR, IR, DO, TO, EG, UA, GM, CV, EC, HN, CL, VC, BT, DZ, SE, CF, KZ, MN, SC, VA, ZM, PW, SN, NL, TH, BA, ER, KW, TK, SH, GA, NC, KH, PL, OM, KR, JP, BJ, MS, YE, WF, BR, GW, TF, HU, AO, KI, BS, AM, BB, PH, PY, AL, LT, HK, BO, NO, HM, NA, BI, US, LA, PN, CU, NE, VE, TZ, SD, GT, SI, ZW, DK, ET, BD, GF, KN, CY, TT, FM, MY, BN, TL, MA

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Premium Audiobooks

  • Those Who Forget “[Makes] the very convincing case that, until and unless there is a full accounting for what happened with Donald Trump, 2020 is not over and never will be.” —The New Yorker “Riveting…we can never be reminded too often to never forget.” —The Wall Street ... Read Book
  • The Big Picture of Life Young people wonder about answers to life’s big questions: “Who am I?” “Why am I here?” “What happens after I die?” and others.Some adults don’t know the answers, while others may not want to talk about these topics. In The Big Picture of Life, you can learn:there is MUCH more to ... Read Book
  • Monster, She Wrote Satisfy your craving for extraordinary authors and exceptional fiction: Meet the women writers who defied convention to craft some of literature’s strangest tales, from Frankenstein to The Haunting of Hill House and beyond.Frankenstein was just the beginning: horror stories and other weird ... Read Book
  • The Christian Mind Harry Blamires, a noted British Christian thinker who started writing through the encouragement of C. S. Lewis, his tutor at Oxford, makes a perceptive diagnosis of some of the weaknesses besetting the church today. He argues that the distinctively Christian intellect is being swept away by secular ... Read Book
  • Tumbling Blocks Earlene Fowler’s best-selling Benni Harper Mystery series earned the author an Agatha Award. In this 13th installment, ex-cowgirl and quilter Bennie moves to California to start over after the sudden death of her husband. Working as the curator of a folk-art museum, Benni uncovers clues to a ... Read Book
  • Leaving Cloud 9 A powerful, heartbreaking, and redemptive account of a boy who endured a childhood of poverty and abuse in an American Southwest trailer park named Cloud 9.Abandoned by his father at age two, Rick Sylvester lived with an abusive mother whose struggles as a member of the working poor led her to ... Read Book
  • Remainders of the Day New from the author of Confessions of a Bookseller and Seven Kinds of People You Find in Bookshops, another hilariously grumpy year behind the counter at The Bookshop. Though diaries of daily life, Shaun Bythell has created an endearing and cozy world for booklovers, a warm and welcome memoir of a ... Read Book

Related audiobooks

  • The Return of the King J. R. R. Tolkien THE THIRD PART OF J.R.R. TOLKIEN’S EPIC MASTERPIECE, THE LORD OF THE RINGS The Dark Lord Sauron has risen, and as he unleashes hordes of Orcs to conquer all Middle-earth, Frodo and Sam struggle deep into his realm in Mordor. To defeat Sauron, the One Ring must be destroyed in the fires of Mount Doom. But the way is impossibly hard, and Frodo is weakening. The Ring corrupts all who bear it and ... Read more about The Return of the King
  • Sapiens Yuval Noah Harari New York Times BestsellerA Summer Reading Pick for President Barack Obama, Bill Gates, and Mark Zuckerberg From a renowned historian comes a groundbreaking narrative of humanity’s creation and evolution—a #1 international bestseller—that explores the ways in which biology and history have defined us and enhanced our understanding of what it means to be “human.”One hundred thousand years ... Read more about Sapiens
  • The Chronicles of Narnia Complete Audio Collection C S Lewis For over sixty years, readers of all ages have been enchanted by the magical realms, the epic battles between good and evil, and the unforgettable creatures of Narnia.This box set includes all seven titles in The Chronicles of Narnia—The Magician’s Nephew; The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe; The Horse and His Boy; Prince Caspian; The Voyage of the Dawn Treader; The Silver Chair; and The ... Read more about The Chronicles of Narnia Complete Audio Collection
  • The Way of Kings Brandon Sanderson From #1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson, The Way of Kings, Book One of the Stormlight Archive begins an incredible new saga of epic proportion.Roshar is a world of stone and storms. Uncanny tempests of incredible power sweep across the rocky terrain so frequently that they have shaped ecology and civilization alike. Animals hide in shells, trees pull in branches, and grass ... Read more about The Way of Kings
  • Dune Frank Herbert NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE directed by Denis Villeneuve, starring Timothée Chalamet, Josh Brolin, Jason Momoa, Zendaya, Rebecca Ferguson, Oscar Isaac, Javier Bardem, Dave Bautista, Stellan Skarsgård, and Charlotte Rampling. Set on the desert planet Arrakis, Dune is the story of the boy Paul Atreides, who would become the mysterious man known as Muad’dib. He would avenge the traitorous plot ... Read more about Dune

Scan the QR code to continue on your phone

Choose Language :