Try for free
9781982622404
Try for $0.00

You’ll See This Message When It Is Too Late Audiobook

Regular Price: 22.95 USD

Play Sample
9781982622404
Play Sample

You’ll See This Message When It Is Too Late Audiobook

Regular Price: 22.95 USD
Try for $0.00
Try for $0.00
  • One credit a month
    Good for any title to download and keep
  • Listen at up to 4.5x speed
    Get through more content at up to 4.5x speed
  • Fall asleep to your favorite books
    Set a sleep timer while you listen
  • Unlimited listening to our Classics.
    Listen thousands of classics for no extra cost. Ever.
  • Immersive Reading
    Read & listen at same time to a growing catalog.

Other top audiobooks

Never Split the Difference

You’ll See This Message When It Is Too Late Audiobook Summary

Cybersecurity incidents make the news with startling regularity. Each breach―the theft of 145.5 million Americans’ information from Equifax, for example, or the Russian government’s theft of National Security Agency documents, or the Sony Pictures data dump―makes headlines, inspires panic, instigates lawsuits, and is then forgotten. The cycle of alarm and amnesia continues with the next attack, and the one after that. In this book, cybersecurity expert Josephine Wolff argues that we shouldn’t forget about these incidents, we should investigate their trajectory, from technology flaws to reparations for harm done to their impact on future security measures. We can learn valuable lessons in the aftermath of cybersecurity breaches.

Wolff describes a series of significant cybersecurity incidents between 2005 and 2015, mapping the entire life cycle of each breach in order to identify opportunities for defensive intervention. She outlines three types of motives underlying these attacks―financial gain, espionage, and public humiliation of the victims―that have remained consistent through a decade of cyberattacks, offers examples of each, and analyzes the emergence of different attack patterns. The enormous TJX breach in 2006, for instance, set the pattern for a series of payment card fraud incidents that led to identity fraud and extortion; the Chinese army conducted cyberespionage campaigns directed at US-based companies from 2006 to 2014, sparking debate about the distinction between economic and political espionage; and the 2014 breach of the Ashley Madison website was aimed at reputations rather than bank accounts.

You’ll See This Message When It Is Too Late Audiobook Narrator

Kate Reading is the narrator of You’ll See This Message When It Is Too Late audiobook that was written by Josephine Wolff

About the Author(s) of You’ll See This Message When It Is Too Late

Josephine Wolff is the author of You’ll See This Message When It Is Too Late

Josephine Wolff is assistant professor in the Public Policy Department and Computer Security Department at Rochester Institute of Technology. She is a Faculty Associate at Harvard’s Berkman Klein Center for Internet & Society and a Fellow at the New America Cybersecurity Initiative. She has written for Internet Policy Review, Slate, the Atlantic, Scientific American, the New Republic, and other publications.

You’ll See This Message When It Is Too Late Full Details

NarratorKate Reading
Length14 hours 0 minutes
AuthorJosephine Wolff
PublisherBlackstone Publishing
Release dateJanuary 31, 2023
ISBN9781982622404

Subjects

According to Blackstone Publishing, the Publisher of You’ll See This Message When It Is Too Late Audiobook, You’ll See This Message When It Is Too Late includes the following subjects: The BISAC Subject Code is Computers, Security, General

Additional info

The imprint is Blackstone Publishing. It is supplied by Blackstone Publishing. The ISBN-13 is 9781982622404.

Global Availability

This book is only available in the United States.

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Related audiobooks

  • Singer Distance Ethan Chatagnier For fans of Station Eleven and Light from Other Stars, Ethan Chatagnier’s propulsive, genre-bending debut novel asks: What happens when we discover intelligent life just next door? And what does it really mean to know we’re not alone in the universe? The odds of the planet next door hosting intelligent life are―that’s not luck. That’s a miracle. It means something. In December 1960, ... Read more about Singer Distance
  • With the Devil’s Help Neal Wooten In the tradition of The Glass Castle, Educated, and Heartland, Neal Wooten traces five decades of his dirt-poor, Alabama mountain family as the years and secrets coalesce. Neal Wooten grew up in a tiny community atop Sand Mountain, Alabama, where everyone was white and everyone was poor. Prohibition was still embraced. If you wanted alcohol, you had to drive to Georgia or ask the bootlegger ... Read more about With the Devil’s Help
  • The Detective’s Daughter Erica Spindler From Erica Spindler, the New York Times bestselling author of The Other Girl and The Look-Alike, comes The Detective’s Daughter, a thrilling crime drama about a woman who risks everything to solve the cold case that destroyed her father—but will it destroy her as well? New Orleans Detective Quinn Conners is haunted by her father’s whiskey-soaked last words—that he solved the Hudson murder ... Read more about The Detective’s Daughter
  • Tearing Us Apart Ryan T. Anderson The political philosopher Ryan T. Anderson, bestselling author of When Harry Became Sally: Responding to the Transgender Moment, teams up with the pro-life journalist Alexandra DeSanctis to expose the catastrophic failure—social, political, legal, and personal—of legalized abortion. Hope in the Ruins of Roe With the Supreme Court poised to return abortion law to the democratic process, a ... Read more about Tearing Us Apart
  • Better Than We Found It Frederick Joseph From the New York Times best-selling author of The Black Friend and a seasoned activist comes an indispensable guide to social and political progressivism for young people and anyone wanting to get more involved. Every generation inherits the problems created by the ones before them, but no generation will inherit as many problems—as many crises—as the current generation of young people. From ... Read more about Better Than We Found It

Scan the QR code to continue on your phone

Choose Language :