Try for free
9798212027120
Try for $0.00

What the Ear Hears (and Doesn’t) Audiobook

Regular Price: 19.95 USD

Play Sample
9798212027120
Play Sample

What the Ear Hears (and Doesn’t) Audiobook

Regular Price: 19.95 USD
Try for $0.00
Try for $0.00
  • One credit a month
    Good for any title to download and keep
  • Listen at up to 4.5x speed
    Get through more content at up to 4.5x speed
  • Fall asleep to your favorite books
    Set a sleep timer while you listen
  • Unlimited listening to our Classics.
    Listen thousands of classics for no extra cost. Ever.
  • Immersive Reading
    Read & listen at same time to a growing catalog.

Other top audiobooks

Never Split the Difference

What the Ear Hears (and Doesn’t) Audiobook Summary

For readers of Neil deGrasse Tyson and Bill O’Neill, What the Ear Hears (and Doesn’t) is a fascinating science book for adults that explores the physics principle of frequency and the (sometimes weird) role it plays in our everyday lives.

What do the world’s loneliest whale, a black hole, and twenty-three people doing Tae Bo all have in common?

In 2011, a skyscraper in South Korea began to shake uncontrollably without warning and was immediately evacuated. Was it an earthquake? An attack? No one seemed quite sure. The actual cause emerged later and is utterly fascinating: Twenty-three middle-aged folks were having a Tae Bo fitness class in the office gym on the twelfth floor. Their beats had inadvertently matched the building’s natural frequency, and this coincidence―harnessing a basic principle of physics―caused the building to shake at an alarming rate for ten minutes. Frequency is all around us, but little understood.

Musician, composer, TV presenter, and educator Richard Mainwaring uses the concept of the Infinite Piano to reveal the extraordinary world of frequency in a multitude of arenas―from medicine to religion to the environment to the paranormal―through the universality of music and a range of memorable human (and animal) stories laced with dry humor. Whether you’re science curious, musically inclined, or just want to know what a Szechuan pepper has to do with physics, What the Ear Hears (and Doesn’t) is an immensely enjoyable book filled with “did you know?” trivia you’ll love to share with friends.

What the Ear Hears (and Doesn’t) Audiobook Narrator

Shaun Taylor-Corbett is the narrator of What the Ear Hears (and Doesn’t) audiobook that was written by Richard Mainwaring

About the Author(s) of What the Ear Hears (and Doesn’t)

Richard Mainwaring is the author of What the Ear Hears (and Doesn’t)

Richard Mainwaring is a performing musician, composer, TV presenter, and educator. He has composed music for Netflix, the BBC, and the International Space Station. He is a classically trained multi-instrumentalist, and has worked with artists as diverse as Hugh Laurie, Larry Adler, Eartha Kitt, Hayley Westenra, and Tom Odell. He has also presented over fifty short films for the BBC.

What the Ear Hears (and Doesn’t) Full Details

NarratorShaun Taylor-Corbett
Length8 hours 11 minutes
AuthorRichard Mainwaring
PublisherBlackstone Publishing
Release dateJanuary 28, 2023
ISBN9798212027120

Subjects

According to Blackstone Publishing, the Publisher of What the Ear Hears (and Doesn’t) Audiobook, What the Ear Hears (and Doesn’t) includes the following subjects: The BISAC Subject Code is Science, Acoustics & Sound

Additional info

The imprint is Blackstone Publishing. It is supplied by Blackstone Publishing. The ISBN-13 is 9798212027120.

Global Availability

This book is only available in the United States.

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Related audiobooks

  • Better Than We Found It Frederick Joseph From the New York Times best-selling author of The Black Friend and a seasoned activist comes an indispensable guide to social and political progressivism for young people and anyone wanting to get more involved. Every generation inherits the problems created by the ones before them, but no generation will inherit as many problems—as many crises—as the current generation of young people. From ... Read more about Better Than We Found It
  • Court of Lions Jane Johnson Sometimes at the lowest point in your life, fate will slip you a gift. Exotic adventure and a quest for redemption collide in this stunning new novel from Jane Johnson. Kate Fordham, escaping terrible personal trauma, has fled to the beautiful sunlit city of Granada, the ancient capital of the Moors in Spain. There she is scraping by with an unfulfilling job in a busy bar. One day, in the ... Read more about Court of Lions
  • The Sultan’s Wife Jane Johnson Page-turning mystery, grandly seductive romance and full historical immersion into Moroccan court history, this exquisitely depicted and intensely absorbing novel follows in the bestselling tradition of The Tenth Gift and The Salt Road. 1677, Morocco. Behind the magnificent walls and towering arches of the Palace of Meknes, captive chieftain’s son and now a lowly scribe, Nus Nus is framed for ... Read more about The Sultan’s Wife
  • Singer Distance Ethan Chatagnier For fans of Station Eleven and Light from Other Stars, Ethan Chatagnier’s propulsive, genre-bending debut novel asks: What happens when we discover intelligent life just next door? And what does it really mean to know we’re not alone in the universe? The odds of the planet next door hosting intelligent life are―that’s not luck. That’s a miracle. It means something. In December 1960, ... Read more about Singer Distance
  • With the Devil’s Help Neal Wooten In the tradition of The Glass Castle, Educated, and Heartland, Neal Wooten traces five decades of his dirt-poor, Alabama mountain family as the years and secrets coalesce. Neal Wooten grew up in a tiny community atop Sand Mountain, Alabama, where everyone was white and everyone was poor. Prohibition was still embraced. If you wanted alcohol, you had to drive to Georgia or ask the bootlegger ... Read more about With the Devil’s Help

Scan the QR code to continue on your phone

Choose Language :