Audiobooks like Harry Potter

Are you a Potterhead looking for more great fantasy series? Here’s a list of audiobooks like Harry Potter you are sure to love.

Table of Contents

Audiobooks like Harry Potter

The Harry Potter books by J.K. Rowling have been a source of comfort for generations since the first book was published in 1997. It’s a story anyone can connect with, whether on paper, on the movie screen, or in an immersive audiobook format.

While U.S. audiences grew up listening to Jim Dale’s narration of this magical story, the U.K. version is retold by Stephen Fry. Both narrators are celebrated, and fans can rarely decide which version they love more.

Once you finish the last volume of the series, you’ll be hooked on audiobooks that effortlessly transport you to a different world on unlikely adventures. Read on to learn about five audiobook series you can pick up after the Harry Potter books.

Why do people love Harry Potter?

Readers of all ages enjoy the Harry Potter books, and it’s no wonder. The dramatic plot keeps us on the edge of our seats with universal themes like love, friendship, and family, but also dark and serious topics like death.

The books also showcase a wide range of characters we can relate to and love. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone sets the scene for a lifelong friendship between best friends Harry, Ron, and Hermione, which continues to develop through unforgettable adventures across The Chamber of Secrets, The Prisoner of Azkaban, and the rest of the seven-book series as the trio face off against Voldemort, the villain of the series.

The franchise also continues to reap great success through recent spinoffs like Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, which give more background to some of the characters we know from the world of Harry Potter.

Great audiobooks for people who love Harry Potter

Despite their magical elements, the Harry Potter books bring a sense of reality, which is the recipe for a successful fantasy novel. Although there’s no other place like Hogwarts, you can experience the novelty of a different universe again through other magical books and stories inspired by fairy tales.

His Dark Materials series by Philip Pullman

The His Dark Materials trilogy by Philip Pullman follows the coming of age of two ordinary children. Across the books The Golden Compass, The Subtle Knife, and The Amber Spyglass, Lyra and Will journey through parallel universes in a fate-defining adventure. But this story is about much more than just magic and witches and armored polar bears. His Dark Materials tackles complex themes like science, religion, and “freedom through knowledge.”

The Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan

Gods and mythological creatures are always fascinating to read about but placing them into a modern setting puts an original twist on this classic topic. This is what the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by Rick Riordan is all about. This action-packed young adult series follows the adventures of Percy Jackson, a half-human/half-Greek god. The 12-year-old boy sets off on an adventure across the U.S. with two of his equally extraordinary friends to retrieve a stolen weapon. But the journey is long and perilous and continues across four more books.

The Magicians by Lev Grossman

Who doesn’t dream about the fantasy worlds of our favorite books becoming real? The hero of Lev Grossman’s The Magicians, Quentin Coldwater, finds himself in this situation in this dark coming-of-age story. In The Magicians, the wizarding world blends with upstate New York to create an urban fantasy that’s not as bright and innocent as one would expect. A slightly older audience will enjoy this story about personal growth and universal adolescent experiences.

The A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin

After the massive success of the TV show Game of Thrones, few will argue that George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series is a must-read, not only for fantasy fans but any adult ready to get lost in an incredibly complex and multi-layered story. A Song of Ice and Fire takes the reader into a cruel world ruled by power struggles, where we follow history unfolding from the point of view of multiple interesting characters.

Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

Neil Gaiman’s Neverwhere might not be a children’s book, but younger and older readers love it all over the world. Set in London, this novel illustrates a dark world of magic where mysterious forces lie beneath the streets. The book blends genres of urban fantasy, science fiction, adventure, and even horror through themes like betrayal and self-sacrifice. It’s an excellent example of why Neil Gaiman is a New York Times bestselling author.

Turn any text into speech with Speechify

Do you love audiobooks? Do you want to listen to any and all text instead of reading it?

A text to speech app like Speechify can help you get through dense text more easily. Listening to books instead of sitting down and reading also allows you to multitask. You won’t have to sacrifice great fiction because you’re busy. You can adjust the reading speed and listen to a large amount of written text in a shorter time.

You can try Speechify for free to see how a natural-sounding voice can read any text, much like a podcast.

FAQ

What audiobook should I listen to after Harry Potter?

The fantasy books mentioned above are some of the best books for Harry Potter fans.

What are the books in the Harry Potter series?

The Harry Potter series consists of seven books:

  • The Philosopher’s Stone

  • The Chamber of Secrets

  • The Prisoner of Azkaban

  • The Goblet of Fire

  • The Order of the Phoenix

  • The Half-Blood Prince

  • The Deathly Hallows

What is the most popular audiobook ever?

Immensely popular audiobooks include How to Be an Antiracist by Ibram X. Kendi, A Promised Land by Barack Obama, It by Stephen King and, Circe by Madeline Miller.

What genre is the Harry Potter series?

Many genres blend in the Harry Potter books, including fantasy, adventure, and coming of age.

Who reads the Harry Potter audiobooks?

The two main narrators of the Harry Potter audiobooks are Jim Dale and Stephen Fry. Jim Dale’s version is available through Amazon’s Audible.

Dyslexia Quiz

Take the dyslexia quiz and get an instant score. See if you are dyslexic or not.

Listen and share everything on the go with our Soundbites. Try it for yourself.

Read Premium Audiobooks

Choose Language :