150k 5 star reviews | 20M+ downloads

How to read Elly Griffiths’ books in order

Cliff Weitzman
By Cliff Weitzman Dyslexia & Accessibility Advocate, CEO/Founder of Speechify in Books in Order on March 02, 2023

    How to read Elly Griffiths’ books in order

    Elly Griffiths is a British writer, and she wrote several books using this pen name, but also as Domenica de Rosa. Her primary focus is on crime and mystery novels, and the most popular series is about Ruth Galloway.

    Ruth Galloway series

    Ruth Galloway is a forensic archaeologist, and she appeared in numerous books by Elly Griffiths. It is also a series she published under a pseudonym instead of her own name.

    There are fourteen books in the series, and it includes other characters such as DCI Harry Nelson. The first book, The Crossing Places, was published in 2009.

    Ruth’s First Christmas Tree is a story set between the fourth and fifth books, and it is not part of the main installment of the series.

    Brighton Mysteries series

    The Brighton Mysteries is another series by Elly Galloway, and it started in 2014. There are six stories in the book series.

    The Brighton Mysteries are also known as Stephens and Mephisto Mystery series or A Magic Men Mystery series, and it is based on the main two characters, detective inspector Edgar Stephens and Max Mephisto.

    The seventh book in the Brighton Mysteries is coming out in 2023, and the readers will have to wait a bit longer to learn the exact publishing date. But the book is called The Great Deceiver.

    Harbinder Kaur series

    The Harbinder Kaur is the last detective collection and focuses on Harbinder Kaur. There are currently three books in the series, and the story started in 2018.

    The story is told from Claire Cassidy’s, Detective Sergeant Harbinder Kaur’s, and Georgia’s perspectives, and each book is written in a different point of view.

    Justice Jones series

    Justice Jones is a series of children’s books that started in 2019.

    • A Girl Called Justice (2019)
    • The Smugglers’ Secret (2020)
    • A Ghost in the Garden (2021)
    • The Spy at the Window (2022)

    The first three books in the story are available in a collection, but they don’t include the latest story of Justice Jones.

    Non-fiction books

    One of a few upcoming books by Elly Griffiths is called Norfolk, and it will be published in 2023. But it remains to be seen whether the book will be in the Ruth Galloway series or if it will be a non-fiction story. The novel might explore the Norfolk salt marshes even further.

    As for her other non-fiction story, she published a book in 2001 using her own name.

    • The Little Book of Shakespeare and Food (2001)

    It is a collection of quotations from Shakespeare that are related to food. It also includes numerous recipes you can try, and they are inspired by sixteenth-century flavors.

    Standalone novels

    Additionally, you can check out the standalone novels that she wrote, and most of them were published under Domenica de Rosa’s name.

    • The Eternal City (2005)
    • One Summer in Tuscany (2008)
    • The Italian Quarter (2004)
    • The Secret of Villa Serena (2007)
    • Return to the Italian Quarter (2018)

    The Italian Quarter is also known as Return to the Italian Quarter.


    Elly Griffiths’ stories have appeared in numerous anthologies with other writers, including:

    • Killer Women Crime Club Anthology 2 (2017)
    • Marple (2022)
    • The Man in Black and Other Stories (2023)

    The upcoming The Man in Black and Other Stories is a collection of short stories by Elly Griffiths, and it doesn’t include other writers. You can also find collections of stories from the Ruth Galloway books, as well as various box sets.


    Listening to audiobooks is one of the simplest ways to go through the stories, and it will save you so much time. You can choose between many different platforms, but Speechify stands out from the crowd.

    Listen to Elly Griffiths’ audiobooks on Speechify

    Speechify is the best audiobook platform you can find today. It offers a rich library of audiobooks filled with best-selling titles, including many novels by Elly Griffiths, from The Dark Angel to The Postscript Murders. You can also check out various genres besides crime mysteries, and the quality is exceptional.

    The app can also work on multiple types of devices, so you won’t need to worry about whether it will work on your operating system. Sign up for Speechify Audiobooks and dive into Elly Griffiths’ series today with the first listen free.


    How many Ruth Galloway mysteries are there?

    There are currently fifteen books in the Dr. Ruth Galloway series, and the sixteenth one will be published in 2023.

    Is there a new Elly Griffiths book?

    Yes. In fact, there are a few. The Last Remains, The Great Deceiver (which is a part of the Brighton Mysteries), and Norfolk are all expected in 2023.

    Who is Elly Griffiths?

    Elly Griffiths is a pen name used by Domenica de Rosa, who is a British writer born in London. Her primary focus is crime novels, and she’s written multiple series you can check out.

    Cliff Weitzman
    Cliff Weitzman

    Cliff Weitzman is a dyslexia advocate and the CEO and founder of Speechify, the #1 text-to-speech app in the world, totaling over 100,000 5-star reviews and ranking first place in the App Store for the News & Magazines category. In 2017, Weitzman was named to the Forbes 30 under 30 list for his work making the internet more accessible to people with learning disabilities. Cliff Weitzman has been featured in EdSurge, Inc., PC Mag, Entrepreneur, Mashable, among other leading outlets.